We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWFUL... even for a TRAVELODGE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #91 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“AWFUL... even for a TRAVELODGE”
Reviewed July 4, 2010

The lobby smelled like oversprayed cleanser. there was only one rickity elevator and two hot smelly gross stairwells. The continential breakfast is worse than a jail. it consists of a muffin and raisin bran cereal... if you come on a lucky day you might get a danish. hotel needs to be renovated from top to bottom. The hallways suck. the airconditioners for the rooms are placed so that when you walk hot gross smelling air blows on your face. for a little more money you can get a lot better. the doors and frames are all rusted and the railings on the balconies are falling apart (which is a safety hazard if you have children) THE ROOMS are ok but on the low end of ok. the living room is bright, decorated sparsely. the bedroom is dark and reminds you of a cave. BATHROOMS were worst part. you have to sit on your toilet sideways because there is not enough room to sit on it facing forward. the bathroom is moldy and is a joke PLEASE DONT STAY!!! although if your on a budget there are nicer hotels that are less expensive

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ocmdtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    144
    227
    208
    356
See reviews for
505
233
45
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apple Grove, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2010

I had reserved this room 2 months earlier and then decided to read the reviews. After reading all the horrible things people were saying, I almost changed my reservation but decided not to. After all, we camp in the outdoors so how bad could it be. We were very pleasantly surprised! The young man who checked us in was very polite and allowed us to check in early because our room was ready. When we got to the room, the AC was on and it was cool. The rooms were clean, the linens freshly changed, and everything worked the way it was supposed to.
I dont know the people who wrote the terrible reviews but everyone in my group were pleasantly surprised. Sure, this is an older hotel, but as long as it is clean, I don't mind. The only problem I have is that I reserved my room 2 months in advance and a couple came in off the street and got a room for about $25.00 per night less while I was in the lobby.
Oh well, you cant expect everything to be perfect.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tptybre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2010

I normally do not write reviews, however, I think this time I should. We traveled with my family of 10 people, which included 4 children. When we checked in and went up to our rooms, we immediately checked out. The rooms had black mold growing around the windows, they didn't look like they had been cleaned, etc. I definately do not suggest this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTime94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2010

It shocks me that I had this experience because after reading the reviews about this hotel I contacted Customer Service and the Manager of the hotel prior to my arrival. I was assured by Customer care that they have "Standards" for their franchises and if there is any problem at all contact them on arrival and they will take care of it. Also the manager of the hotel told us he would make sure the room was ready and take us to the room prior to check in to insure we were happy with it. When I got to the hotel, there was no power do to a transformer blowing in the area. The girl at the front desk was very flustered and wanted to take my credit card info by writing it down since she had no power for the computer. I asked about having someone take me to my room, she stated the manager was gone and no one else was available.The doors to the stairwells were outside and didn't even close, so anyone outside have access to the hotel. When we got to our room, it was beyond words. First of all we could not get the door open because of the rust and it being jammed. After finally getting it open, the room was gross a half eaten sandwich on the table beer cans and cigarette ash everywhere. The couch was wet and ripped. Bedroom linens were stained and dirty and there was urine all over the bathroom floor. We went downstairs and were so embarrased that I had brought my friends to this dump. I was 8 hours away from home and was assured by both Customer Service and Hotel Management that I would not have a problem. I called custoemr service, and this was probably the worst part, I was told by "Tom" that because it is a franchise, they take no responsibiliities for what they do or how there hotels look. I had to take up my problems with the Hotel Manager, who had already left for the day. I was left with no options, so I walked next door to the Fairfield Inn and booked a room there. When I checked out from the Travelodge, I asked that the General Manager call me , I have yet to hear from him and it's been over 10 days. I advise you , if you do book this hotel, have a backup, because this hotel was not a place I could sleep especially when traveling with a one year old baby. Due to my expereience with custoemr service , I have thrown away my rewards card, and will not stay at another Wyndam Property, especially becasue they don't care what they put there name on, obviously they have no "standards" for there hotels.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artie25fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2010

This hotel was absolutely disgusting, so gross I cried after walking into the place, and packed my belongings and left after 30 minutes. There were cigarette burns and hair in the bathtub, stains on the thirty-yr old furniture, and rust on the doors. Not to mention my mom asked to check in early, they said no, and then asked to use a bathroom, which they also told her no. We should have known right there that it was not going to be a good experience. The bathroom also had mold on the ceiling, and was incredibly small. The paint was peeling on the outside of the place. It saddens me to know that people who come to Virginia Beach for vacation would subject themselves to these unsanitary conditions. The Travelodge on 19th street should be condemned and torn down, go to the Boardwalk Inn, much better!!~

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmyvb2fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

We stayed here while my daughter had a cheerleading competition. The room was very big with a living room, kitchen and bedroom. Our room had a fridge and microwave and a friends room even had a stove. Pool wasn't opened yet and that was a bummer but it was right on the boardwalk close to the fishing pier. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drama_mama0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbury, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Please, please, please read the reviews! This hotel is ranked as one of the worst hotels in VB ... and there is reason! The staff is horrible and unprofessional! The rooms are so old and dirty it is disgusting! Stains all over the carpet. Carpet was ripped in sections. The balcony was rusted and I was scared to sit in the dirty chairs! The breakfast is a joke ... don't even consider eating it! The washer and dryer were broke while there. When asking the staff when it would be fixed she stated "it's been broke for a week now, I have no idea" Seriously? I did not feel safe walking to my room alone. There were "hecklers" yelling off the balcony anytime I went to the car. It was really scary. The bathrooms are so small, you can barely close the door behind you. The only good thing was the location to the beach!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelnron05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#73 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#25 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#57 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#32 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
0.0 mi away
19 Atlantic Hotel
19 Atlantic Hotel
#60 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Capes Hotel
Capes Hotel
#33 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 1909 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a variety of rooms to suit your needs, including penthouse suites with a Jacuzzi and kitchenette, rooms with private balconies and non-smoking rooms. Boost your energy with our free continental breakfast before lounging on our sundeck or diving into our outdoor(seasonal) pool. Free Wi-Fi Internet lets you go online from your laptop anywhere in the hotel. From guest laundry service to in-room microwaves and refrigerators, we provide all the amenities to make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Travel Lodge Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing