We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not bad, needs some work.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Breakers Resort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Breakers Resort Inn
Ranked #38 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hanover
Level Contributor
166 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not bad, needs some work.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Old establishment that could use some work. Clean and in a good location. Friendly people and family owned. Tiny pool and fair balcony. The railings actually obstructed the view. Roman's are larges and fully equipped.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DonaldO899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    123
    39
    15
    23
See reviews for
129
126
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were there in the end of April. The weather was cold and rainy but it was still quite a great trip! We didn't check in until after midnight and the guy at the front desk was very pleasant and moved our room to a higher floor. The hotel is right on the beach by the pier and is in a good location. The resort is very reasonably priced. Though due to the weather we didn't get to use it, the pool area looked clean and the pool was heated.

Don't skip breakfast!!! The breakfast was so yummy and very reasonably priced. Jimi, the waitress, is a lot of fun and had my coffee ready for my boyfriend to pick up every morning! She even came in early on Monday so she could see us off. Don't hesitate to ask her about the area either she will give you good local tips!

Only complaints would be the door to the balcony whistled very loudly and we had to rig it with a plastic bottle to sleep as the sound was irritating. Also, it's clearly an older hotel and you can hear the plumbing throughout. I honestly have to nit pick to complain about this place!!

We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floor for a great view of the sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asadin217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

well, yet another wonderful stay here at the Breakers! we usually visit in october, but went in april (25-29) so we could partake in the she-crab soup festival. our room was ready and waiting and our favorite one :o) everything sparkled and all of the staff welcomed us as 'family'! there was quite a bit of chaos in virginia beach on april 27, but we were never in any danger at all because of diligent security who worked through the night including the guys on night shift! we didn't hear anything up on the 9th floor! we dined in the cafe every morning for breakfast and had Mac's delicious home fries (did i mention the best of anywhere?) and jimmy and trixie stayed busy helping all of us tourists! thanks to mr. & mrs. jimmy capps, mr. & mrs. brad capps, david and david, craig and forget the other guys name....oops....for making our probably 18th year at the Breakers so much fun at our favorite beach on the east coast!

Room Tip: heated pool year round. and if you want to see all of the beach, ask for a south beach room. we love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebiBob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We chose The Breakers because we liked the idea of having a 2 room suite with an adjoining room and the price was unbeatable. We stayed for 4 days and the oceanfront balcony was wonderful. The staff was friendly and very accomodating when I had to get my room key reset TWICE due to putting it in the same pocket as my cell phone. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable enough. I'm partial to my own bed so hotel beds don't normally do it for me but we slept well in spite of it being a little firm for my liking. I was worried about the reviews I read pertaining to the slow elevator but maybe because we stayed in April that wasn't ever a problem. We never waited long for it and it gets you to your floor quickly. Parking can be a little tight but it is a hotel at the beach so that happens. You have to buy breakfast but we chose to cook in our room since we had a kitchen but there are plenty of places to eat nearby with varying price ranges. In the middle of the night a couple nights there was a little noise from someone going up or down the stairs which were near our room but that wasn't a big problem either. Just sounded like someone coming from a club or something but it was only for a minute. The a/c unit is a bit loud at times and maybe needs to be replaced or serviced but it worked. We actually debated on asking someone to check it or to move to a different room but we decided it wasn't that much of an issue and dealt with it. For the money we don't really have a ton of complaints. We will definitely stay there again when we go to visit our granddaughter!

Room Tip: Ask for adjoining rooms if traveling with a lot of family members so everyone is close or you can op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakersvb, General Manager at The Breakers Resort Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind words; we appreciate your staying with us and we look forward to your family returning. On your next visit please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if there is anything that is not working properly in your room. We have replacement AC’s and other items on property to have your room properly outfitted as quickly as we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankinton, nc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed one night, April 2, 2013. The front deck night and day clerks wre very nice And very helpful. The rooms were nicely kept, clean and presentable. The murphy bed in the livingroom was relatively comfortable, a little firm. The bedroom bed was a little hard, a pillowtop wouopd be an upgrade. For the beach, it was very adaquate.

Room Tip: Ask for an end room they are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pslake43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and had my family come visit me while I was there; my sister and her two children ages 5 and 7. I DO NOT recommend this hotel to families traveling with children under any circumstances! My niece and nephew love to ride their razor scooters everywhere we go so naturally they brought them along. After a long day at the beach and walking down the boardwalk we came back to the hotel property to the parking garage so that my sister could put their scooters back in the trunk of the car and I went up to my room to grab something while my sister and the kids waited outside for me. My nephew was riding his scooter near the entrance to the garage while his mother watched when a hotel employee came out screaming at them that they were trespassing, no skateboarding was allowed, and that he would have her arrested in front of her children if they didn't get off his property! First off my nephew wasn't being a nuisance and they weren't loitering, second he is 5 and on a scooter- not a teenager on a skateboard, and most importantly there were no signs posted that even skateboarding wasn't allowed and they WERE NOT trespassing, I was a guest at the hotel and they were my guests!!! When I came down I was furious and happy to be checking out the next morning, how horrible do you have to be before you realize no one is going to patronize your establishment? I will never recommend this hotel and hope that no one has the displeasure of being threatened with arrest by these ignorant owners.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelinGal60747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakersvb, General Manager at The Breakers Resort Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are a family owned and operated hotel with a history of being family friendly. We have been in business for over 30 years and have many repeat customers who in some cases are second and third generation guests. This was an isolated incident by an employee who overreacted and for that we apologize. We do have several "No Skatebording" signs posted as well as the City of Virginia Beach has an ordinance prohibiting skateboarding in the resort area. The ramps for our parking garage and deck can sometimes be inviting to skateboarders which can be a safety issue for both the skateboarders and our guests. This is a regrettable incident and could have been handled in a better manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed for an extended weekend in VB. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were nice but do need some updating. The hotel has all rooms with balconys overlooking the ocean which was very nice and you can't beat the price.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer less boardwalk noise, the 2 room suite is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank batravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#48 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort Inn

Property: The Breakers Resort Inn
Address: 1503 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breakers Resort Inn is Family-owned and operated, open year-round, and is directly on the boardwalk at the oceanfront in Virginia Beach. We are adjacent to the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier and only 20 minutes from the Norfolk Intl. Airport. Shopping, dining, nightlife and many attractions are conveniently located within walking distance or a short drive by car. All guestrooms and suites have a stunning oceanfront view and provide comfortable accommodations to fit your personal needs. A refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer and safe are in all rooms and Wi-fi is complimentary to guests throughout our hotel. Our efficiency suites feature a bedroom with two queen beds, living room with a pull-down double bed & studio kitchen containing plates and utensils. Couples love our king bedded rooms with in-room Jacuzzi. Breakfast and lunch is served daily at our Boardwalk Cafe for guest convenience. Take a bike ride on one of our complimentary bikes or simply relax by our outdoor heated pool overlooking the beach and boardwalk. Only 20 minutes from the Norfolk International our location is perfect whether it’s for a family vacation, golf package or a romantic getaway. Our staff looks forward to providing you an unforgettable vacation here at the Breakers Resort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Breakers Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
The Breakers Resort Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing