We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$127
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$118
View deal
Hotels.com
$118
View deal
Priceline$118
FindHotel$118
Travelocity$127
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,019)
Filter reviews
1,019 results
Traveler rating
489
322
114
62
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
489
322
114
62
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool the north end front desk courtyard by marriott breakfast buffet living area the entire hotel ocean view off season one bedroom suite mini fridge the entire staff lobby balcony housekeeping vb sand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
951 - 956 of 1,019 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2007

My nieces and I stayed at the Courtyard Marriott December 27-29, 2006. It was everything we expected and more. The rooms were very nice and clean. The staff was friendly and courteous. We booked a two room suite on the 9th floor. I felt as though we had the entire 9th floor to ourselves. We picked a good off-season time to go after Christmas and before the New Year. The oceanfront views were exceptionally beautiful. The water was amazingly blue in December (it's been a warm December). We only ate one breakfast meal at the hotel. The buffet offered a good variety. I am pleased to say that we did not experience one problem at the Marriott. There is usually something that could improve not this time. The resort area was not crowded. Several shops were closed as we expected but enough opened to enjoy. The Holiday Lights on the boardwalk and hotel holiday decorations were enough to keep us in the Holiday spirit. We look forward to another stay at the Marriott. Note: There are 2 Courtyards on Oceanfront we stayed at the one on 37th Street (it's less congested on that end of the beach) but then again during the off-season there aren't crowds anywhere at the beach.

Date of stay: December 2006
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JANJ1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2006

We really liked the hotel. It is largely a no frills place, but it was very clean and the staff were very friendly and eager to please. The beds were also extremely comfortable, which I have always liked about Courtyard. You can stay in much more expensive places and not be as comfortable. I admit it (sorry!), that I'm not a fan of hotels that cater too much to families, especially those with small children, but this hotel was just fine. My room was surprisingly quiet, even though the hotel is kind of in the flightpath for Navy jets. The location was great. The view was great. We go to Virginia Beach a few times a year and would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Date of stay: November 2006
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Marathoner2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2006

We stayed for 4 nights at the Courtyard North the last week of August. It was my husband, myself, our 3 year old daughter and 10 mos old daughter. We booked a 1 bedroom suite and were given a great room on the 11th floor.

The room met our needs perfectly. Spacious, clean, fridge, sink, counter space, microwave, small eating table, seperate bedroom and balcony overlooking the ocean.

The pool was great to have as our daughters like to play in the sand but not swim in the ocean yet and the pool gave us lots of swimming time.

We liked being on the quiet side of the boardwalk and enjoyed many walks about.

We had a nice visit to the Aquarium.

We read about the complaints for slow elevators and basically have to say that people need to mellow out - it is not that bad.

Our main disappointment was meals. The breakfast buffet was expensive and not very price friendly for kids and the alacarte breakfast options for kids were non existent.
We had one great lunch at the hotel restaurant and one really, really disappointing dinner. (service was always good, just not the food). We also did not have much luck with the meals at the restaurants we went to offsite also.

Overall though I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone with kids.

(Yes the military planes are loud but they are interesting also and again people should mellow out.)

Date of stay: August 2006
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank poolsfh44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2006

Courtyard Mariott was ok but this one does not meet the standards of other Courtyards I've stayed in. The elevators were very slow (there are only 2 for the entire hotel) and the stairs do lead outdoors, not the lobby. The indoor pool was very cold, as was the outdoor pool. In August (late summer) there are alot of jelly fish in the water causing my family to be fearful to enter the ocean.

Other than those things this hotel was very much ok. The views are outstanding and the staff were helpful for the most part. This end of the beach is quiet in the evenings which is great for young families. Close to alot of stores, concerts, etc.... One word of caution....the trolley is cute/fun but can be very slow.

Overall it was ok/nice but next time we'll stay at the Hilton a few blocks away.

Date of stay: August 2006
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Funions
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2006

We (hubby, kids and I) just got back from a weekend stay at the Marriott. Overall it was a very nice hotel and the staff was friendly so we would definitely stay here again. The location was farther from the crowds but yet close enough to the shops and restaurants. We took the trolley (definitely recommend this) when we wanted to go further than walking distance and didn’t move the car all weekend. Definitely check out BeachStreet USA on Atlantic for the free entertainment.

The hotel had a good family atmosphere. The view was great and we saw dolphins everyday from our room. The outdoor pool was nice but a little crowded --chairs get filed up early so we ended up spending more time at the beautiful beach instead. Plenty of towels provided for pool use.

Some small complaints (not big enough to prevent us from staying here again) but worth mentioning since I rely heavily on Tripadvisor:
-The A/C unit was loud and we really couldn’t hear the sound of the waves even with the balcony door open. The A/C vents to the balcony so it was loud there as well. We ended up not using the balcony much because of this.
-The restaurant closes from 2-5:30PM but you can order from the pool snack bar and eat on the covered porch (this wasn’t mentioned and we discovered it after a 20 minute wait).
-Pool snack bar only had one employee so the service was slow
-The tiny convenience store off the lobby is staffed by the front desk (usually only one person) so sometimes you had to wait a few minutes to buy something.
-Elevators were slow at certain times but not as bad as some of the other reviews I’ve read. There are only 2 of them for 160 rooms and no service elevator.

If you stay here with the mindset that you’re on vacation and you may have to be patient and wait at times, you should enjoy this hotel. We did.

Date of stay: August 2006
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Gainesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews