We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Location, Location, Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Ranked #27 of 111 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This clean and spacious hotel is on the famed boardwalk and steps away from the sand! This hotel has every ammenity you need in a resort, from pools, tiki bar and lounge area. The one bedroom suite was plenty of room for all five of us in our group - with a great ocean view balcony to watch the dolphins throughout the day.
We were in town on the last busy weekend of the summer and this hotel was full - but it sure didn't seem like it! Plenty of space for everyone. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Our only complaint was that the outdoor pool was freezing cold- on a 85* day. The ocean was at least 10* warmer! Am not sure if heat was an option for management, but the lifeguard on staff said it had been cold for several weeks. Would have spent more money at the bar had the pool been heated and we could have swam ther during the afternoon.
This is a hotel we will return to! Perfect for a family trip, a romantic weekend for two or a girls weekend! It doesn't look like much on the outside, but the staff and rooms make up for the bland exterior.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an end, as the ice machine and elevator Are located in the middle and can be a lit...
See more room tips
Green Features: They had environmentally friendly practices in place. We parked our car and walked everywhere all weekend! Now that is environmentally friendly!
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jayhawkinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and reviewing our hotel! I am glad you enjoyed our location and our friendly staff. Thanks again for you feedback and I hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    238
    89
    41
    21
See reviews for
324
146
26
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham, New York
Level Contributor
182 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Virginia Beach was to be a start for our annual vacation. Since we've stayed here before and enjoyed our stay we thought to give it a longer stay this time. We checked in on Wednesday and at first impressions I immediately noticed that they still had not added any additional handicapped parking spaces (yes they do have them across the street but not clearly designated so anyone felt that they could park in them, but they still are across the street ! ) We had a long drive so we thought we order in and turn in early. Usually, we have become accustomed to having a phone book so that we could see what was available for dining but they appear to have only one and that was at the front desk. You would also find some type of welcoming material to Virgina Beach, but no luck here either. Come shower time and at best we had luke warm water with incredibly low low water pressure. Ok, no real big deal we'd will survive. Come Thursday, 92 steaming degrees and now we find out their lovely outdoor pool is closed ( one of our main reasons to book this Courtyard, since my wife likes the beach and I a pool) since it was after Labor Day, NO EXCEPTION even if it reached 100 degrees ? When we questioned manager Chris regarding this he stated that it would be open on the weekend, (not that it would help us since we would be checking out on Saturday) . Being a dedicated Marriott Fan nowhere had I found that these conditions were stated in their hotel critique, which Chris acknowledge that it didn't exist in the description. We asked for an adjustment in our rate for the rest of our stay which he would NOT extend that courtesy except for the previous evening. He did however, was willing to have us leave a Marriott hotel to go to a hotel locally that a pool was available ? We are still trying to figure that one out. Needless to say we did check out and will not return in the future.

Room Tip: Find another hotel that provide all the amenities that they state will be provided !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNorth, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback on our property. I am deeply sorry you were not able to enjoy the outdoor pool which is open Memorial Day until Labor Day, yearly. Guest safety is always a priority here at the hotel and a lifeguard is required for a pool as large as the one that we have here on property. I truly wish we would have been able to accommodate your request for an outdoor pool during your stay. Fortunately, I was able to find a suitable alternative, per your request. It is my hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future and would like to invite you back during our summer months so that you can fully enjoy our outdoor pool. Again, thank you for your valued feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a few weeks on business. The staff was very amicable and catered to my requests. They were diligent about passing information to the oncoming shifts, and were quick to remember the names of my colleagues who also stayed for a few weeks. Clean facilities, the pool and Jacuzzi were adequate. Prime location, the back entrance opened to the boardwalk and beach. Short walk to many restaurants and tourist attractions. A bit busy depending on the time of year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay on the beach it has the best outdoor pools within the Marriott chain in VB. The wifi was not the greatest was not able to access the wifi in the pool and laundry area. Great staff very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Citibnker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and reviewing our hotel. Your kind comments about our staff are exciting. I am glad you enjoyed our outdoor pool with the waterfalls. Have a great rest of your year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My fiance surprised me with a trip to VB and we stayed at this Courtyard. The location was amazing and our ocean-front view was breathtaking! The room was clean and nicely decorated. The pool was also a great feature and we really enjoyed it. This area of VB is great and there's tons to do. The only thing that I would warn is this: Norfolk is just a few miles away, and the fighter jets are CONSTANTLY flying over and doing drills. However, this is true for any hotel at VB. So if you're a light sleeper, you may want to rethink the location.
Otherwise, I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Because of jets flying over, a room on a lower floor may prove to be a bit quieter. We were on the 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelsea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your stay. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our beautiful views and outdoor pool. I hope you are able to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Loved the location. We have 2 children and staying on the North end was definitely the way to go. Very family friendly. The staff is great and I like the way they know you and treat you like family. The beach is right outside the door. The rooms are clean and very roomy. You can walk to any restaurant and a drive away to the amusement parks or aquarium. Location and service were key on this stay.

Room Tip: I recommend the 2nd floor. The elevator is very slow and the second floor makes it easy to take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fenner26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am glad that you and your children had a great vacation spending time together in our family-friendly hotel. Our staff appreciates your kind words about their service. Have a great rest of your year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We've been to this Courtyard a couple of years in a row for a quick beach getaway. The North end is the place to be. The rooms are all ocean front and beach access is easy. The small decks over looking the beach are great. The real treat here is the reasonable price, nice clean rooms, and beautiful beach. Typical Marriott breakfast, but that's a good good thing. Even though we had to pay for breakfast this last time, it was great, so fill up! If you stay before or after the busy summer season call one of the local surf shops and rent a wet suit to play in the waves. Good for kids too. Increases buoyancy and can help to improve their confidence in the ocean. As always be careful!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and choosing to review our hotel. It is exciting to hear that you have been coming to our hotel for years! We truly appreciate your loyalty. I am glad you always enjoy your stay and share your advice with other guests. I hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#6 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 765 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#32 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 895 reviews
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach...
#31 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oce...
#26 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.5 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#14 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street

Property: Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Address: 3737 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2708
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / n 37th St Hotel Virginia Beach
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Virginia Beach Marriott
Virginia Beach Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing