We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice rooms and friendly staff!!”
Review of Turtle Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Turtle Cay Resort
Ranked #56 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very nice rooms and friendly staff!!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My boyfriend and i spent 4 nights here the week before thanksgiving and loved it! I booked online for a very affordable price for the room we got! We got the king sized suite that was very spacious and had great views. The resort is not directly on the ocean but it is right across the street so the room we had on Atlantic had a partial view of the water. The balcony however overlooked the pool area which i loved. The pools are beautiful and the hot tubs looked amazing, however we did not get use of them.They did inform me at check-in if i wanted to use an indoor pool you can walk across the street to beach quarters. Parking wasn't an issue. The room itself had a king sized bed, jetted tub, stand up glass shower, huge kitchen and a nice sized living room with a pull out couch and dining table. Also the room had a gas fireplace which was so amazing. We got a lot of use out of the fireplace and huge tub! The staff from check in to check out were really friendly and helpful. I would and plan on coming back preferably in the summer time to use the pools!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cristina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    117
    58
    54
    32
See reviews for
159
99
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Booked Turtle Cay in April 2012 then read reviews in May.....silly huh! Wasn't concerned with 'negative' reviews, I like to give places a chance. Then in August of 2012 there was so much hype in our area about Bed Bugs I panicked & freaked about staying at TC due to 1 bad review. I called management prior to our stay & they were MORE THAN ACCOMODATING of my fear & concern. Lynette the Resort Manager, Crystal the Front Office Manager, & Billy from Enginerring could not have been more understanding of my fear. When we arrived, EARLY mind you, we were escorted to our room by Crystal & Billy & they waited while I 'inspected' the cleanlieness, etc. of the room. Mind you I am neurotic when it comes to cleanlieness & I didn't even need to use my own Clorox Cleanup on this room! IT WAS SPOTLESS & NO BED BUGS! In fact......NO BUGS AT ALL the whole week! Now, as for the room......We were on the 3rd floor with a balcony overlooking the courtyard! We had a king bed with a huge bathroom & a powder room at the front entrance. Kitchen had what would be needed for cooking etc., although we did not cook, we had a washer & dryer, flat screen tv in living room & bedroom & a fireplace. Bathroom was stocked with all toiletries needed & kitchen with dish soap & dishwashing liquid as well. We had new furniture also! We LOVED our room! Of course we were there in the beginning of October, so not much noise! We loved the pool/hot tub area. Both were warm enough for the weather/time of year! This was our 3rd time in Va. Beach & our 1st time at TC & we would DEFINITELY stay at TC again:-)

Room Tip: 3rd floor overlooking courtyard/pool is obviously the best location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

The folks at the front desk are very helpful and pleasant. We had a 3 rd floor unit which was bright because of a skylight other units don't have them. When you enter the unit it is through the bedroom which is weird. Recommend a unit on side street or Atlantic Avenue since you can hear the traffic from the bedroom. Poor design to enter the bedroom and have it next to a high use Street.

Never had enough hot water for two to bath/shower. Had it checked by maintenance with same result.

Outdoor pool only in cool weather an indoor pool is needed.

This is an ok place to stay but misses the little perks that make a stay great. All the other places we stay (many) once a week they refresh your unit, change sheets, clean bathroom add supplies etc. Not so here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salem521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great location near good resturants and of course the beach and activities around Va Beach... check out Sandbridge for relaxing easy access beaching... Trutle Cay is great, second trip for us.... super clean, new furniture with more upgrades in the works. highly recommend, especially in Sept/Oct.. no families!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We arrived to the property with a messed up reservation, thank to our timeshare company. The front desk staff corrected it right away and upgraded our room for free. The property is very clean and while we are here the staff has been replacing the bar stools and winged chairs in the room, very nice.
The pool area is clean and nice and warm. Considering it rained half the week we have been here, it was nice to be able to still enjoy the heated pool in mid-October.
The room was stocked with what you need to cook inside the room. I would recommend a non stick skillet other than that it was great.
Great location, coffee shop, great restaurants and souvenir shops within a short walk.
Loved our time here and will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trish d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantsville, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Terrific room, great security, loved the whole place, close to the beach, slight view of ocean, able to walk every where. Second stay with a bigger room, can't wait to stay again. secure pool area had to use room key to enter pool area. Loved the 2 hot tubs. Water in pool was chili but last time it was perfect. Room had two bedrooms plus the living area and kitchen along with laundry. Stayed in and cooked the meals other than pizza from Planet Pizza we love their food. Was nice to be able to wash your clothes and not have to pack a bunch to take along or have all that to do when you got home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jeannie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We traded our Florida timeshare. Wanted to go to Va Bch earlier in summer but felt lucky to grab Labor Day week. Drove from southern IN. This was our favorite vac area when our girls were young; first came in late 1960's and sporadically ever since. One daughter and friend joined us here for few days and they were thrilled with location and accomodations (on pullout sofa bed.) We have always stayed at this south end of beach.
Had one bd/1bath on 2nd floor. Entry thru bedroom. Balcony w/table 4 chairs facing pool area. Washer/dryer a big plus! (Buy or bring your own detergent.) Furn and decor pleasing enough, nothing special. Comfortable bed. One closet with 10 hangers in bdroom but lots of drawer space in 2 rooms. Big flat TV in lvroom, smaller same in bdrm.Full size refrig stove microwave coffeemaker etc. They seem a bit mercenary; only 1 set bath amenties, small bars soap, 1 coffee pack, 2 dishwasher tabs, small dish liquid. Signs all over that if you wanted more, pay for at desk. $35 for full maid service, $25 for midweek clean, $10 for daily trash pickup and clean towels (first time have encountered the latter). We opted to do without, laundered our own towels. This was for exchangers, don't know if they chg renters. Heard them quote $399 for labor day weekend night. Only allowed 1 free vehicle park space; our guests got parking permit but had to pay $7 and park in open lot nearby.
No ocean view because of building across street but very short walk to beach. Only maint was malfunction of in-closet safe, fixed very promptly and courteously. Not much contact with personnel and did not take part in fun and games but friendly enough and no problems. Dau signed us up for "free" meal and timeshare spiel which we cancelled and lady did not take it well.
A newby renter at poolside told us they were considering buying for $15,000. I told her our experience with timesharing and gave her some tips where to research before buying.
Perfect weather all week. Reasonably uncrowded after weekend. Great vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#74 of 109 in Virginia Beach
752 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#61 of 109 in Virginia Beach
297 reviews
2.0 mi away
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
#42 of 109 in Virginia Beach
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,015 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#45 of 109 in Virginia Beach
412 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Cay Resort

Property: Turtle Cay Resort
Address: 600 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Turtle Cay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back, relax and enjoy a suite that feels more like home than it does a hotel room. Each of Turtle Cay's suites features thoughtful touches such as high ceilings, oversized bathrooms with jetted tubs, and a cozy gas fireplace. In addition to comfortable, home-like accommodations and amenities, our suites include extended-stay necessities like well-equipped kitchens and kitchenettes, washer and dryers in suites, and complimentary coffee and tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Turtle Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Cay Hotel Virginia Beach
Turtle Cay Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Turtle Cay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing