We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #37 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bishopville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pay Attention”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were at the Holiday Inn Oceanfront this past weekend for a soccer tournament. Friday evening when everyone was arriving, and the hotel was packed, we went to the hotel restaurant (which was empty) only to find extremely poor service and food that would not have been worth eating even if we did not have to wait for a whole hour with only 1 other table in the entire place. To make things worse, with a full bar full, the bartender came around and dropped everyone's check at 9:30 and basically told us that the bar was closed. Her reason, "I have to be back here tomorrow at 4:00 AM to serve breakfast." The only saving grace to the whole weekend was the fact that the front desk staff was extremely helpful and accommodating despite having a ton of people in the hotel.
The brightest shining star in the establishment was a guy named Pauly that was working the bar on Saturday evening and the girl working in the restaurant (I am sorry but I did not get her name). Both of them were absolutely awesome. Pauly kept the bar open and served with a smile all night long. Never once did he tell us that he had to be there in the morning to serve breakfast, but guess what, when i went down for breakfast in the morning, he was there with the same smile.
We will be back next year the same time for the same tournament but if Pauly is not there, I guarantee you we will be spending our money somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coastal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying here last weekend, and thank you for your review. However, I do not think that you stayed at the Holiday Inn Express at 26th Street. As an Express, we do not have a restaurant or a bar. We serve our complimentary Express Start Breakfast every morning, but no other food is served here.

I think that you stayed at the Holiday Inn Oceanside at 21st Street, and I will pass your comments along to that General Manager.

Thank you again

Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    170
    78
    51
    28
See reviews for
232
133
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Our check in was very smooth, front desk clerk accomdating in every way. Early check in was honored and high floor for great view of the ocean and Christmas lights on the boardwalk. Breakfast was included, and was very good.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osprey2860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for staying with us, and thanks for the great 5 Star Review. I really appreciate it. I am happy to hear that we completely satisfied you and your wife, and that you enjoyed the wonderful Holiday Lights display right outside our door.

Our free Express Start hot breakfast is a great way to start the day. Thank you again for staying with us, and I hope to see you here again soon.

Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Nice place to stay; quiet and the hotel provides a warm breakfast. We went during the fall to avoid the large crowds and had a wonderful time. During the day; mostly older couples and small families. At night; you’ll have the place to yourself. Great weekend trip. We rented a suite; which consisted of a living room and bedroom; which were separate. Great views of the ocean as well.

Room Tip: We chose a suite; separate living room and bedroom. Very affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us, and thanks for the 4 Star Review. It is beautiful here in the fall, and the crowds are largely gone, so you can enjoy the area with few interruptions. We do offer a great complimentary hot breakfast for all of our guests, and I am glad that you enjoyed it.

All of our rooms have a full ocean view, and every room includes a private balcony with chairs to watch the world go by on the boardwalk and at sea. The Holiday Lights display will open later this month and is a must see in the area.

Thank you again for your stay and kind words, and we hope to see you here again soon.

Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Maine
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This Holiday Inn Express is a little dated but has a perfect location for enjoying the beach...even if you'd prefer not to get sand on your feet. Every room has a postcard view and the staff (particularly the manager) couldn't be more accommodating. The bed was comfortable, the bathrooms clean...though the room carpet could have used a better vacuuming.
The breakfast buffet was certainly more than adequate and the welcoming lemonade and cookies were greatly appreciated. We were here on a coach trip for 3 nights and would definitely return or recommend this hotel. The only downside of this area at this time of year (late October) is the lack of open restaurants for dinner. Our group were seniors, many with limited mobility and a good dinner option was a challenge. Certainly this is NOT the Holiday's Inn's problem. Just noting that travel to VA Beach post season...is very closed down.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThisLife2Live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Deat Guest, thank you for staying with us and thatnks for your Four Star Review. Yes, our location can't be beat, and every room has a private balcony with chairs to watch the beach and ocean. The view is spectacular, particularly on these clear bright fall days.

Thank you for you nice remarks about the staff, it is a team effort here and I am glad to hear that everyone treated you well and you had a clean room.

I hope to see you again soon. Thank you

Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
312 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

A group of us stayed at this hotel for conference. Got there at 430pm and room not ready...A little disappointing since it was past check-in time. Room is clean, safe area. Nothing special to room. Quiet at night and on the ocean which was a plus. Has breakfast each morning, was fine. I never got a chance to use gym or pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvandenbraak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for staying with us and thenak you for your review. I am sorry that you had to wait for your room, that should not have happened. We try to take care of our business groups, and I a not sure why your room was not ready.

I am glad that you enjoyed the facilities that you had time to use and that the conference went well.

Thank you again, and I hope that you will come back to stay with us again.

Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed in this hotel one night at the end of May 2013. The staff was great, and very accommodating. I got an awesome price on this hotel, and it was right on the beach. The elevators are VERY slow. I was on the 6th floor at the very end of the hallway. Somehow, managed to get a corner room which seemed to be a suite. The bedroom had a king size bed in it, and in the living room part of the room had a sleeper sofa, desk, TV,and kitchenette. Opened the sliding glass door to crashing waves! Couldn't get a more perfect room. Easy access to the boardwalk which has great restaurants, including my favorite Catch 33. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. The room was clean, the customer service was great, and the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for the nice 4 Star Review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Yes, you were upgraded into one of our King Suites during your stay. As you describe, it is a true two room suite with separate sleeping and living areas including a kitchenette.

All of our rooms have a private balcony and chairs to relax and watch the beach and ocean. The Boardwalk is right outside the hotel and is a great place to exercise and to move around the beach area.

Thank you, and I hope to see you back here soon

Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here the 3rd week of Sept. The room (4th fl ocean view) and bathroom were clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were pleasant and the complimentary breakfast was very good. We would definitely stay again. One thing about staying at Virginia beach on the ocean, don't plan on turning in too early. The jets from the navel base make their runs out to sea into the night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for the great 5 Star Review. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the Holiday Inn Express.

We offer every guest our complimentary Express Start Hot Breakfast every morning and I am glad you enjoyed it.

The jets are a major part of the community here, and they support the work of our Armed Forces around the world.

Thank you for your business, and I hope that you will come back soon.

Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (...
#23 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#28 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 2607 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3104
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us at the new Holiday Inn Express and experience the same great service you have come to love when staying at the Oceanfront. Our upbeat decor and interior enhancements with remodeled guest rooms and public spaces will impress the whole family. We are now a 100% smoke-free hotel. The name may be Holiday Inn Express but your vacation will be at your own pace at the Virginia Beach Oceanfront. At the Holiday Inn Express, we make your family vacation accommodations our number one priority with friendly customer service, direct beach and boardwalk access, and complimentary continental breakfast served to all of our guests. For fitness and relaxation, visit our year-round indoor swimming pool, whirlpool spa, and fitness room. All of our guest rooms include a complimentary continental breakfast and have a private balcony with a full oceanfront view of the beach and boardwalk, mini-refrigerator, hair dryers, coffee makers and free high-speed Internet access. Conveniently located in the center of the Virginia Beach resort area, there are many local attractions nearby such as the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, Virginia Beach Amphitheater, 11 golf courses, parasailing, bicycle and boat rentals, Virginia Aquarium, and the Virginia Beach Convention Center.Enjoy the service and experience of an oceanfront resort hotel with all of the amenities you expect from a Holiday Inn at Virginia Beach's Holiday Inn Express(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing