We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal spot to relax and enjoy your time off.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #68 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Fairmont, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal spot to relax and enjoy your time off.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

We chose this hotel at the recomendation of a friend and were so glad we did. We enjoyed it so much we didn't even care if we checked out other sights in the area and there are many places available if that is your calling. The rooms were lovely and the view from the balcony beautiful and everchanging. Being situated directly on the beach made it great for walking as well as boat watching. The hotel restaurant was excellent and the people friendly. The rooms modern and spacious. We would hight recommend this place to all.

Room Tip: Boat watching is better from higher floors. Corner rooms are best but the view is great regardless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    189
    150
    124
    148
See reviews for
375
166
31
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

We came down in late Sept for a wedding, which we were looking forward to, but upon arrival, discovered another wedding going on. Seems like this place churns them out, which wouldn't be to my taste, but probably suited the couple whose wedding we were attending (daughter of a friend of ours). Unfortunately, the weather was horrible (very rainy), but nothing to do with the hotel!

Room was nice, though I thought it seemed strange that the beds located as soon as you walked in the door, rather than by the balcony. We had a partial view of the beach, which I loved. Unfortunately, due to the bedroom being by the door/hallway, it didn't allow for a good night's sleep at all, and so we were very tired the following morning.

Overnight rates were reasonable, but we got the AARP discount, and the location was wonderful - the bride & groom were able to get their wedding on the beach in the end, as luckily for them, the rain stopped, and the sun broke out just in time for an evening sunset wedding (was envious!).....

Not sure I would stay there again though due to the rowdiness of the other guests roaming the hallways (who knows which of the many weddings they were at - I think there was at least 5 on that same night we stayed there!).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmachale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

Rooms are clean and very decent but a little dated. All of the kitchen appliances worked. Was disappointed that there was no breakfast, free or otherwise. Also Wifi was (sit down for this) $9.95 a day! Staff was nice enough. Could park in a garage which meant no frost. That was nice. We were off season and there were several of us so we were upgraded to the Bay side rooms which offered a great view. On week two I got a corner room which was bigger and offered a Bay side (East) and North view which was really nice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fasteddie1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

I am a local VB resident and stayed here for one night while my condo was undergoing some renovations. The location of the hotel was convenient for me as it is within walking distance of my home. For an out of town guest, the hotel is located directly across the street from a grocery store and pharmacy and there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The Cape Henry Bike Trail is easily accessible across the street. If you prefer the tourist traps, then don't stay here. This is the bay. Its much calmer and quieter and more of a locals area. In my opinion, the rate of $95 ($87 if you're a AAA member) was reasonable considering I did have a view of the bay. I've paid much more for other hotels with lesser views. I cannot speak to the restaurant, pool, hot tub or fitness room as I didn't use them. I agree with the others that the rooms and the hotel could use an update. But, for my experience, my room was clean and the staff was courteous. If you like a firm bed, this is the place to stay. The pillows were really small compared to what I've experienced at other hotels. They were also very firm. I read some other reviews that felt the layout of the bed being by the door and the "living room" by the patio was odd. The idea is that if you're asleep, you aren't enjoying the view so better to have the living room by the windows. But, it would be nice to be able to wake up and see the water first thing in the morning and to fall asleep to the sound of the water against the shore. Keep in mind, the walls are super thin and the sound of whatever you're saying or doing in your room travels!!! They do not have free wifi in the room but its only $9.99 per night. Overall, I can't complain. The room was clean, the view was nice and the rate was really reasonable. I'd stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcsummer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

I was very impressed by this hotel. I travel a lot for work and I have to admit that I was very happy with everything. From the moment I walked in to the moment of walking out. The staff is very professional and polite. The rooms are clean and might I add HUGE. I felt very spoiled staying at this hotel. With all rooms being suites and all have balconies I felt like I was on vacation while having to work at the same time. My only complaint was that they don't have free internet. I will however absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed here recently for a tennis tournament. The hotel does have some amenities, including an in-house restaurant, indoor pool and gym, and hotel gift shop. However, don't get your hopes up on anything special here.

The room was adequate, if not oddly arranged. The bedroom was in the front of the suite with sofa, kitchenette, and TV in the back room. The bed and linens were typical of an average roadside motel to me and with the bed immediately by the front door of your room, sleeping was hard as I could here every hallway conversation that went past my room.

The kitchenette was nice but the furniture in the 'living room' is definite dorm style and my window overlooked a parking lot.

I did use the hotel hot tub, which was nice and received some nice service in the gift shop. Restaurant looked like it might be good but did not eat there. Hot Tuna across the street was fantastic though.

Overall, despite the glorious name of this property, overall just very average and unremarkable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjohns7861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

My husband and I love to stay at the Virginia Beach Resort Hotel & Conference Center. The accommodations are top notch and the service is always with smile. The view from our penthouse suite is "amazing". You must go to the TradeWinds Restaurant while staying here. The view and food is something that you won't forget and will tell your family and friends about this "best kept secret" of Virginia Beach. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToiaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
5.1 mi away
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#51 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,709 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#74 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
7.5 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 2800 Shore Dr, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-1327
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Cente offers a secluded beach for guest use only, plus a year-round indoor pool, seasonal outdoor pool, spa tub, fitness center, and complimentary tennis at the Virginia Beach Tennis Club. THere is a Restaurant and Lounge offering wonderful food selections.This ALL SUITES Resort guestrooms have balconies with a view of the beach and bay, plus a separate living area with sofa bed. Suites include 2 TVs, and kitchenettes include microwaves, refrigerators, and coffeemakers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hotel
Virginia Beach Resort Conference Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing