We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Love the Jacuzzi tub!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers Resort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Breakers Resort Inn
Ranked #39 of 111 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love the Jacuzzi tub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Me and My boyfriend stayed at the Breakers mid September for two nights. I wasn't around for the check-in and i didn't have any communication with the staff so I cant comment on that. The room however was very nice, nicer than I expected. He got us the room for the Jacuzzi tub because I've been trying to find a decent place that had one. The tub is actually in the room not in the bathroom and Its in a corner with surrounding mirrors. King Sized bed, nice desk with chair, comfortable chair in the corner and a good sized bathroom. Very spacious and plenty of seating. We had a corner unit so the balcony felt kind of blocked in but it still had a lovely view of the Ocean. We saw the sun set in the hallway in front of the room and watched the sun rise on the balcony. The carpet could probably use replacing and maybe the bedding but its okay. For maybe a special occasion for a relaxing time i would return and also recommend :]

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cristina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    116
    38
    14
    21
See reviews for
122
118
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have stayed at the Breakers several times and they never disappoint. Everyone from the front desk, cafe and housekeeping are incredibly nice and always helpful.
The rooms are clean and a nice size. This is one of the few oceanfront hotels that offers an outdoor pool. Due to placement the pool doesn't get sun the entire day but you can't have it all.
Their Breakaway deals can't be beat. I will continue to support this family owned hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side overlook the pool making them a little noisier than the south side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vagirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
251 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was our second year in a row staying at The Breakers. This time we extended our stay to 11 nights and upgraded to a king room with a jacuzzi tub. We found the hotel just as good as last year. In fact, this year, the breakfast menu had been added to and the food was much better. If you're there, you should try the crab omelette - it was excellent!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Santorini Dreamin'
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We booked this room on their breakaway discount and it proved to be a great find. 4 nights oceanfront at less than $100/night. The room was clean and the hotel is located one block up from the pier. Easy walk to all the bands playing on the beach and restaurants. Staff was friendly and we ate at the restaurant for breakfast one morning and it was very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mckittri2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel served its purpose for my two children and I. My kids and I had other issues while on vacation but the hotel wasn't one of them. The room we had was a standard room. Two beds, a fringe and a microwave. We had a nice view and we were lucky to get a third floor room. Also the lady at the front desk was very nice to let us check in early at 11:00. I found her to be very friendly and welcoming. The cafe (I only ate there twice for breakfast) served its purpose if you wanted a quick bite. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ymj1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The hotel is a bit dated and it could have been cleaner as we found a broken spoon under the bed cover on the floor and a tissue and old business card in the dresser, but for the value, location and view, my husband and I would definitely go again. They also have free 1 hour bike rentals.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snickers42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridley Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Dated and dirty, When I complained to the staff at check out. They really got rude. It just wasn't my room,my brother stayed next door the same dirt, Even the coffee shop kitchen was dirty.
I know the hotel is old but there is “There is no excuse for filth and unfriendliness!”
look at the pictures....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank RickeyRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#17 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capes Hotel
Capes Hotel
#29 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Bea...
#10 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#53 of 111 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#56 of 111 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#22 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort Inn

Property: The Breakers Resort Inn
Address: 1503 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Virginia Beach, The Breakers Resort Inn is convienient to shopping, dining, nightlife and attractions. Our friendly staff will ensure your stay with us is a memorable experience. We offer all oceanfront rooms and suites that your family will enjoy, as well as our King rooms with in-room Jacuzzi for a romantic couple's get a way. We look forward to welcoming you to The Breakers Resort Inn when you vacation in Virginia Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Breakers Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
The Breakers Resort Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing