We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with the family!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Breakers Resort Inn
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We chose The Breakers because we liked the idea of having a 2 room suite with an adjoining room and the price was unbeatable. We stayed for 4 days and the oceanfront balcony was wonderful. The staff was friendly and very accomodating when I had to get my room key reset TWICE due to putting it in the same pocket as my cell phone. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable enough. I'm partial to my own bed so hotel beds don't normally do it for me but we slept well in spite of it being a little firm for my liking. I was worried about the reviews I read pertaining to the slow elevator but maybe because we stayed in April that wasn't ever a problem. We never waited long for it and it gets you to your floor quickly. Parking can be a little tight but it is a hotel at the beach so that happens. You have to buy breakfast but we chose to cook in our room since we had a kitchen but there are plenty of places to eat nearby with varying price ranges. In the middle of the night a couple nights there was a little noise from someone going up or down the stairs which were near our room but that wasn't a big problem either. Just sounded like someone coming from a club or something but it was only for a minute. The a/c unit is a bit loud at times and maybe needs to be replaced or serviced but it worked. We actually debated on asking someone to check it or to move to a different room but we decided it wasn't that much of an issue and dealt with it. For the money we don't really have a ton of complaints. We will definitely stay there again when we go to visit our granddaughter!

Room Tip: Ask for adjoining rooms if traveling with a lot of family members so everyone is close or you can op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakersvb, General Manager at The Breakers Resort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind words; we appreciate your staying with us and we look forward to your family returning. On your next visit please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if there is anything that is not working properly in your room. We have replacement AC’s and other items on property to have your room properly outfitted as quickly as we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 406 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed one night, April 2, 2013. The front deck night and day clerks wre very nice And very helpful. The rooms were nicely kept, clean and presentable. The murphy bed in the livingroom was relatively comfortable, a little firm. The bedroom bed was a little hard, a pillowtop wouopd be an upgrade. For the beach, it was very adaquate.

Room Tip: Ask for an end room they are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pslake43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and had my family come visit me while I was there; my sister and her two children ages 5 and 7. I DO NOT recommend this hotel to families traveling with children under any circumstances! My niece and nephew love to ride their razor scooters everywhere we go so naturally they brought them along. After a long day at the beach and walking down the boardwalk we came back to the hotel property to the parking garage so that my sister could put their scooters back in the trunk of the car and I went up to my room to grab something while my sister and the kids waited outside for me. My nephew was riding his scooter near the entrance to the garage while his mother watched when a hotel employee came out screaming at them that they were trespassing, no skateboarding was allowed, and that he would have her arrested in front of her children if they didn't get off his property! First off my nephew wasn't being a nuisance and they weren't loitering, second he is 5 and on a scooter- not a teenager on a skateboard, and most importantly there were no signs posted that even skateboarding wasn't allowed and they WERE NOT trespassing, I was a guest at the hotel and they were my guests!!! When I came down I was furious and happy to be checking out the next morning, how horrible do you have to be before you realize no one is going to patronize your establishment? I will never recommend this hotel and hope that no one has the displeasure of being threatened with arrest by these ignorant owners.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravelinGal60747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakersvb, General Manager at The Breakers Resort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

We are a family owned and operated hotel with a history of being family friendly. We have been in business for over 30 years and have many repeat customers who in some cases are second and third generation guests. This was an isolated incident by an employee who overreacted and for that we apologize. We do have several "No Skatebording" signs posted as well as the City of Virginia Beach has an ordinance prohibiting skateboarding in the resort area. The ramps for our parking garage and deck can sometimes be inviting to skateboarders which can be a safety issue for both the skateboarders and our guests. This is a regrettable incident and could have been handled in a better manner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed for an extended weekend in VB. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were nice but do need some updating. The hotel has all rooms with balconys overlooking the ocean which was very nice and you can't beat the price.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer less boardwalk noise, the 2 room suite is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank batravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

we have stayed at breakers in va. beach since 1997. we have stayed during a bad hurricane. they suggested that we leave to get to safety. we asked to stay. they again asked us to leave. we were allowed to stay because we felt we could get to any safe place in time. we watched chairs flying past the fifth floor balcony.power went down for approx. 2 hours. they fed us,kept close tabs on us and we really appreciate how they treated us.

when we checked out and paid after a weeks stay they gave us half our money back. this hotel is family owned and a great stay for anybody. i am a retired law enforcement officer. larry h. morris sr.

Room Tip: get one with a kichen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stay at the Breakers every year for our anniversary in March and at least once during the summer as a family vacation with our kids and grandkids. The hotel is always staffed 24/7. We always arrive early so we do not lose a day traveling. We have never been told we cannot check in early. The staff are always polite and very helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaraBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakersvb, General Manager at The Breakers Resort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thanks for your kind comments. We appreciate you repeat business. Return customers make all our efforts worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is my second review of The Breakers. I just booked my room and I have to rave about how I am so pleased with the staff and the location of this hotel. It is reasonably priced, the rooms look right out to the ocean and the staff couldn't be more nice. I would definately recommend The Breakers to friends and family (and strangers :) )

We will be staying at the end of May 2013 and are very excited to come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (...
#26 of 109 in Virginia Beach
638 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
732 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#49 of 109 in Virginia Beach
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#32 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,128 reviews
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach...
#35 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,071 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort Inn

Address: 1503 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3420
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $69 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breakers Resort Inn is Family-owned and operated, open year-round, and is directly on the boardwalk at the oceanfront in Virginia Beach. We are adjacent to the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier and only 20 minutes from the Norfolk Intl. Airport. Shopping, dining, nightlife and many attractions are conveniently located within walking distance or a short drive by car. All guestrooms and suites have a stunning oceanfront view and provide comfortable accommodations to fit your personal needs. A refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer and safe are in all rooms and Wi-fi is complimentary to guests throughout our hotel. Our efficiency suites feature a bedroom with two queen beds, living room with a pull-down double bed & studio kitchen containing plates and utensils. Couples love our king bedded rooms with in-room Jacuzzi. Breakfast and lunch is served daily at our Boardwalk Cafe for guest convenience. Take a bike ride on one of our complimentary bikes or simply relax by our outdoor heated pool overlooking the beach and boardwalk. Only 20 minutes from the Norfolk International our location is perfect whether it’s for a family vacation, golf package or a romantic getaway. Our staff looks forward to providing you an unforgettable vacation here at the Breakers Resort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Breakers Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
The Breakers Resort Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing