We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two days on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #35 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“two days on the beach”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

i spent 2 nights at this hotel. i got in rather late on the first night and pretty much went to bed. the next day was spent exploring. the hotel was very nice and clean; breakfast was good. my room was wonderful with the oceanfront room. all of the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. the only con for me was that the hot tub is very tiny. probably the smallest one i have ever seen in a hotel. i did get to use it, though, and it was nice and hot. they take the fact that they are a smoke-free property seriously. which i totally loved. one of the reasons i chose this hotel was the smoke-free policy as i am allergic to cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanadiane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear NanDianne,

Thanks for staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Virginia Beach. I appreciate you giving us a wonderful 5 Star Review. Every room here has a full ocean view including a private balcony to watch the view of the beach and ocean.

We do take our Non-Smoking policy seriously, and I am glad that you did not have any problems during your stay here.

I hope that you will come back again, we would love to see you on another visit.

Sincerely,

Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    172
    79
    51
    29
See reviews for
239
137
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We had an excellent time. The room was perfect for all of us. Loved the balcony looking over the beautiful ocean. The breakfast was unbelievably great! The staff was very friendly. We definitely want to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenredtractor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear GreenRedTractor,

Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for the nice review. I am happy to hear that we met your needs during your visit.

Every room has a full ocean view with the balcony you describe, it is a perfect spot to watch the dolphins swim by, we see them most mornings all year long.

We can't wait for you to come back and stay with us again, and I hope to see you soon.

Thank you

Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Had amazing stay for 2 night stay at Holiday Express. After seeing comments on trip advisor took chance and definitely was very happy with stay. Friendly staff, great breakfast, clean hotel. In short words no complaint, definitely will stay here again and will recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: Ocean Front Room on 10th Floor, breath taking view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hk k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear HKK,

Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for the nice review. I am happy to hear that you loved the room with its private balcony overlooking the beach and ocean.

Our Express Start Breakfast is a great way to start the day and we are rolling out new food offerings in the next few weeks.

Thank you again, and I hope that you will return and stay with us again.

Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The hotel is average, a little run down which is expected of a high-traffic property on the beach. The hotel is right on the beach, which is great.

We rented a 1BR 2Queen suite - but got a 2 Double instead. The front desk tried to tell me that all their suites are configured with 2 doubles and I didn't argue. Instead I went to check the hotel's website, and it's clear that they showed 2 queens. This was why I chose the hotel.

The second thing which I should have expected was that the professional (website) picture of the hotel pool was deceiving. I understand that you need to market your hotel and present the best foot forward, but this was a SMALL pool, quite unlike what the picture was intended to show.

In general, the staff we encountered were friendly and professional. I didn't bring these points up to them, as they just work there and this is clearly a management/corporate issue that needs to be resolved.

Beds were not up to par with Holiday Inn Express properties I've stayed at -- the middle of one of the queen beds had a depression which made it quite difficult for two people to sleep comfortably. The dining room chairs were not in good repair - one of them had the seat back upholstery repaired with staples.

Please note that I sent this review in on the Holiday Inn website as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cseleosida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Wilkanoid,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the review. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your room accommodations. All of our two bed suites have two DOUBLE Beds, and we advertise that. I just went to holidayinns.com and nowhere does it say that the beds are Queen in the Suite rooms. Please let me know where you saw that and I will be sure to change the listing. Our standard rooms do include two QUEEN Beds.

I have changed the picture of the pool, and would be interested to see your reaction since you were here. Of course we want to advertise our beautiful hotel, but I do not intend to deceive anyone.

Thank you again, and I hope to hear from you.

Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed here for a few days. There's nothing particularly objectionable about the facility, but walking along Atlantic Avenue, I couldn't help but wonder that others would have provided more amenties at similar prices. In any case, Holiday Inn's architects should be prohibited from every practicing again. With nine floors, there are only two elevators and a constant line in the lobby waiting for one. Worse is that the hotel staff use the same elevators for moving linens, towels, etc from floor to floor while cleaning rooms. There's obviously a need for a service elevator that allows them to do their work and provides guest with more timely access. Why designers wouldn't realize this is probably a function of wanting to maximize room space while disregarding the needs of customers.

While we were there, the hot tub was "closed" for repairs although there were no repairs visibly being done. Otherwise, the breakfast is fine, the rooms are clean. Spring break brought too many noisy youth in tour buses to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerDCMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were not happy with the design of the building. We are a seasonal beach resort area, and during peak times we occasionaly experience waits for the elevators, but they are minimal.

I am sorry about the hot tub, but there were multiple problems and once one was fixed another part would break. It is working now, but was very frustrating that it took a long time to repair.

Thank you again for your review, and I hope that you will visit again.

Sincerely

Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed here mid-week on a short notice getaway. Decided on this hotel because the rates were fantastic. We were pleasantly surprised by how wonderful the hotel was for the price. All rooms have a beautiful oceanfront view. We loved watching the dolphins swimming from the balcony. The only disappointment was with the breakfast which was ok, but lacked attention. Many items were either cold or needed to be restocked. Otherwise a great, clean property with friendly staff! We look forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Mike,

Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for the great 5 Star Review. As you noted, every room has a full view of the ocean with a private balcony to watch the ships pass. We see dolphins right off the beach almost every morning.

I am sorry that the Breakfast was not satisfactory, we are trying hard to keep our selections hot and fresh, but I will make sure to mention this to our Team.

I hope that you will come back and stay with us again. Thank you

Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last month with my family while I had work done on my house. I had no idea the hotel was so nice. The front desk checked me and my kids in late and even told us the most kid friends restaurants near by for them. Our room was clean and had everything we could possibly need. The view from our private balcony was breathtaking. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the morning and the server seemed to really enjoy helping my kids. Thanks for a great stay. I highly recommend!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank etermy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us, and thanks for the great 5 Star Review. I appreciate hearing your nice commnets. I am pleased that the staff took good care of you and your family.

Every room here has a private balcony with a full view of the ocean, and every guest is treated to our Express Start Breakfast, complimentary every day.

I hope that you will come back and stay with us again. Thank you for your business.

Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (...
#26 of 109 in Virginia Beach
618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
840 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 2607 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3104
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us at the new Holiday Inn Express and experience the same great service you have come to love when staying at the Oceanfront. Our upbeat decor and interior enhancements with remodeled guest rooms and public spaces will impress the whole family. We are now a 100% smoke-free hotel. The name may be Holiday Inn Express but your vacation will be at your own pace at the Virginia Beach Oceanfront. At the Holiday Inn Express, we make your family vacation accommodations our number one priority with friendly customer service, direct beach and boardwalk access, and complimentary continental breakfast served to all of our guests. For fitness and relaxation, visit our year-round indoor swimming pool, whirlpool spa, and fitness room. All of our guest rooms include a complimentary continental breakfast and have a private balcony with a full oceanfront view of the beach and boardwalk, mini-refrigerator, hair dryers, coffee makers and free high-speed Internet access. Conveniently located in the center of the Virginia Beach resort area, there are many local attractions nearby such as the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, Virginia Beach Amphitheater, 11 golf courses, parasailing, bicycle and boat rentals, Virginia Aquarium, and the Virginia Beach Convention Center.Enjoy the service and experience of an oceanfront resort hotel with all of the amenities you expect from a Holiday Inn at Virginia Beach's Holiday Inn Express(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing