We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #90 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach
1 review
“Winter Night”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I stayed the night due to inclement weather. We were going through an ice storm, in which I knew the day before and made reservations. I was disappointed with the lack of heat in the room. It took hours just to be able to take my coat off in the room. I paid for the room a day in advance, it would have been nice if the room heater was turned on before my 9pm arrival.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Let me thank you for taking the time to address this matter to our hotel as every comment, good or bad is important. As hospitality professionals we try our best to resolve concerns and offer the best service possible. Having said, that I would like to extend a sincerely apology for your stay and the events described in your review. All of our rooms are thoroughly cleaned and deodorized between guests but in this case it would appear that we may not have achieved success. If you would like to call the hotel and speak to me directly I would like to further learn from your experience and invite you to visit us later this season and offer us a chance to redeem ourselves in your mind.

Regards,
Travelodge Suites Oceanfront, Virginia Beach
S Patel
HR MANAGER
757 425-0650
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    157
    259
    223
    385
See reviews for
573
245
47
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2014

My husband and i stayed there for 3 nights. We loved it. The ocean view we had from our room was breataking. Only downfall was how long it took for the room to warm up. Otherwise, no complaints. I would definately stay again

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrshopkins11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Let me thank you for taking the time to post this review about our hotel as every comment, good or bad is important. As hospitality professionals we try our best to resolve concerns and offer the best service possible. Having said, that I would like to extend a thank you for your comment(s) and I am glad that you had such a great experience. I hope to see you on a future visit at Travelodge Suites Oceanfront in Virginia Beach.

In closing, you could not be more right. As one of the most economical destination on the beach front we offer a clean, well run hotel. Many of our customers think our older building gives us character and it seems like we hit the right mark with you, thanks.

Regards,
Travelodge Suites Oceanfront, Virginia Beach
S Patel
HR MANAGER
757 425-0650
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High View, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

My mom, sister and I traveled to Virginia Beach for a wedding and ended up staying here. The room sounded nice (bedroom, bathroom, kitchen and living room), but it turned out to be really gross.

cons- right outs our door smelled like urine all the time. The bathroom is about as big as a closet and everything is at a weird angle. It was impossible to get ready in and really dirty. I'm pretty sure there wasn't a door between the bedroom and living room. We stayed multiple days and the maid came in to give us two new towels. They have a pool, but that also wasn't clean. The continental breakfast consists of a table in the lobby with like 5 items on it. There are no table or chairs to sit in. The elevator is cramped and slow. There will probably be a line, so take the stairs.

Pros - it's disgusting, but the location is good. All the rooms face the ocean and it's a short distance down to the pier. Also, it's right on the boardwalk.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Meg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Let me thank you for taking the time to address this matter to our hotel as every comment, good or bad is important. As hospitality professionals we try our best to resolve concerns and offer the best service possible. Having said, that I would like to extend a sincerely apology for your stay and the events described in your review. All of our rooms are thoroughly cleaned and deodorized between guests but in this case it would appear that we may not have achieved success. If you would like to call the hotel and speak to me directly I would like to further learn from your experience and invite you to visit us later this season and offer us a chance to redeem ourselves in your mind.

Regards,
Travelodge Suites Oceanfront, Virginia Beach
S Patel
HR Manager
757 425-0650
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed here Jan 25, 2014 and considering all the negative reviews I was hesitant but this is the cheapest oceanfront room you can get in Va Beach. I paid $47 plus tax. The front desk was friendly and they have brochures and take out menus which is very helpful.
The elevator is small but have no fear it does work or you can just use the stairs. The stairways were not smelly and dirty like other people said. The room appeared great at first glance. I didn't notice any problems until I investigated further. I appreciate the front desk telling me that it takes time to heat the room because it's an oceanfront room but the truth about that is that the doors to the outside oceanfront need to be replaced because they don't shut all the way tight.. There is no insulation to prevent cold air from coming into the room so you basically have to blast the heater at 85 or 90 degrees but thank god the heaters do work lol!
The tv's are flat screen but only 24' and the cable reception was not fuzzy as other people said. I liked the old school motor lodge layout I found a trick to keep the sleeping area warm which was to shut the door from the living room. The bathroom is indeed the smallest I've ever seen at an hotel/motel but the water was warm but the toilet did get clogged up easily but I was able to fix it. No worries there!
Not to be negative but the ice machines on the 2'nd and 6'th floor did not work but the fridge did indeed work but be careful to not leave bottles in there too long or they will freeze even though it seems like the fridge does not work but it does work indeed!
Here are the positives about this hotel. Location is perfect! The block, Peabody's is only a few blocks down and there is a 7-11 on 17'th and Pacific if u want some beer or drinks, snacks. Parking seemed ok even though I was on foot. Staff was very friendly and I even got a free Sunday Virginian Pilot when I check out Jan 26'th. The young lady at the front desk was very cool and nice. Lastly the view from the window was awesome but please be careful with that door so you don't get locked out on the balcony. Again those doors need to be replaced but just put something in between it to keep it open and your good to go. For what I paid I was happy. All good despite the things that do need to be fixed. Excellent value!

Room Tip: Get a corner suite on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vajoefisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, General Manager at Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Let me thank you for taking the time to address this matter to our hotel as every comment, good or bad is important. As hospitality professionals we try our best to resolve concerns and offer the best service possible. Having said, that I would like to extend a thank you for your comment(s) and I am glad that you had such a great experience. I hope to see you on a future visit at Travelodge Suites Oceanfront in Virginia Beach.

Regards,
Travelodge Suites Oceanfront, Virginia Beach
S Patel
HR Manager
757 425-0650
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#82 of 109 in Virginia Beach
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#53 of 109 in Virginia Beach
194 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#36 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#26 of 109 in Virginia Beach
999 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,440 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#77 of 109 in Virginia Beach
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 1909 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a variety of rooms to suit your needs, including penthouse suites with a Jacuzzi and kitchenette, rooms with private balconies and non-smoking rooms. Boost your energy with our free continental breakfast before lounging on our sundeck or diving into our outdoor(seasonal) pool. Free Wi-Fi Internet lets you go online from your laptop anywhere in the hotel. From guest laundry service to in-room microwaves and refrigerators, we provide all the amenities to make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Travel Lodge Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing