We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we've stayed at in VA beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Ranked #79 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed June 15, 2007

What a gem! For the price, there is no equal. All rooms are oceanfront or semi-oceanfront. All have balconies. The service is freakin fantastic.. front desk peoples are always happy to help. Even the housekeepers are friendly! Elevators are plenty.. its a small hotel, yet there are 4! Of course, our favorite part is the indoor pool. Its across the street and goes to 8' deep! While this is bad for the kids, its great for those who don't LIKE all the kids! Woohoo! There's an outdoor pool in the middle of the horseshoe, but we've never gone into it (although the duck seemed to enjoy it). Continental breakfast was OK.. typical, nothing special but nothing terrible (fruit was actually fresh!). There were some downsides.. the rooms are nothing special and some wallpaper/trimming is a little falling apart. Biggest annoyance was the door.. it doesn't close all the way on its own. However, the room definitely has the most well rounded package as compared to all the others we've stayed at in VA beach. This is our second stay here, won't be the last!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SpliceVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 511 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2007

The Quality Inn oceanfront on 7th Street (formerly a Hilton) has seen its better days. I stayed at this property several times during the 1980s and 1990s and a few times in the past 5 years, but it is in steep decline. It is old, worn and dirty. The rooms are not clean, are very small and the bathroom showed "signs" of prior visitors. No thanks.

There is no room for a business worker. Wi-Fi is provided, but lacking a wireless card to use this feature without installing a CD of 3rd party software.

The included continental breakfast included the basics, but nothing very appealing.

I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rodndtube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2007

Maybe it was because it was the off-season but our stay at the Quality Inn was anything but pleasant. Upon arriving there was no heat in our hotel room and after waiting an hour for the heater to "warm up" as directed by the front desk, getting the OK from maintenance that it was indeed a functioning heater and it would warm up eventually, we decided to take a break from sitting around in a freezing room and try to find a warm spot to have dinner (murphy's irish pub provides such a place, great atmosphere and wonderful open fire). We returned several hours later only to find that the room was still very cold - when extra blankets were requested from the front desk - we were told that it would take a "looong time" as housekeeping had left for the day. In a hotel during the off-season, that certainly wasn't fully occupied, it seemed pretty ridiculous that there might be a problem finding a few extra blankets. We were assured it was a problem by the lackluster, rude night manager (could it be that others were complaining of no heat???). While blankets were delivered later on - it did little to assuage the below freezing temperatures outside and in.

While it was warmer in the dining room the next morning - we headed there for the complimentary breakfast after complaining AGAIN about the temperature in the room - the breakfast was mediocre at best. Re-heatable french toast, bagels, mini-muffins, hard-boiled eggs, cereals and yogurt made the spread. Fairly standard, not very appetizing, but sufficient I guess.

If I were to return to VA beach I certainly wouldn't choose to stay at this hotel again. The personnel were unfriendly, the non-smoking room smelled like someone had been smoking 2 packs a day in it for the last decade, the rooms are as lackluster as the night manager, although the housekeeping staff (that we met the next day) are very pleasant.

Basically, you can do better. The Turtle Cays condos across the street looked lovely!!

Stayed: February 2007
5  Thank youraveragejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2006

We had a very nice vacation here. The room was clean. Hotels on the beach definitely take a beating from guests, but it was fine. Overall, the staff was very nice. The employee that served the snacks at the pool was always friendly! The maids and front desk staff were also helpful.

The ocean view was fantastic and we really liked the location. It's a great place for a family and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank msfitz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2006

For the price this was a nice hotle. It was clean, great view of the beach and really good restaurants within walking distance.

Stayed: September 2006
5  Thank Teryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2006

Stayed at Quality Inn and Suites August 25-28, 2006 for the Soul Music Festival, Hotel was nice and clean excellent view. Only one bad mark the restaurant's women's bathroom was filthy with standing water in the sink, that's the only complaint. Everything else was great. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Kimmyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2006

I was not pleased with the hotel staff. The ladies at the front desk were very rude to me and my boyfriend. We needed a late check out due to an apoointment we had. Two of the front desk staff told us we would not be allowed to check out late. In the morning when we checked out and had our car loaded, an older couple asked the same lady who told us no for a late check out. She gave them a late check out. They were able to stay 2 extra hours, exactly what we requested. Of course we weren't going to check back in and then later check out so after our appointment, we had to shower in the bathroom across the street. This bathroom (in the indoor pool facility) was disgusting. Not well kept at all.
We are a younger couple so the front desk just didn't pay any attention to us and acted as if we were just two young kids. The actual hotel was nice, right on the beach, nice big pool, but the service we had there was horrible. We will be trying a different hotel next time we vacation there!!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OSUarts09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
616 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
417 reviews
12.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#40 of 109 in Virginia Beach
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#26 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront

Address: 705 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $91 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Oceanfront
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Quality Inn
Oceanfront Hotel Va Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing