We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“First stay at Breakers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers Resort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Breakers Resort Inn
Ranked #39 of 111 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First stay at Breakers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was our first stay at the Breakers and we were first impressed with the location. Check in was a breeze and the staff is very helpful and go out of there way to ensure your stay is a pleasant one. What every we wanted to do was within walking distance from the hotel so we could not have picked a better spot. The room was clean and comfortable with the only average being the bed and pillows. The pillows were very soft and the bed not that comfortable but after being out and about all day we slept well. I will recommend the Breakers to my friends and family and will be back again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mongo6365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    116
    38
    14
    21
See reviews for
122
118
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was my third visit to the Breakers, and every time has been outstanding. The staff is friendly, and the price can not be beaten. We had a king room with a balcony and whirlpool--very nice. Everything was clean, and the housekeeping staff was very accommodating. The location is fantastic, with everything in walking distance on Atlantic Avenue and the boardwalk. We enjoyed rising early to see the sunrises, and our evenings were spent strolling the beach or enjoying the entertainment on Atlantic. Upon our arrival, a personalized letter (personally addressed to me) was waiting on the desk in our room. After returning home, I received a "thank you" email--again from the owner and general manager. These may be trivial, but the personalized contact was greatly appreciated. I love spending time at Va Beach, and the Breakers Resort is quickly becoming my home-away-from-home.

As an added note, you really need to try the restaurant--nice atmosphere, friendly hospitality, and not crowded. I especially enjoyed the crabmeat omelet for breakfast--very tasty.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over the pool--due to the layout of the building, rooms of the pool can sometimes have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 20runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I was very impressed with the cleanliness of our room, front desk staff were nice & friendly, location is perfect. there are bikes to use for free for guests, a nice plus. We had a great time, if I absolutely had to complain, the parking lot is small, but really A++

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleport, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

we stayed 2 nights, the price was great, hotel was clean, staff was friendly and helpful, A cousin from Norfolk met us for a few drinks, didnt want to drive back, we got a parking pass and she spent the night with us, no extra charge or anything. we would def stay here again. we even used the free bikes one morning!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmark3814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at The Breakers on our first trip to Virginia Beach in August 2012. My family loved it! We will definitely be staying here the next time we visit VA Beach (probably again this summer!). The place was clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the maid service was fantastic! Best of all, it's centrally located on the board walk. LOVED IT!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great room, closest hotel to fishing pier & center for beach activities. We could see the boats going in & out the inlet from our room.Music, boardwalk,free bikes for hotel guests,free breakfast, excellent 3 egg omelette, only give extra for gratuity. Room 507 was super with corner balcony view. Hotel staff was.very friendly & attentive to our family having a super quality visit. My wife loved the room better than a 5 star hotel in Atlanta. We enjoyed the street festival Saturday night & the Air show was centers right in front of our hotel feat only added to an unblevibale stay. Our first trip to Virginia Beach Boardwalk. We will defiantly be returning to the Breakers Resort. Greg & Maryna from Charlotte,NC.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregsflooring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I rated it 3 stars based on my overall feeling in relation to other places. Here are the pros and cons and you can decide what meets your needs and if the cons are really significant.
PROs: Easy to find and get to. Very accommodating staff...very nice and any request we made was fulfilled. The breakfast was good....very friendly, busy @ times, but no need to pay more at some less than healthy buffet down the road. Plenty of room for our family of 4 in a suite. House keeping was pleasant and timely. Good location.
CONs: If you like light blocking curtains you may be disappointed. Yes, they have it, but the sides and bottom are virtually impossible to keep in place. Bathroom is small, but functional. Pool was convenient, but small. The towels are similar in texture to the beach. Older style carpet and walls. Might get noisy in the thick of the season....we were there Memorial Day and it wasn't too bad. Then again, you'd probably stay at the North end if you wanted low noise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelertoplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#17 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capes Hotel
Capes Hotel
#29 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Bea...
#10 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#53 of 111 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#56 of 111 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#22 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort Inn

Property: The Breakers Resort Inn
Address: 1503 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Virginia Beach, The Breakers Resort Inn is convienient to shopping, dining, nightlife and attractions. Our friendly staff will ensure your stay with us is a memorable experience. We offer all oceanfront rooms and suites that your family will enjoy, as well as our King rooms with in-room Jacuzzi for a romantic couple's get a way. We look forward to welcoming you to The Breakers Resort Inn when you vacation in Virginia Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Breakers Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
The Breakers Resort Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing