We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grace and Bill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Breakers Resort Inn
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed October 3, 2013

we arrived here on Monday of this week and departing tomorrow, everyone was so helpful with our questions and suggestions about the area the breakfast was excellent and the rooms were above and beyond of what we expected very clean and the jaquzzi was great relax in it very quiet hotel and yes we will be coming back here again in the near future ..Great Job Staff

Room Tip: Great place to stay Corner suites are very big and sunny over looking the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 403 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

Lazy management. The kid that thinks he owns the place, does not own the place. The owners son laid around the office with his feet in the air, and seemed pissed to have to get up and tend to guest. They have parking issues here. The owners kid threatened my brand new truck with door dings, if I did not find a better spot. I asked to see the owner and he said he was, and then walked away. [--]!

Next was the [--] room. The shower curtain rod barely stayed on, missing two screws. The mirror was loose, with wall paper falling off. Small amounts of mold in shower tile. And the air conditioner worked, but was filthy! Talk about upper respiratory infection.

The night manager, walked around with a police officer. He may have been afraid of a confrontation.
Talked with owner the next day, he apologized and said his son was a cocky [--]

Do not stay here. I had stress on my over priced vacation stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank burntcrispy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife does alot of checking online before decided on a place and she hit a homerun with this pick. Mr Capps, his family and the whole staff were just fantastic. From the friendliness on the phone prior to arrival til checkout, they made sure you were taken care of. We had a 2 room suite which had a pull down murphy bed which I slept on. I am a picky bed person but this was as good as my bed at home and I slept like a baby the whole week. We needed a crib and it was there and nice. Great view of the ocean and sunrise every morning. Heated pool which came in handy on the 3rd day as it was very windy. Just a great experience and we are already think about when we can come back. Thanks to all the staff!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PARich57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Most of the reviews on Tripadvisor are accurate. This hotel is very clean--the bedding is the type that can be washed between visitors, thankfully--and the location of the hotel is perfect, right on the beach. The hotel staff are very nice and accommodating, too. My husband and I chose this hotel based on customer reviews of cleanliness, location and price, and we weren't disappointed. However, as a previous reviewer noted, getting internet access on upper floors is impossible (we were on the 6th floor). We had to go to the lobby to use the internet. We don't regret getting an upper level room, though, because the views were spectacular! If you want high thread count sheets, thick towels, nice shampoos and extras, this hotel isn't for you. If you want a clean, inexpensive place to stay that's right on the beach, then The Breakers the perfect place.

Room Tip: For the best views, choose the upper floors. For access to WiFi, choose lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KSBinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have been here several times and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else on the beach. The view from the balcony is unparalleled. The room is always clean and very comfortable - large enough to spread out and not feel cramped in. And room for all the junk you need for a week at the beach. I really like the 'bedspreads' this year - instead of heavy spreads our bed had a nice looking heavy sheet that could be washed and changed so you don't have a spread that is not changed between travelers. Makes the room feel clean. Much better than places we stayed prior to finding this hotel in 2007.
The owners are friendly and so accommodating. They were wonderful about changing reservations even during a very busy week. The little restaurant has a nice breakfast and lunch menu; we found it not worth going anywhere else for breakfast. The free bikes are a really nice touch.
All in all, a perfect place for a beach vacation.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from the boardwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MandM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The staff was great at check in and in recommending a few places to see. Our room was very clean and we had an amazing view of the ocean and boardwalk from the balcony. We were lucky enough to be here when fireworks were being shot off from a barge in the ocean. They were easily seen from our balcony! The Breakers is an older hotel, but the rooms have been remodeled and taken care of. You cannot beat watching the sunrise on the balcony with a fresh cup of coffee when on vacation. It is nice to be so close to the beach and be able to come and go at your leisure. There were concerts and street performers every night within a few blocks of the hotel so there is always something to see and do. There is a nice breakfast and lunch restaurant in the hotel on the first floor. They have excellent breakfasts with a seafood touch if you are so inclined. If I ever go back to Virginia Beach I will stay here again. I liked this hotel…

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor for the best view of the ocean and to get away from some of the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The good: the Breakers is in a wonderful location, the hotel is very clean, and the staff is extremely nice. The hotel is very cost affective compared to other hotels on the boardwalk in Virginia Beach. It also has a washer/dryer which is a big deal if you are staying a week like we were.
The bad: the hotel has one elevator for both guest and staff. Expect long waits at the elevator when housekeeping is working, cleaning the rooms. The hotel parking if you drive anything larger than a Honda Civic is an exercise in frustration. The parking spaces are really small. Finally, we were on the 9th floor and the internet was unusable up there. It was too slow and kept unconnecting. As I have responsibilities at work even on vacation, this was a huge incoonvience having to troop down to the lobby of the hotel everytime I needed to log in at work.

I'd recommend the hotel due to location and price but I can't go anything higher than average.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevenMorton101368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#63 of 109 in Virginia Beach
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
773 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capes Hotel
Capes Hotel
#28 of 109 in Virginia Beach
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
#47 of 109 in Virginia Beach
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort Inn

Address: 1503 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $82 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breakers Resort Inn is Family-owned and operated, open year-round, and is directly on the boardwalk at the oceanfront in Virginia Beach. We are adjacent to the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier and only 20 minutes from the Norfolk Intl. Airport. Shopping, dining, nightlife and many attractions are conveniently located within walking distance or a short drive by car. All guestrooms and suites have a stunning oceanfront view and provide comfortable accommodations to fit your personal needs. A refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer and safe are in all rooms and Wi-fi is complimentary to guests throughout our hotel. Our efficiency suites feature a bedroom with two queen beds, living room with a pull-down double bed & studio kitchen containing plates and utensils. Couples love our king bedded rooms with in-room Jacuzzi. Breakfast and lunch is served daily at our Boardwalk Cafe for guest convenience. Take a bike ride on one of our complimentary bikes or simply relax by our outdoor heated pool overlooking the beach and boardwalk. Only 20 minutes from the Norfolk International our location is perfect whether it’s for a family vacation, golf package or a romantic getaway. Our staff looks forward to providing you an unforgettable vacation here at the Breakers Resort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Breakers Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
The Breakers Resort Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing