We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Nearby Hotels
$162
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alamar Resort Inn(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$99
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge on the Ocean(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$89
EconoLodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$135
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$97
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$199
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westin Virginia Beach Town Center(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$149
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$119
CandlewoodSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (851)
Filter reviews
851 results
Traveler rating
408
278
98
41
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
408
278
98
41
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolthe north endcourtyard marriottfront deskquieter northpoolside barcorner suitequiet endbreakfast buffetrooms face the oceanocean viewoff seasonacross the streetthe entire hotelliving areamini fridgestaying at this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
613 - 618 of 851 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights on family vacation. Had connecting rooms at end of hall. No room complaints--they were of typical Couryard quality to newly renovated end of spectrum. All rooms face the ocean and have balconies which is very nice. Parking is plentiful, albeit some is across the street. Lobby is small but active and nice. Outside pool is above average for what you would expect for this price level and location. Our kids enjoyed it immensely. Front desk was very helpful with both business needs (fedex pickup) and personal needs. Price of hotel was best we found for what we got in VA Beach. Can pay more and get more, can pay less and get less.

Our only two major complaints: 1. The west side of the building is all glass that is open to the hallway on each floor. This is a major heat oven in the afternoons in summer. Very hard to cool, and the building AC does not handle it. The rooms themselves are able to stay cool, but the hallway gets so hot that by 5 or 6pm it is very uncomfortable just walking to the elevator. 2. Relatedly, the bar at the outdoor pool has no shade in the afternoon/evening (the very time you would normally use the pool bar--yes, even on vacation). We loved having a bar at the pool so we could have adult fun while watching the kids play in the pool. However, after we had too much sun for the day, a shady spot at the bar would have been nice. Perhaps the hotel could cover the area to the north of the pool bar, or make the balcony on the south end of the restaurant part of the pool bar area.

Room Tip: The rooms on each end of each floor are extra large rooms that faces the beach, have a wetbar area, and a bedroom with a door that can be closed from the rest of the suite. But on the north end they have no window to the north, on the south end no window to the south.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iris C, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

Thank you for your review on our site - we appreciate all feedback. I'm glad you found our outdoor pool enjoyable. Your suggestion about the shade for the pool bar will be considered. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope you think of us when visiting the area again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Lovely facility in Northern Section of Va Beach - this is a nicer section of Va Beach than the Southern Section - more upscale area. The facility is very modern and well cared for- the staff is friendly and very responsive. This facility has two pools (one indoor and a lovely outdoor one with several waterfalls and small pool bar). It has a fitness center and a express bistro in the lobby. There is free coffee/tea in the lobby all day long. Note that we prefer the Marriott Courtyard North over the Marriott Courtyard South because the South beach Courtyard has no outside pool.

All the rooms are oceanfront with patio with 2 chairs and small table so that you can sit outside and enjoy the lovely sight and sound of the surf. Parking is free and you can get valet parking if desired.

Rooms are very attractive and comfortable - We always sign up for the breakfast included plan and enjoy a buffet breakfast while watching the ocean and the boardwalk. The buffet is not a gourmet spread but is very nice - with lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, hot dishes like eggs/breakfast meats, waffle maker, pastries, etc. Waiters take your order for beverages. This is our second stay here and we love it!

Room Tip: While all rooms are oceanfront - recommend that you get a higher floor to get a better ocean view!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triciadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurenWhite, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your second stay here at the Courtyard by Marriott North! Thank you for the kind comments about our hotel and staff. We have a great team that works very hard to make sure our guests enjoy their time spent with us. Having the outdoor pool does certainly make a difference when comparing the two Courtyards at the oceanfront. The next time you’re looking to head back to the area please do not hesitate to contact me directly so that I can assist you with booking your next vacation!

A note to other tripadvisor users: Our outdoor pool will be open on the weekends till the end of September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

First, I visit the Virginia Beach Oceanfront 2-4 times per year, staying in the more upscale hotels. This was my first visit to Courtyard Oceanfront, and perhaps I expected more than I should. It was comfortable enough, but just just a bit below the nearby Hilton and Sheraton.
Pros: Great hot tub in the room. Fabulous outdoor pool. Excellent service. Mini-fridge.
Cons: Foam pillows, no feather pillows. Loud air conditioning unit, constantly running even after raising temp. Paint peeling in shower. Small sink / dressing area. No microwave.
Other: Leftover room service dishes in hall on check-in, not removed until I mentioned them the next day. Morning coffee in lobby ran dry early 2 days out of 3. Bar closes early.
Just a few small details like that make a difference, especially at the price for this hotel. I could give it another try at the right price, but will likely look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for distance from the family suites; walls not completely sound proof.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurenWhite, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on our TripAdvisor site. I’m sorry to hear about the issues you experienced at our hotel. Our hotel sustains a lot of wear and tear during the summer month, but we make every effort to stay on top of it and ensure we provide a quality product to our customers. I do hope that you will give us a chance to serve you again if your travels ever bring you back to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We were to check in on sunday, august 28th but with hurricane Irene on her way we changed our arrival date to the 29th. We called the hotel directly and a very friendly gentleman changed our reservations without any problems, we also added a day since we were arriving a day later. We arrived around 3pm and our room was ready. I had requested a high floor and was given the top floor. The view was great, the room was clean and the staff was friendly. The lobby had two computers and a printer, Starbucks, restaurant with a bar, free coffee and a touch screen tv. The only room for improvement would be more storage space for our cosmetics. A shelf could fit under the sink area or even in the bathroom in the corner, there was plenty of room for a corner shelf. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tropicalfun101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurenWhite, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Thank you for taking the time out to write this review about our hotel. I am so glad that you were able to still come to stay with us despite Hurricane Irene. We look forward to being able to serve you again next time your travels bring you to Virginia Beach. If you need help booking your reservations please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We had an excellent experience at this hotel. We arrived before check in but the folks at the front desk gave us a parking pass, took our phone number and we began enjoying the resort right away! As soon as the room was available they called and let us know. Most importantly, the front desk staff showed a real sense of urgency to get us in our room asap.
The location is good--5-6 blocks from the very crowded part of the beach, but a short easy walk away. The beach was not too crowded and there was no problem finding a spot.

The room itself was fantastic. It was a suite and it was quite large, clean and very comfortable. The only issue we had was one of the TV’s was not working, but the maintenance man responded promptly and was friendly and courteous—replacing the TV and giving us a pass for breakfast for our trouble (first class move). The lobby has a new look about it and was very impressive.

The most impressive part of the hotel was the staff however. They all seem to really “care” and have a genuine commitment to making the guest stay as pleasant as possible. Special thanks to Kendra at the Front Desk for her helpfulness and dedication.

I will definitely stay here again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffc31783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurenWhite, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time out to write such a wonderful review. I will be sure to pass on the comments to Kendra. We here at the Courtyard by Marriott North all work very hard to go above and beyond our guest expectations. If your travels ever bring you back to Virginia Beach, please do not hesitate to contact me directly so that I can assist you with booking your next vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews