We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Survived but won't ever go back...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #91 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Hilliard
1 review
“Survived but won't ever go back...”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

For the price it was ok but housekeeping was horrible. Had to beg for towels. Room was outdated but clean which was important. For the money... for an oceanfront room... well, let's just say that you get what you pay for. I think the next trip we will stay a shorter period of time in a nicer hotel rather than a longer time in this hotel. Like I said... we survived.

Room Tip: Some rooms updated but ours was not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorimom5003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    141
    224
    204
    351
See reviews for
497
230
45
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thomaston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The hotel pictures do not show the real property. This place is an embarassment to the Wyndham Hotel Chain. This independtly owned hotel is very poorly maintained and despite some positive reviews this property it is one of the worse places we have ever stayed - ever. None of the on-line photos depict the actual run down décor, odors, and smells for this property. The front desk personnel have no clue as to how to run a hotel or help guests enjoy the area. Their continental breakfast is bad coffee and stale small donuts with some green apples. It was not fit to eat. The front pool was in the front parking lot and was filthy. Sand, trash and dead plantings made it a fowl place. The one elevator was slow and pretty disgusting as well. The switch plates were held on with one screw and I wondered if we would get electrocuted. The hall way leading to the room had a painted floor which made it very slippery when wet after a rain storm. AC units stuck onto the hallway at a low position that they ere dangerous to anyone over 5 feet tall. Our room was cleaned but very strange. The king bed had 3 pillows with large king size pillow cases that did not fit the small pillows. The other two pillows had no pillow cases. There was no window in the bedroom and the lighting was very poor. The bath room toilet did not flush well, there was very little ventaltion, and the commode was less than 6 inches from the tub. You needed to sit sideways to use it. All the sink drains did not work properly and the waste always backed up into the sink making a fowl site and smell. The electrical sockets had multi-outlet adapters and did not seem properly installed and a electric hazard for anyone. The deck furniture was dirty and flimsy.
We were only at the hotel for a few days and could not find another hotel close by to transfer to. Our recommendation is to advise anyone to pick another hotel. This place is cheaper but be aware of the “roach motel” atmosphere here.
Our advice is to stay somewhere else - period!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickyCruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2011

My family and I stayed in room 305 last year and for the price I was pleasantly suprised. The room was clean, the view was beautiful, and we were located at the center of the boardwalk. The only problem that I had was not being able to communicate with some of the housekeepers, but you will find that most of the places you go while u are there will be the same.Parking was also a little tight but all of the hotels were tight parking. I would definately recommend hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WheelingJphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Hotel is very dated. Elevator hold maximum of 6 people. I lost weight from using the stairs which were urine filled. Bathtub clogged upon first shower. When people make comment that you can sh**, shower, and shave-well in this place you can do it all at the same time the bathrooms are SOOO small. My broom closet is bigger. Housekeeping came in and made beds-that's all. Apparently, clean towels are to much to expect to be left in your room, as we had to go to front desk to get everyday. This place is just top of the line GROSS! The reviews are right on--STAY AWAY!!

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mellower3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Save your money.
Dirty.
Outdated.
Electrically unsafe.
Gross.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elmosfire255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

You want your vacation spot to be clean, comfortable and cozy. This was not the place, electric outlets did not work, vanity sink was clogged, boggers on the wall, it smelled horrible, the stove was a cooktop with broken burners, I had to sleep with the ac on and tv in order not to hear the neighbors baby cry all night. "Sam" who was the attendant had every excuse. And after all that, I was charged the full price and they did not honor my online booking rate (which was prepaid). This was the worse part of my vacation. I will pay more money to stay furhter up Atlantic Avenue where it is less ghetto...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jones1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I would rather sleep in my car!!there were bugs in the room! The interntet photos were decieving....no customer service...terrible parking...ill never book another hotel online again..thanks travel lodge!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelly0626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#69 of 109 in Virginia Beach
45 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#25 of 109 in Virginia Beach
908 reviews
0.0 mi away
19 Atlantic Hotel
19 Atlantic Hotel
#63 of 109 in Virginia Beach
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#31 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,888 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#53 of 109 in Virginia Beach
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Capes Hotel
Capes Hotel
#32 of 109 in Virginia Beach
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 1909 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a variety of rooms to suit your needs, including penthouse suites with a Jacuzzi and kitchenette, rooms with private balconies and non-smoking rooms. Boost your energy with our free continental breakfast before lounging on our sundeck or diving into our outdoor(seasonal) pool. Free Wi-Fi Internet lets you go online from your laptop anywhere in the hotel. From guest laundry service to in-room microwaves and refrigerators, we provide all the amenities to make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Travel Lodge Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing