We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Time Near the Beach”

Leaping Lizard Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Leaping Lizard Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 1,435 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Leaping Lizard Cafe happily serves Lunch each day; Dinner Tuesday-Saturday (from 5:00pm-8:30pm) and Brunch both Saturday & Sunday. We were featured on the Food Networks "Diners Drive-Ins and Dives", our quaint cafe location is a popular restaurant for many. Wonderful menu items are prepared daily using locally grown produce and fresh seafood. The Leaping Lizard Cafe concept is Simple. We have created a menu with heavy emphasis on fresh ingredients from the Local farms of tidal Virginia, and stock our kitchen with local fruits, vegetables & seafood from our very own produce market. Specialties include homemade sweet potato biscuits with local Edwards Surry ham & peach jam; Our famous Chicken Salad Sandwich with Peach Chutney and Homemade Soups. We have scrumptious daily specials based on what is in season. Both indoor and outdoor seating areas are available for a casual and enjoyable dining experience. We bake all of our delicious homemade breads, biscuits, cookies and desserts on property daily! Our services also include both on and off-site catering from small private gatherings to receptions of up to 500 people. Catered functions have included: Weddings; Birthday parties; Fundraisers; Holiday parties; Oyster Roasts etc.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
509 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Fun Time Near the Beach”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We weren't quite sure what to expect since some of the reviews were less than wonderful. But we loved the outside seating on a warm day, the delicious crab cake (very little filler), and the equally good luncheon snapper. Also, the Sweet Patato Biscuts were great. When we are at Virginia Beach, we will put this on our list of places to go. It is within a few miles of First Landing State Park and Fort Story. The property has a number of trees on it, not at all like most diners/dives. And since it is garden season, a local produce shop is located on the property.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    53
    19
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, VA
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Something a Little Different --- Excellent”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The Leaping Lizard Café is a funky little operation set, along with an accessories/antiques shop, in several small buildings. It is quite popular with the ladies’ lunch set, and can get pretty crowded. Lunch hours are 11:30-3:00 so get there either early or late. The food is served in lunch-sized portions, and is excellent. We had the tenderloin topped with gorgonzola and served with asparagus, a fresh salad and a slice of watermelon. Chocolate ganache dessert was great as well. We were there early (11:30) and the place was just filling up so that after we were seated a line began to form. The space is tight, close and noisy --- but pleasantly café-like. Service was quick and efficient. Overall value was very good --- average lunch prices with excellent food and service. A nice choice from Diners Drive-ins and Dives.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RouteRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va beach
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Love leaping lizard”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Fresh, tasty food. Eating inside can be noisy, try to get a table outside and enjoy. Gift shop next store has unusual items. Seasonal fruit and veggie market out back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VabeachSuzsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow Hill
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Went here for lunch when my husband & I planned a weekend to Va. visiting some "Diners, Drive-ins & Dives" locations. We ended up sitting outside at this quaint cafe because the inside was packed. We visited in February, there were heaters outside, which made the the porch quite comfortable. I had the butternut squash/red pepper puree soup and a sweet potato biscuit with surry ham/peach jam, which was very good. It also came with salad and apple pieces on the plate. The food was fresh, service was excellent. I would recommend eating here. Nice little gift too, stocked with uniique gifts. You can also find them on Facebook.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provence
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice change from the chains”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Late lunch (they serve til 3pm)

Soup of the day was a spicy concoction, and was followed by: sweet potato biscuit with Surry ham, or Mediterranean taste platter. The ham & biscuit were tasty and filling. The platter was rather like a plate of Spanish tapas or perhaps mezze, with such things as humus, black olive paste, etc. It was very acceptable. One of us had quinoa and chicken salad with lots of fresh herbs etc.

All dishes came with a slice of water-melon.

Good that our waitress pointed out that for 1 dollar more we could have a full bottle of wine rather than three glasses.

The carrot cake afterwards (home-made) was delicious.

We are reliably informed that it is a favourite venue for ladies who lunch! Service was informal and very pleasant. The place has a slighlly 'alternative' feel about it, perhaps more West Coast than East. A little out of the ordinary. Try it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leaping Lizard Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Leaping Lizard Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing