We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Breakers Resort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Breakers Resort Inn
Ranked #38 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
North Manchester, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Breakers Resort from June 22nd thru June 25th. We absolutely loved this place! It is right on the beach. In fact, the balcony of the rooms face the beach. We were able to watch the dolphins from our balcony each morning before the beach became busy. This is an older hotel and could use some updating, but our room was cleaned each day.

As others have written, the elevator was a bit slow and very hot. But the air conditioning in the rooms worked very well. The food at Breakers restaurant was very good. We had breakfast there every morning. The servings were large and the price was affordable.

The resort is right on the boardwalk and within walking distance to many shops, restaurants and attractions. We had tickets to the Rascal Flatts concert at Farm Bureau Live and were able to walk across the street from the resort and take a bus to the concert. The bus picked us up after the concert so we didn't have to deal with concert traffic and parking.

When we return to Virginia Beach, we will definitely stay at The Breakers Resort again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shar0nkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    124
    40
    15
    23
See reviews for
131
126
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

My wife and I wanted to celebrate our anniversary at the beach and looked into several places, finally selecting the Breakers Resort Inn, which is directly on the oceanfront in Virginia Beach, VA. One reason we selected the Breakers is that room prices seemed to be a bit lower than other places we investigated. Another reason is that, when we visited to check out the rooms, we learned that the Breakers is family owned and operated in contrast to the many chain places at the beach. This impressed us and we were not disappointed during our actual stay; the personal touch became evident in the careful attention paid to residents. We rented two rooms and a suite-a room each for ourselves and one son with his family and a suite for our other son and his family. All had a full ocean view with a balcony. All were clean and well-furnished. The rooms had a microwave and small refrigerator; cabinets provided plenty of room for the food and drinks we had brought for our multiday visit. The suite was quite roomy and had a full-size refrigerator, small stove and microwave with plenty of cabinet space. The Breakers is a convenient location overlooking the boardwalk and the beach. In fact the Breakers is located at an access point to the beach-these access points are spaced about a half block apart-so it’s a very short walk down to the surf. Additionally, this beach access point includes a shower and foot washing station to conveniently rinse off on the way back to the rooms. For those who prefer fresh water, there is a pool. Bikes are available for exercise or exploration. There is a small café for breakfast and lunch with quite reasonable prices. Parking is located in a garage under the hotel. There is only one elevator, so access to the upper floors can be slow at times, but we only had one instance when we experienced delay. We unhesitatingly recommend the Breakers for its location, service and value. Mike

Room Tip: Pick a room with a good ocean view but not all the way to the top in case you have to walk up and do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

My sister and I took a mini-vacation (4 days) to VA Beach and stayed at The Breakers Resort Inn. We were very pleased with the room. It was clean and spacious. A nice touch was the shampoo, lotion and shower cap provided. The Cafe food is very, very good and quite reasonable. Best grits I've had in a long time and large portions. I can't say enough nice things about the Inn, Cafe and Housekeeping Staffs. You couldn't find a nicer group of people. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WVCutie25443USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Marys, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We have been going to Va Beach for over 25 years. This was our first time staying at The Breakers and will do so again. The Hotel, Cafe and Housekeeping staff , were the friendliest people. The Cafe staff made breakfast (which is cooked to order and very reasonable and very very good) enjoyable every morning. It is nice to be treated like old friends even at your first visit. Our room was clean, bed comfortable, Jacuzzi tub was wonderful. Our room over looked the pool which still had a nice view of the ocean. We did not use the pool, but the pool and pool area was clean. The hotel also had bikes available for guests to use at no charge, whichis definately a plus. We will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Arline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Vale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

My family and I recently stayed at The Breakers and it was a wonderful experience! Every morning we took advantage of the cute little restaurant they had downstairs and then went to the beach. The hotel is right on the beach with the steps to the beach right in front. No hassle or long walk to get there. It is located in a great location with shops, restaurants, mini golf, and amusements all nearby within walking distance. We have stayed in VA Beach many many times in the past and this hotel is definitely tops. We are from northern NJ and get tired of the Jersey shore. The location and cleanliness is what we loved. The ONLY thing we did not like was the slow elevator. Since the maids do not have their own service elevator, the morning elevator calls are tedious. We were on the 6th floor, therefore using the stairs was too much. It stops at every floor during room cleaning time. Other than that, no complaints!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StormieIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

If I could give The Breakers Resort Inn more than 5 stars I would. The hotel and the room was very clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. I rented the room that had a kitchenette and could fit up to 6 people easily. When they say that 6 people can stay in this room easily that is very accurate. The 3rd bed (2 queen size beds in the bedroom and a hidaway in the living room) is actually a full size bed that folds out from the wall. It was a nice matress and very comfortable. Most places I have stayed a the the 3rd bed is a fold out couch bed (which is not comfortable). This hotel is located on 17th street and is in the heart of everything. They have bicycles that you can check out for free, which is great. The hotel dinner is great for breakfast and lunch. The food is affordable and fast and good!!!!. All the rooms look out on the ocean and you have a fantastic view of the pier, ocean and up and down the boardwalk. They also have free wifi which was nice to be able to check the weather reports, google where places to visit were located (the Lighthouse, the aquarium, the dolphin watching cruises, etc).

We came to VA Beach to celebrate my daughter graduating high school. I would come back again and stay at The Breakers!!!! I have been telling all my friends and family that this is the place to stay.

Good Job Breakers!!!!

Room Tip: The kitchenette is the way to go to save money on eating out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ginger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

I just stayed here for 2 nights and it is a very wonderful hotel! I am pretty sure that it is the only clean, reasonably priced oceanfront hotel with balconies out there! The room was well lit and had 2 comfy queen sized beds and of course the balcony. Even though the room I stayed in was on the first floor, there was still an actual balcony lifted off the ground. Housekeeping was friendly and polite. If I ever come back, I will definitely take advantage of the free bike rentals and I would definitely consider staying in the room with the king bed and jacuzzi! The front desk staff was friendly and accommodating. They really seem to be more customer service oriented versus rather just following the rules. They weren't banging on the door when we didn't leave till 11:15 instead of 11:00, they let me go back in and get my shampoo that I had forgotten, and they let us leave our car there for a couple of hours after we checked out. The only complaint I have is that in our room there weren't any black out curtains. The sun was bright in the morning and also I would have preferred the extra privacy since it was on the 1st floor.

Room Tip: Room 104 is not a good place to stay. I am a very light sleeper and this room is right next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Taylor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#25 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#48 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort Inn

Property: The Breakers Resort Inn
Address: 1503 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breakers Resort Inn is Family-owned and operated, open year-round, and is directly on the boardwalk at the oceanfront in Virginia Beach. We are adjacent to the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier and only 20 minutes from the Norfolk Intl. Airport. Shopping, dining, nightlife and many attractions are conveniently located within walking distance or a short drive by car. All guestrooms and suites have a stunning oceanfront view and provide comfortable accommodations to fit your personal needs. A refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer and safe are in all rooms and Wi-fi is complimentary to guests throughout our hotel. Our efficiency suites feature a bedroom with two queen beds, living room with a pull-down double bed & studio kitchen containing plates and utensils. Couples love our king bedded rooms with in-room Jacuzzi. Breakfast and lunch is served daily at our Boardwalk Cafe for guest convenience. Take a bike ride on one of our complimentary bikes or simply relax by our outdoor heated pool overlooking the beach and boardwalk. Only 20 minutes from the Norfolk International our location is perfect whether it’s for a family vacation, golf package or a romantic getaway. Our staff looks forward to providing you an unforgettable vacation here at the Breakers Resort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Breakers Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
The Breakers Resort Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing