We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay at Breakers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Breakers Resort Inn
Ranked #38 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First stay at Breakers”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was our first stay at the Breakers and we were first impressed with the location. Check in was a breeze and the staff is very helpful and go out of there way to ensure your stay is a pleasant one. What every we wanted to do was within walking distance from the hotel so we could not have picked a better spot. The room was clean and comfortable with the only average being the bed and pillows. The pillows were very soft and the bed not that comfortable but after being out and about all day we slept well. I will recommend the Breakers to my friends and family and will be back again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mongo6365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    130
    42
    15
    24
See reviews for
138
131
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was my third visit to the Breakers, and every time has been outstanding. The staff is friendly, and the price can not be beaten. We had a king room with a balcony and whirlpool--very nice. Everything was clean, and the housekeeping staff was very accommodating. The location is fantastic, with everything in walking distance on Atlantic Avenue and the boardwalk. We enjoyed rising early to see the sunrises, and our evenings were spent strolling the beach or enjoying the entertainment on Atlantic. Upon our arrival, a personalized letter (personally addressed to me) was waiting on the desk in our room. After returning home, I received a "thank you" email--again from the owner and general manager. These may be trivial, but the personalized contact was greatly appreciated. I love spending time at Va Beach, and the Breakers Resort is quickly becoming my home-away-from-home.

As an added note, you really need to try the restaurant--nice atmosphere, friendly hospitality, and not crowded. I especially enjoyed the crabmeat omelet for breakfast--very tasty.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over the pool--due to the layout of the building, rooms of the pool can sometimes have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 20runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I was very impressed with the cleanliness of our room, front desk staff were nice & friendly, location is perfect. there are bikes to use for free for guests, a nice plus. We had a great time, if I absolutely had to complain, the parking lot is small, but really A++

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleport, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

we stayed 2 nights, the price was great, hotel was clean, staff was friendly and helpful, A cousin from Norfolk met us for a few drinks, didnt want to drive back, we got a parking pass and she spent the night with us, no extra charge or anything. we would def stay here again. we even used the free bikes one morning!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmark3814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at The Breakers on our first trip to Virginia Beach in August 2012. My family loved it! We will definitely be staying here the next time we visit VA Beach (probably again this summer!). The place was clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the maid service was fantastic! Best of all, it's centrally located on the board walk. LOVED IT!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great room, closest hotel to fishing pier & center for beach activities. We could see the boats going in & out the inlet from our room.Music, boardwalk,free bikes for hotel guests,free breakfast, excellent 3 egg omelette, only give extra for gratuity. Room 507 was super with corner balcony view. Hotel staff was.very friendly & attentive to our family having a super quality visit. My wife loved the room better than a 5 star hotel in Atlanta. We enjoyed the street festival Saturday night & the Air show was centers right in front of our hotel feat only added to an unblevibale stay. Our first trip to Virginia Beach Boardwalk. We will defiantly be returning to the Breakers Resort. Greg & Maryna from Charlotte,NC.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregsflooring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I rated it 3 stars based on my overall feeling in relation to other places. Here are the pros and cons and you can decide what meets your needs and if the cons are really significant.
PROs: Easy to find and get to. Very accommodating staff...very nice and any request we made was fulfilled. The breakfast was good....very friendly, busy @ times, but no need to pay more at some less than healthy buffet down the road. Plenty of room for our family of 4 in a suite. House keeping was pleasant and timely. Good location.
CONs: If you like light blocking curtains you may be disappointed. Yes, they have it, but the sides and bottom are virtually impossible to keep in place. Bathroom is small, but functional. Pool was convenient, but small. The towels are similar in texture to the beach. Older style carpet and walls. Might get noisy in the thick of the season....we were there Memorial Day and it wasn't too bad. Then again, you'd probably stay at the North end if you wanted low noise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelertoplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#63 of 109 in Virginia Beach
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.3 mi away
Capes Hotel
Capes Hotel
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#43 of 109 in Virginia Beach
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#28 of 109 in Virginia Beach
704 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort Inn

Property: The Breakers Resort Inn
Address: 1503 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breakers Resort Inn is Family-owned and operated, open year-round, and is directly on the boardwalk at the oceanfront in Virginia Beach. We are adjacent to the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier and only 20 minutes from the Norfolk Intl. Airport. Shopping, dining, nightlife and many attractions are conveniently located within walking distance or a short drive by car. All guestrooms and suites have a stunning oceanfront view and provide comfortable accommodations to fit your personal needs. A refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer and safe are in all rooms and Wi-fi is complimentary to guests throughout our hotel. Our efficiency suites feature a bedroom with two queen beds, living room with a pull-down double bed & studio kitchen containing plates and utensils. Couples love our king bedded rooms with in-room Jacuzzi. Breakfast and lunch is served daily at our Boardwalk Cafe for guest convenience. Take a bike ride on one of our complimentary bikes or simply relax by our outdoor heated pool overlooking the beach and boardwalk. Only 20 minutes from the Norfolk International our location is perfect whether it’s for a family vacation, golf package or a romantic getaway. Our staff looks forward to providing you an unforgettable vacation here at the Breakers Resort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Breakers Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
The Breakers Resort Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing