We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff, service and ambiance.”

Havana Nights Jazz and Cigar Club
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Market Street
Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, service and ambiance.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I surprised my fiancé with drinks and dinner here on a Wednesday evening. We came in at happy hour and were escorted to the bar. As they made our drinks they explained how they do things different with certain drinks. The mojito AND margaritas were excellent. We then moved to the dining room and enjoyed dinner. I would not say the food is authentic Cuban but it was still delicious. We were later invited to the private cigar lounge and enjoyed a cigar. The owner also took his time to give us a tour and was very personal. No complaints!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

After we met the owner at a food event a few weeks ago, we decided to stop in for the first time for lunch. The lunch menu is small but there were two additional specials.The wine list is a good size, the decor is lovely and our waiter was very friendly and attentive. Since it was our first time in he took the time to tell us abou the jazz club schedules. We have decided to go back for dinner and some jazz in the near future. This place is a great addition to Town Center.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelgal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming, intimate and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Our first meal will not be the last in this jewel of a restaurant! From the cool iPad wine list and menu to the personal attention to detail of the owner, knowlegable wait staff and of course the fresh and expertly prepared dishes--the visit was a completely satisfying experience.
We heard great things about the Jazz Club and want to make this our next evening out.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“not the lunch I was looking for”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Wanted to try this place after seeing it being built. The food choices were limited, the quality of food was low and the price was high. A shrimp po boy sandwich and salad ran $18.00 My salad included the yellow portions of the head of iceberg lettuce. The shrimp po boy I ordered had 6 shrimp tops on the whole sandwich. I will not be returning to this place. It is billed as a Cuban place but nothing on the menu other than the cuban sandwich was remotely close to authentic.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tbajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Friendship, Maryland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not so Cuban”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

I stay in the town center area often. Last night as I was walking around I noticed Havana nights. I walked up to look at the menu and was greeted by a man that wanted to show me around. He was one of the owners and very friendly. He took me in the dining room which was very nice and then into the jazz club also very cozy. The light menus were a very nice touch. Since I was looking for carry out I did not want to sit but he was very insistent that I could sit at the bar and order. So I sat and ordered to stay at the bar. The bartender was very friendly and attentive. I ordered the Cuban sandwich and congri. The place has technology ever where iPads for drink list and itouchs for the waiters very cool. The band was warming up tuning there instruments and sounded great. My food came out quick, the cubano sandwich was ok but the meat seemed processed not like the sandwichs I am used to where the ham is more natural and pork was flavorless relying on the spicy mustard for flavor. The congri was warm at best and lacked any flavor. I was hoping for better since I stay in the area often!

Helpful?
Thank Adrew13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Nights Jazz and Cigar Club also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing