We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodating, clean, trendy, and suited for all travelers.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Accommodating, clean, trendy, and suited for all travelers.”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed at the Courtyard Memorial Day weekend. There were three of us, all in our 30s. The room was perfect - there was a king sized bed and a pull out couch. The view from the balcony was GORGEOUS. (Just be careful at night - the bugs like to follow you inside of your room if you leave the lights on.) There are two pools at this hotel, one inside, and one outside. The outside one is street-facing, but there is a waterfall that blocks both the noises and the sights of the street and traffic. There is also an outdoor pool bar, which is key! The girl who worked there while we were there was adorable - she drives in from NC every day and is still bubbly and friendly. Check-in was easy, and a porter even helped with our bags. The hotel is clean, contemporary, and comfortable, and the staff was amazing.

If you are trying to choose where to stay in VA Beach (as this whole "North Beach" is new-ish), families and hardcore partiers (or people who like noise) should stay in the lower numbered streets, in my opinion. If you're looking for a trendy, big city, big highrise vibe, stay in the higher numbered streets. It's pricier, and classier, but a far(-ish) walk from the "block."

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ihearteurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNorth, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you so much for all the wonderful words about our hotel. Our goal is to make every stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible and we are very glad that we succeeded in making yours just that. We look forward to your next visit and if you need any assistance in planning your trip please do not hesitate to contact us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    253
    93
    41
    23
See reviews for
345
156
26
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac Falls, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

The staff at the Courtyard were very friendly. The hotel has been recently remodeled, and the rooms were very nice. All rooms are oceanfront. There is a great outdoor pool and pool area with a slide and play area for children, along with a bar area. The rooms are very quiet, which seems to be rare at hotels these days. Would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kkkb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNorth, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words. We strive to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. We would love to have you back, so if you need any assistance with your next trip to the area please do not hesistate to contact us here at the Courtyard Marriott Oceanfront North!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2011

The pool was closed all week, most of the reason I rented this hotel. I've stayed next door and always thought their pool was wicked nice. We get there and its closed. The whole entire week. Waste of money. Could have stayed elsewhere for the price. And housekeeping didn't lock our door. Anyone could have walked in and stole our stuff and "their not responsible for any stolen items. Will not stay there again. Staff was friendly and the hotel was nice. But def not worth the money when I could get the same service elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racer3213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNorth, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Thank you for your kind words about our staff and the hotel. I am very sorry that the pool was not open for the season while you stayed with us and for the issues you experienced with your room. This is not the standard that we hold ourselves to. Our pool is opened from Memorial Day weekend until Labor Day Weekend and we hope that you get a chance to come back and visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2011

I stayed for a quick overnight during the weekend and found the outdoor pool freezeing. No one seemed to care? Resturant line was so long we went somewhere else. This is a Marriott?? The guy that parked my car I was insure of so I parked it myself

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNorth, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
First and foremost thank you for staying with us while you were here visiting Virginia Beach and thank you for posting your review. The pool has officially opened as of Memorial Day weekend. I can see how you found the outdoor pool chilly as it is not heated. A couple weeks of beautiful Virginia Beach Summer weather will surely help to warm the water. If you are back in the area please consider coming back to the Courtyard Marriott Oceanfront North.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed there recently and we reserved the King room with the whirlpool. For his business trip we wanted something nice, but that is not what we got. When we first got there the lobby was nice looking and remodeled, but our room was dirty. There was a layer of scum on the whirlpool that looked like it had some time to build up. I called down to the front desk and they did have someone come up and clean the tub, but it was very uncomfortable watching two people clean a tub. In the bathroom, the fabric curtain had a horrible case of black mold. The bed was extremely uncomfortable because it was as hard as a rock, and the pillows were miniature pillows that went flat. They also had a decorative throw on the bed that had a stain on it. This place for the price is not worth it and I recommend NOT staying there. After I told the front desk about everything they just played it off like it was not a big deal. We have stayed at other hotels on the VA beach strip and they were not this bad.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLatif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNorth, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
Dear HLatif,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I apologize if your stay was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. It is feedback such as yours that assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. Please know that your comments and issues will be addressed. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. If your travels happen to bring you back to the Virginia Beach area please feel free to contact the property directly so that we can make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Beautiful views of the ocean and nice front desk staff. Rooms appeared to be of the newer Courtyard decor. However, the rooms are not kept up to cleanliness standards of other Marriotts.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greatday099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurenWhite, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed the views of the ocean while you were here at our property. I greatly appreciate your kind comments about our front desk staff. We all work very hard to do everything that we can to make your stay here with us enjoyable. I would like to appologize that you did not find the room cleanliness up to Marriott standards. If you are ever in the area again, we would love to have the chance for you to stay with us so we can make sure that you have an extra special stay here at the Courtyard by Marriott North Oceanfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Our wedding party made up of family and friends along with my husband and myself stayed at the hotel on March 4th--6th and it was absolutely wonderful....the best experience at a hotel with a large group we have ever had. Everyone on duty while we were there was absolutely wonderful....very friendly and so accommodating. All by name that I recall that was super friendly and helpful during our pre-planning and our stay include Ashley Hanger, Chris N., Nikki, Kristen W., Sam, and Todd. The hotel was also very clean and the breakfas wast delicious!
Thanks so much!
Nan Beck

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
819 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Residence Inn by Marriott Virgin...
#30 of 109 in Virginia Beach
630 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street

Property: Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Address: 3737 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / n 37th St Hotel Virginia Beach
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Virginia Beach Marriott
Virginia Beach Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing