We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunnyside Cafe & Restaurant

Sunnyside Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 1,406 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An American cuisine restaurant serving all fresh to order breakfast and lunch menu items. We serve: Fluffy Buttermilk Pancakes, Golden Brown Belgian Waffles, French Toast, Fluffy 3-Egg Omelets, Gluten free, sugar free and other health minded menu items, Fresh Fruit, Wraps, Panini, & Traditional Sandwiches, Fresh Garden Salads, Specialty Coffee drinks, Beer, Wine and Cocktails.
Westminster, MD
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Always great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I come here every morning while in Va. Beach. Super breakfasts, whether you want a light start to your day with yogurt and fruit or bacon, eggs and pancakes or waffles. This is the place. Also serves lunch. Freindly and fast wait staff.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ljewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    145
    37
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrific Breakfast place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Weekend getaway to Va Beach and must say that Sunnyside Cafe & Restaurant was new for us--and what a nice place to try!! Friendly and great service...the menu is awesome! We both got Sirloin Tips Omelets (tender, tasty sirloin) with home fries/ order of pancakes and the meal was simply scrumptious!! Very reasonable prices. Sure would love to go again when we get back to the area. If you go to the beach you would not want to miss eating here at least 1 time during your stay! So many choices at the beach and this one is tops! nicely decorated inside and very clean; also very clean in the ladies' room.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank boogaloo94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Britain, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This restaurant is wonderful! There are so many choices for breakfast meals here. I decided to try the cinnamon raisin french toast. It was perfect! It is like most breakfast places seating-wise, you are very close to the other guests. Service was good. I will definitely be going back next time we are in the area!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank courtneyd14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great way to end our vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

After an awesome week in VA Beach, I decided to take the family here for breakfast before we left and we could not have been any happier. This place was great. The server treated us great and she kept talking to our grandaughter and making her smile. The food was AWESOME! That was one of the best omelets I've ever had. Everything was fresh and they are one of the few places I've ever had seeded rye toast. Love it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PARich57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
132 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“AWESOME for Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

2013 is the third season for this relatively new restaurant....Sunnyside is the "sister" restaurant to Pocahantas on the North End - however, this gem rarely has a line or wait and offers a similar menu including the fantastic pancakes. The staff here is very very friendly and inside and outdoor seating are available. Prices are very reasonable making cooking breakfast unecessary. They are open until 2pm so in addition to breakfast they also serve great lunch items such as burgers and wraps. Also have morning alcoholic drink specials - the Italian Morning mimosa is fabulous !!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ViaggiatoriSicilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunnyside Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sunnyside Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing