We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Service Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #90 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed October 3, 2011

When you spend $160.00 a night you would at least expect good service. The service at this hotel is the worst I have ever experienced. Upon checking in the guy at the front desk became very rude and upset when we questioned our bill. He did not want to take the time to explain why we were quoted one price and had to pay another. Also, when it was time for the room to be cleaned all that they did was throw the blankets over the UN-made sheets. When we called the front desk to inquire if they were finished or were coming back the guy asked "what do you want? Everything?" When the maid and the guy arrived at the room they tossed the vacuum into the room and pointed at it as if we were supposed to vacuum the floor. To top it off there is no inspection in the old rickety elevator, and the balcony rail was secured with twine. That's right TWINE !!!! Take my advise stay as far away from this place as possible!!!

Room Tip: Don't get room 311!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dottie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

979 - 985 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2011

I had read so many bad reviews I went in their ready to expect the worse..honestly it was pretty bad..As soon as I walked in the room it smelled like humidity, the light was broken, the couches ripped and stained..heading into the master bedroom I noticed the a/c machine made to much noise to even be able to sleep, the pillows look dirty..when taking a shower I noticed all the water leaked from the tub..the best part of this stay was the balcony where I could see the ocean..Last thing is the elevator is slow and needs major work..I do not recommend to anybody..

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ehs1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We were afraid that the place had damage from hurricane Irene, and they did receve some. But the stay was great. I can't beleive most of the reviews we read about this place. Who comes to the beach and spends any time in the room for one. I read where people complained about the elevator being creepy? Sure the door scraped when shutting but it was fast and I never had to wait more than a minute or two for it. As for the wet floor maybe you or your kids wet bathing suit dripping in it made it that way? Sure it is an older hotel and could stand a make over, but then the rates we pay would double. Location on the beach and Alantic Ave is great. Parking works out good. The staff was excellent and very friendly. The rooms were quiet, never heard anything from another room, but could here a band across the road and it quiet down before we went to bed.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor great view up and down the board walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank inztigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The price was good for an oceanfront hotel. The room was neat but greatly in need of renovations. The couch needed to be steam cleaned but overall it was just okay. I would probably not stay again due to not feeling comfortable with the cleanliness. The maid did a good job in what she was required to do, but it was in great need of a good steam cleaning. Breakfast was adequate. Location was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ywatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

My family and I checked into the travelodge suites located at 1909 Atlantic ave Virginia beach Va 23451 on 8/11/11. The hotel was so dirty we checked out the very next day and would have done so that night if any thing else was open. I am bring this to your attention because of one stand out horror. The pillow on the bed was covered in blood. The room in general was dirty including hair all over the bathtub,the toilet seat was broken, the light bulbs burned out and trash stuffed into the sofa.The blood soaked pillow was the worst. I wanted to file am complaint so this place can be checked out no one should be staying here.Fortunately we had the money to find another hotel but I cannot imagine that the case for everyone.The hotel was located at 1909 Atlantic ave 23451

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slrobertson01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I was looking for a hotel on the beach that was not outrageously priced for a quick last minute getaway. I booked this hotel because the price was right but boy was I
sadly disappointed. The only thing good about this place is the location, other than that it sucks. The rooms are small, very out dated with furniture with multiple scratches, wear and tear which is evident. The bathroom is so small you can barely fit in and close the door. The paint job looks like someone just threw the paint up against the walls. It is evident that there hasn't been much upkeep here. This is the first time I have stayed at a Wyndham property and if this is any indication of how their properties are maintained, I won't be staying again.

Room Tip: Another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Can't recommend this one. Even though it's an older hotel, you can tell the owners/mgnt didn't even try to keep it nice. Feels like a cave, bad paint job, broken furniture, old rugs, scary elevator, etc... How about some nice pictures on the wall, a deep cleaning, etc? It doesn't need to be a 4 star, just give it a little effort to make it a nice economical family option and not just a place to take someone's money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#49 of 109 in Virginia Beach
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#82 of 109 in Virginia Beach
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#61 of 109 in Virginia Beach
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alamar Resort Inn
Alamar Resort Inn
#69 of 109 in Virginia Beach
196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
#3 of 109 in Virginia Beach
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 1909 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $46 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a variety of rooms to suit your needs, including penthouse suites with a Jacuzzi and kitchenette, rooms with private balconies and non-smoking rooms. Boost your energy with our free continental breakfast before lounging on our sundeck or diving into our outdoor(seasonal) pool. Free Wi-Fi Internet lets you go online from your laptop anywhere in the hotel. From guest laundry service to in-room microwaves and refrigerators, we provide all the amenities to make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Travel Lodge Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing