We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family owned hotel on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Breakers Resort Inn
Ranked #39 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Galveston Island, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great family owned hotel on the beach”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I've stayed here twice and both times was great. Get the jacuzzi suite. Great breakfast and lunch. Centrally located. Family run. Great value. Walk to several bars and restaurants. Good beach. Easy to find. Felt like being at home.

Room Tip: Top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GLENN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    130
    43
    16
    24
See reviews for
141
131
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Barneveld, New York
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed at this very nice place a few days in early April. It is an older property right on the beach. The front desk people were very polite and helpful with our questions. We had reserved a king bed ocean front room, but it was pre season so they up graded us to one of the penthouse rooms. So we had a balcony overlooking the beach plus a roof top terrace, which gave an additional outdoor area for a good view. So we were very pleased at the very nice up graded room. As it was early April the weather it was not quite warm enough to lay on the beach, it was nice enough to walk on the boardwalk and use one of the resorts free bicycles to ride on the beach front bicycle path. We would stay at this property again.

Room Tip: Upper floor or even a Penthouse Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edsel13304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We definitely enjoyed our stay with one flaw - the cold weather! It would have been 5 star if it were warmer. We stayed in an oceanfront suite on the 7th floor- amazing view but it was so windy so we could not enjoy the balcony. In fact the wind was so strong, it blew the balcony door open and even when we had it shut you could still feel the cold so we had to turn the heat on but it was then warm and toasty. The inn is right on the beach and it close to the touristy street which was fun- overall a great value!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsdavis82206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Weekend stay for the Shamrock Half Marathon March 2014. Not a new hotel but it looked like the room had been recently updated. Newer refrigerator and microwave. Balcony with wonderful view of the ocean and boardwalk. Window and balcony furniture needed cleaned off (sand from a previous storm) but not a big deal. Friendly staff (I think it is family owned, unlike many of the other hotels on the beach). Excellent value. Excellent location. Will return and stay here again.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a balcony and face the ocean and boardwalk. Higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdrombos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I visited this weekend and thought it was a pretty good hotel for the price. I have stayed at better though. The staff is helpful and nice. They give you plenty for breakfast which is not included. I usually stay in Hampton but like staying right on oceanfront. Good value for the money.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank andreaplace49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My husband and I just stayed at the Breakers in February 2014. We had a kitchenette suite,which consisted of two queen beds with oceanfront and boardwalk view, bathroom, and den/kitchen area with a large murphy bed. I examined the kitchen even though I did not use it, as I was thinking about future stays. Everything seemed to be clean and in working order. There was a nice-size table for four, sofa, two tvs, and full size refrigerator, two-burner stove, and microwave. I could imagine a family with kids making great use of this set-up if they could not afford to eat out at every meal. It is not fancy, but it was clean, comfortable, and affordable. There is no indoor pool, but several rooms have jacuzzis in them, which might be a draw for couples. I think a little money spent on the entrance would be money well spent, as the worn-out carpet at the lobby door does not give a good impression. The staff was courteous and helpful. We did not eat at the cafe, but it was open for breakfast and looked inviting.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wowgirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakersvb, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
We appreciate your kind comments and just wanted to let you know we think you were right. We are currently installing new carpet in the entry foyer and the halls. We also have spruced up the entry foyer and lobby as part of some renovations we have done including new lobby bathrooms, a total makeover of our coffee shop and new lighting and wallpaper in our guest rooms.
Thanks again and we hope to see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I have been at this Resort before, now it has been some years ago 2007. Well anyway My husband and I decided to get a room at the resort for Valentine's Day. I must stay when we walked into the room it had an odor to it, we was able to take care of that. Go to use the restroom and the bathroom sink did not drain, there was another couple there with us but had another room and they had and issues with the draining of the tub...My husband went to put soda's in the little refrigerator they had and it was just NASTY there was pieces missing from it and the coffee pot that comes standard with hotel/Resort rooms was NASTY it had brown stuff on the bottom of it like if it was not clean. Overall this Resort??? should be ashamed of how these rooms look and smell. Oh not to mention this was an SUIT not just a regular room. As me and my husband said we will not stay in this Hotel/Resort AGAIN!!! The Staff SMDH just will not stay there anymore!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KishaWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Capes Hotel
Capes Hotel
#30 of 109 in Virginia Beach
392 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#61 of 109 in Virginia Beach
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#32 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,013 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort Inn

Property: The Breakers Resort Inn
Address: 1503 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breakers Resort Inn is Family-owned and operated, open year-round, and is directly on the boardwalk at the oceanfront in Virginia Beach. We are adjacent to the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier and only 20 minutes from the Norfolk Intl. Airport. Shopping, dining, nightlife and many attractions are conveniently located within walking distance or a short drive by car. All guestrooms and suites have a stunning oceanfront view and provide comfortable accommodations to fit your personal needs. A refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer and safe are in all rooms and Wi-fi is complimentary to guests throughout our hotel. Our efficiency suites feature a bedroom with two queen beds, living room with a pull-down double bed & studio kitchen containing plates and utensils. Couples love our king bedded rooms with in-room Jacuzzi. Breakfast and lunch is served daily at our Boardwalk Cafe for guest convenience. Take a bike ride on one of our complimentary bikes or simply relax by our outdoor heated pool overlooking the beach and boardwalk. Only 20 minutes from the Norfolk International our location is perfect whether it’s for a family vacation, golf package or a romantic getaway. Our staff looks forward to providing you an unforgettable vacation here at the Breakers Resort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Breakers Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
The Breakers Resort Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing