We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great stay for Value!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Breakers Resort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Breakers Resort Inn
Ranked #38 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great stay for Value!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

My companion and I and friends, have stayed in this reasonable hotel on several occassions. Each time I have stayed here, it has been a pleasant stay. The employees are pleasant and the rooms are extremly clean. For your monies and the price it is very competive for its value and cleanliness. I am huge fan of virginia beach and this hotel it great for your wallets and purses and anyone would love to stay here. The parking is convenient and I have stayed in the standard and 2 room suite and everyone loved it. I tell the truth about hotels and this one is extremely great for the price and the amenties.

Room Tip: Ask for the higher floors for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    123
    39
    15
    23
See reviews for
129
126
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Timonium, MD
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We have stayed in many of the oceanfront hotels in VB but, in the past few years, we only stay at the Breakers both in the summer and over Thanksgiving weekend. This small hotel is family owned and managed by people who really care about their customers and their property. Although they don't have some of the amenities of the larger and newer hotels, their rooms and balconies are much larger than many of the newer ones and they are a great value for the money. The place is always clean and well-kept. Naturally, things wear out, but they replace furnishings on a pretty regular basis. The 2 story attached parking garage gets tight in the summer but at least you don't need to park across the street like many of the other places. Over Thanksgiving until New Years the boardwalk is lit up with many Christmas light displays. This centrally-located hotel is a good spot to see most of the displays right from the balcony. Breakfast & lunch at their coffee shop is also quite good. I recommend their Seahawk special; an excellent homemade crabcake, 3 eggs,etc. Overall, the Breakers is a decent, comfortable, well-maintained little hotel staffed by a bunch of really nice people.

Room Tip: The South side rooms have a better view of the whole beach and boardwalk than the North side rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MS1Timonium_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I had a great experience with my friends at The Breakers! The staff was very accommodating, and recommended some great places to eat! We stayed for four nights and the weather was beautiful. As the other reviews stated, the hotel was not as clean as some others, but for the price and location it was well worth it. The A/C was not working in the hallways or lobby, but the rooms were ice cold with the air on. The mini kitchen in the suite was awesome, and we were able to save some money by making a few quick breakfasts/lunches. The fridge is also a great size, much larger than the standard mini fridge. The pool is rather small and is often shaded, but the beach is another 10 steps away so we didn't want to use it anyway. Overall it was one of the best experiences I've had on vacation to date, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who plans on travelling to Virginia Beach,

Room Tip: The suites are on the end so they are more private, and you get a window on the back and side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We booked this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews. The staff was wonderful and the location was great. We needed a separate bedroom with a door for privacy and this hotel does have that feature (as many others did not). We stayed in a suite. The rooms were worn and outdated. The hotel could use a major facelift.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolinaGirl106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is our second time staying at the Breakers Resort. We were in room 704, a standard room with two queen size beds. Location wise it was great, we could see everything up and down on the beach. All of the staff were very friendly and the restaurant was an added bonus. Try either the seahawk breakfast or the crab omelet with spicy cocktail sauce. Jimmi and Trixie the two waitresses were great and Matt was an excellent cook. We booked again for next year before we left.Would recommend this hotel for location, price and service.

Room Tip: top floors south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

At the breakers for a conference stay.....the great things: a clean oceanfront room with coffee maker, fridge, microwave, a very reasonable breakfast/lunch options in the onsite cafe, a friendly staff, free bikes for guest, heated outdoor pool......the not so great: very cramped elevators, halls, and parking. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChefHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Virginia Beach is lined with nice properties - many of which, unfortunately, are associated with time-share companies. We stayed at Breakers and visited our family who stayed next door at one such time-share hotel, and even as visitors, we were hassled on our way in to visit my wife's family in their hotel room. They bug you with offers and deals, come by here and watch this presentation, blah blah blah. I'm on vacation; I don't want to be bothered. It's like going to the mall and being hassled by those people at the kiosks in the center of the aisle. Just annoying. Breakers, however is a great hotel, staffed by very nice, very accommodating people that do not bother you with such tripe. They have an outdoor heated pool and a small restaurant with basic breakfast and lunch fare. The room was clean, and the cleaning service was excellent, providing us with plenty of extra towels for the beach and the pool. The price was great; much lower than expected for this area. If this hasn't convinced you to stay here, just please be wary of the time-share monsters elsewhere!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EyerishRogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#49 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#3 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort Inn

Property: The Breakers Resort Inn
Address: 1503 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breakers Resort Inn is Family-owned and operated, open year-round, and is directly on the boardwalk at the oceanfront in Virginia Beach. We are adjacent to the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier and only 20 minutes from the Norfolk Intl. Airport. Shopping, dining, nightlife and many attractions are conveniently located within walking distance or a short drive by car. All guestrooms and suites have a stunning oceanfront view and provide comfortable accommodations to fit your personal needs. A refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer and safe are in all rooms and Wi-fi is complimentary to guests throughout our hotel. Our efficiency suites feature a bedroom with two queen beds, living room with a pull-down double bed & studio kitchen containing plates and utensils. Couples love our king bedded rooms with in-room Jacuzzi. Breakfast and lunch is served daily at our Boardwalk Cafe for guest convenience. Take a bike ride on one of our complimentary bikes or simply relax by our outdoor heated pool overlooking the beach and boardwalk. Only 20 minutes from the Norfolk International our location is perfect whether it’s for a family vacation, golf package or a romantic getaway. Our staff looks forward to providing you an unforgettable vacation here at the Breakers Resort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Breakers Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
The Breakers Resort Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing