We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel staff very accommodating, beautiful view, great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #76 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed here recently for 4 nights with my boyfriend as we had just moved out of our apartment on Shore Drive in preparation for his deployment. The hotel staff was very accommodating throughout the length of our stay and were always enjoyable to interact with. The hotel itself feels a bit dated, the furniture and room amenities (like TVs) need to be updated, but everything worked and the room was clean and well-maintained. On weekend nights, we did experience the noise issue from loud guests in the hallways throughout the night. The location is perfect for zipping around to all of the great spots Shore Drive has to offer. Sitting outside at the Tradewinds restaurant or on your balcony overlooking the water can't be beat for a nice relaxing time to share with your loved ones. Having a suite that has two distinct spaces (sleeping and living) with a microwave and minifridge was very convenient, especially when staying for more than a night or two. Overall, I found the hotel staff's accommodating attitudes in addition to the beautiful view and clean rooms to far outweigh the negatives such as hallway noise at night or outdated furniture. The hotel offered us a great environment to spend our last few days together and I am truly appreciative of that. We will certainly return if we need a place to stay again when he gets back!

Room Tip: If at all possible, I would definitely try to get a room either directly facing the water or the clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thanks for choosing our resort as your departing location prior to deployment. We were happy to have you both stay with us and appreciate the kind words about our facility and staff. We’d love to have you visit us again when you return back into the area for some much needed “R&R”. Please thank your boyfriend for his courage and commitment to our country and we wish him a well. We hope you will stay connected with us: Facebook.com/vbresorthotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,095)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

As a returning guest, I had hopes that the second time would be nice. The rooms are clean, maybe a little dated. We were under the impression that we would have a water view, but the first rooms we were given had a view of the parking lot. Second set, you could see a tiny bit of the water from the edge of the balcony.
This hotel is great since it is off the main part of Virginia Beach and it is close to two restaurant gems, the Lynnhaven Fish House and 1 Fish 2 Fish. The beach is beautiful and the pool was entertaining for the little one.
The noise during regular sleeping hours though is ridiculous, There are signs posted in the elevator indicating that noise levels should be kept to a minimum. What a joke! The first night, I had to call and complain about the noise on the parking deck. Not sure if it was handled properly or if the booming bass car owners and their friends decided to call it a night. The second night was completely out of control. A party must have been taking place on the floor where we were staying since guests (?) ran up and down the halls yelling, screaming, slamming doors the entire night until at least 0430. Completely ridiculous. Maybe parties should be housed on the same floors as they don't seem to mind bothering each other. I think that I slept no more than 2 hours.
The Tradewinds restaurant is a sad excuse for a restaurant - at least the front of the house is. The food was good but the servers were not trained, the managers sat around as we observed dirty tables throughout the restaurant. We requested a table outside on more than one occasion and were told every time that there was no availability, even though there were at least 4 empty tables, of course all were dirty. We came in to have drinks around 8 and were told that they would only sit people who were going to be DINING at window seats.
Overall, we were extremely disappointed with our stay. Next time, even if we have to be closer to the mayhem of the oceanfront, it has to be a better alternative. At least we might have a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Find out if there are parties staying on your floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OwlandOwlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

We’re sorry to hear that your recent visit with us was not more enjoyable. We value guest feedback and will be sure to discuss both the noise occurrence and your dining experience with our support team. Thank you for staying with us and for the insight from your visit. We hope you had an enjoyable time in the Virginia Beach area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I had the privilege of staying here for the second year in a row for a conference. Although the hotel is a little dated I was delighted to see the renovations taking place. I only hope I get the opportunity to go back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCSmith124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

The privilege was all ours! Thanks so much for both the perfect review score and for staying with us recently. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable time here on the Chesapeake Bay and hope your conference went well. Please come visit us again and follow us at:Facebook.com/vbresorthotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I attended a conference at the hotel and stayed 4 nights. I have stayed here several times and was pleased to be in the same room I was in last year. They had cleaned the stains on the couch and carpet. I love having a frig and microwave in the room and a sofa and table. The pool was nice and the food in the restaurant was tasty. Staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the view from my room.....the OCEAN!!! I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie_Collier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thanks for staying with us again Debbie and we do appreciate the nice comments about our bay front resort. We’re glad that you had a great time during your 4-night stay with us and look forward to seeing you back again next time! Please stay in touch with us via Facebook.com/vbresorthotel if you aren’t already.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Got a notice water would be shut off the night before I left from 11p-4am (no problem, I am sleeping). Unfortunately woke to brown, then black water (ok just flushing the pipes after maintenance).... But no hot/warm water available prior to checking out. Six hour flight home with out a shower.

They boast about their Starbucks in the hotel.... It was closed both days I was there. And in all actuality it is a barista stand that serves starbucks brand coffee. It i not a "Starbucks".

Refrigerator/freezer was broken, or thawing? Door was open, towels in refrigerator and on floor to catch the dripping.

The pool is so so.

The view/beach is amazing.

The restaurant is barely staffed. Food was Ok.

Upon check out the manager tried to comp us a 2 night stay for free for our next visit? 1- we are from seattle and probably won't make it back here. 2- why would I come back here when the Hampton Inn down the road has military/government discount, is half the price, and thousands times nicer?

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and we are so sorry to read that your experience with us was less than perfect. Our apology for not having warm water on the morning of your departure as that was an unexpected outcome from our maintenance on the system. We hope that you did enjoy your time spent in the Virginia Beach area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We got a very good rate, with a wedding party. I'm sorry the place had 8 weddings to deal with, but how is that my problem? Check in was bad in that they had maybe 3 luggage carts total and no available bellmen, yet everyone checking in had gowns, and lots and lots of stuff. We managed. When we got back from our wedding Sat night, we were met in the lot by an attendant who said, "Sorry, there is no where for you to park, we have 6 events going on, you can park across the street in the Kroger." Perhaps the people who weren't staying at the hotel could have been valet parked so that hotel guests could park? On Monday we ate at the hotel restaurant Tradewinds. The boy who seated us said, no we couldn't eat outside, it was very dirty, yet nearly every table in the dining room had not been cleared either, so what difference did it make, but we were made to sit inside. The waiter was less than thrilled to have us. We had the buffet and I will say, the price was really great and the food average, but at least it was super cheap. Our room was nice and big, we had a side view at least, so we could see some of the bay, we enjoyed the balcony. We had our make up room sign out all day Saturday but no one ever came in. The plumbing system seems to be on it's last legs, the bride had no hot water, and our toilet had issues but it hung on. This is a great location if you like being off the strip but I think it needs some TLC and a more aggressive management. That's great that there were 8 weddings there, but I think more planning could have really helped.

Room Tip: Ask for bay front, not bay view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sisterwifeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

We hope you had an enjoyable time with friends and family during the recent wedding festivities you attended here at the hotel. Our resort, because of its size and beautiful views of the Chesapeake Bay, is quite popular for social events. Our apology for the parking inconvenience upon return back to the hotel. Parking is normally available all the time yet we are sorry that the busy weekend affected your visit. We would love for you to come back and visit again if plans bring you back into the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for a week in April. Our rooms were clean and spacious and the staff were very nice. The location is lovely with it being right on the beach, really nice for coffee in the morning! A special thank you to the young lady in the Starbucks there who made the best lattes!

The restaurant there was great with good food, but the hotel is also conveniently located near a grocery store across the street and nice restaurants close by should you want to check out other places to eat.

I would recommend this hotel - we had a great time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IheartCubaSimcoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Your perfect score is truly appreciated and we are happy to see that you enjoyed yourself at our resort on the bay! We have some of the best views on the Chesapeake Bay making it relaxing to enjoy either your morning coffee or the stunning sunsets in the evening. Our Tradewinds Restaurant does offer some delicious food options for our guests as well as another bird’s-eye-view of the bay. We hope to see you back again and do hope you’ll stay in touch via Facebook.com/vbresorthotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
7.5 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,111 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
640 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#18 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#51 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3,023 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,061 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#68 of 109 in Virginia Beach
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2800 Shore Dr, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-1327
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $92 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Cente offers a secluded beach for guest use only, plus a year-round indoor pool, seasonal outdoor pool, spa tub, fitness center, and complimentary tennis at the Virginia Beach Tennis Club. THere is a Restaurant and Lounge offering wonderful food selections.This ALL SUITES Resort guestrooms have balconies with a view of the beach and bay, plus a separate living area with sofa bed. Suites include 2 TVs, and kitchenettes include microwaves, refrigerators, and coffeemakers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hotel
Virginia Beach Resort Conference Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing