We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #38 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This Holiday Inn Express is a little dated but has a perfect location for enjoying the beach...even if you'd prefer not to get sand on your feet. Every room has a postcard view and the staff (particularly the manager) couldn't be more accommodating. The bed was comfortable, the bathrooms clean...though the room carpet could have used a better vacuuming.
The breakfast buffet was certainly more than adequate and the welcoming lemonade and cookies were greatly appreciated. We were here on a coach trip for 3 nights and would definitely return or recommend this hotel. The only downside of this area at this time of year (late October) is the lack of open restaurants for dinner. Our group were seniors, many with limited mobility and a good dinner option was a challenge. Certainly this is NOT the Holiday's Inn's problem. Just noting that travel to VA Beach post season...is very closed down.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThisLife2Live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Deat Guest, thank you for staying with us and thatnks for your Four Star Review. Yes, our location can't be beat, and every room has a private balcony with chairs to watch the beach and ocean. The view is spectacular, particularly on these clear bright fall days.

Thank you for you nice remarks about the staff, it is a team effort here and I am glad to hear that everyone treated you well and you had a clean room.

I hope to see you again soon. Thank you

Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 568 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

A group of us stayed at this hotel for conference. Got there at 430pm and room not ready...A little disappointing since it was past check-in time. Room is clean, safe area. Nothing special to room. Quiet at night and on the ocean which was a plus. Has breakfast each morning, was fine. I never got a chance to use gym or pool.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvandenbraak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for staying with us and thenak you for your review. I am sorry that you had to wait for your room, that should not have happened. We try to take care of our business groups, and I a not sure why your room was not ready.

I am glad that you enjoyed the facilities that you had time to use and that the conference went well.

Thank you again, and I hope that you will come back to stay with us again.

Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed in this hotel one night at the end of May 2013. The staff was great, and very accommodating. I got an awesome price on this hotel, and it was right on the beach. The elevators are VERY slow. I was on the 6th floor at the very end of the hallway. Somehow, managed to get a corner room which seemed to be a suite. The bedroom had a king size bed in it, and in the living room part of the room had a sleeper sofa, desk, TV,and kitchenette. Opened the sliding glass door to crashing waves! Couldn't get a more perfect room. Easy access to the boardwalk which has great restaurants, including my favorite Catch 33. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. The room was clean, the customer service was great, and the location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for the nice 4 Star Review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Yes, you were upgraded into one of our King Suites during your stay. As you describe, it is a true two room suite with separate sleeping and living areas including a kitchenette.

All of our rooms have a private balcony and chairs to relax and watch the beach and ocean. The Boardwalk is right outside the hotel and is a great place to exercise and to move around the beach area.

Thank you, and I hope to see you back here soon

Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here the 3rd week of Sept. The room (4th fl ocean view) and bathroom were clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were pleasant and the complimentary breakfast was very good. We would definitely stay again. One thing about staying at Virginia beach on the ocean, don't plan on turning in too early. The jets from the navel base make their runs out to sea into the night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for the great 5 Star Review. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the Holiday Inn Express.

We offer every guest our complimentary Express Start Hot Breakfast every morning and I am glad you enjoyed it.

The jets are a major part of the community here, and they support the work of our Armed Forces around the world.

Thank you for your business, and I hope that you will come back soon.

Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were in this hotel during the Labor Day holiday. The hotel was very convenient to locate and easy to get parking spot. Hotel staffs were very helpful. We lost the camera cap on our first day and we received it back next day at the lobby. Very professional. The restaurant was a very big disappointment. We opted for dinner buffet but they didn't have enough choices or refilling. It took them 20 minutes to sit us although the restaurant was half empty. The food was just ok. Please find other places to eat. There are plenty of options available around.

Room Tip: Choose upper floors to see Dolphins playing from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sambit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for the nice 4 Star Review. I am glad that the staff treated you well, and that they were able to return the lens cap to you.

I am not sure what restaurant you mention. We are a Holiday Inn Express, and do not serve lunch or dinner here. Perhaps you went to a local business nearby. We serve our complimentary Express Start Breakfast every day, and it is a great way to start the day.

Thank you again, and I hope that we will see you back here again soon.

Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We just stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. We were able to checkin early when we arrived about 1:30. We asked for a microwave to be sent to the room and we were told one would be brought up, we never saw it or got any word on it. The Shriners were in town for their big parade and our hotel was full of these great folks. The issue that it caused was parking! One of the nights we went out to a concert and when we got back there was no parking in any of the three lots. The views are beautiful from the room and the hotel is in walking distance to many of the local shops and restaurants (Tautogs is just 3 blocks away) as well as the boardwalk stages. There is a Dairy Queen right next door too for a great blizzard treat. The breakfast was available until 10 which was great, but it was nothing to write home about. It's just an average free hotel breakfast. The rooms were fine and they were clean. They were freshened everyday. The air conditioner was very loud making it hard to sleep as well as our sliding door screeching when opening and closing. We never used the indoor pool as we had beautiful weather each day we were there. The pool is small and you could really smell the chlorine even from the hall. I would stay here again due to the location and price. I have to give kudos to the staff - they were all very friendly and nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheree G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for writing a review. I appreciate it. It can be difficult to park during the Shriner's weekend, but we do police our lots to ensure that all of our guests can park with us.

I am sorry that the microwave was not delivered, we have plenty available for our guests. I am happy to note you r comment that the staff was friendly, thank you.

I hope that you will come back and visit again soon. We have some great rates available. Thank you.

Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed here in early April 2013.

Suite rooms are amazing, and I was lucky enough to get one with a beach view.

As you enter there is the sitting room area, with a small kitchenette, sofa and TV. There's then a small corridor area with a sink, mirror etc to your right and toilet/shower in a room on your left.
Then into the bedroom again a good size with comfy bed.

The communal areas we always clean, food good and staff helpful.

The negative, and this isn't the hotels fault, is that there is real life Top GunPilot academy is a few miles up the coast, and the jets fly over continuously....and a lot later than they'd be allowed in the UK.

Otherwise it's a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Sea view is amazing, other aspects of the hotel look out onto forecourt or another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for the great 4 Star Review. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and your time here with us. While you accurately describe one of our two room Suites, every room here has a full ocean view exactly as you enjoyed. Each room has a private balcony and chairs to enjoy the ocean and watching the happenings on the boardwalk.

The US Military has a strong presence in Virginia Beach, and Naval Air Station Oceana has been in operation since before WW II. While the noise can be a minor inconvenience at times, we support the mission of our Armed Forces and the brave men and women who choose to serve.

Thank you again for your visit, and I hope that you will return soon.

Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
791 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#42 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,004 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach...
#35 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,071 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
457 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 2607 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3104
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $105 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us at the new Holiday Inn Express and experience the same great service you have come to love when staying at the Oceanfront. Our upbeat decor and interior enhancements with remodeled guest rooms and public spaces will impress the whole family. We are now a 100% smoke-free hotel. The name may be Holiday Inn Express but your vacation will be at your own pace at the Virginia Beach Oceanfront. At the Holiday Inn Express, we make your family vacation accommodations our number one priority with friendly customer service, direct beach and boardwalk access, and complimentary continental breakfast served to all of our guests. For fitness and relaxation, visit our year-round indoor swimming pool, whirlpool spa, and fitness room. All of our guest rooms include a complimentary continental breakfast and have a private balcony with a full oceanfront view of the beach and boardwalk, mini-refrigerator, hair dryers, coffee makers and free high-speed Internet access. Conveniently located in the center of the Virginia Beach resort area, there are many local attractions nearby such as the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, Virginia Beach Amphitheater, 11 golf courses, parasailing, bicycle and boat rentals, Virginia Aquarium, and the Virginia Beach Convention Center.Enjoy the service and experience of an oceanfront resort hotel with all of the amenities you expect from a Holiday Inn at Virginia Beach's Holiday Inn Express(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing