We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

its a great hotel with a good location clean rooms great view from every room.
the staff were wonderful and went the extra mile to make my wife's stay more wonderful
it was her birthday and the staff had done a birthday card and a bag with some treats in for her in the room when we arrived.
i would stay there again a good hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark66h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for posting your review. I am glad to hear that we met all of your needs, and were able to make your wife's visit special. The Team here is focused on exceeding our guest's expectations, and I am glad that she was happy.

I hope that you will return and stay with us again, and will recommend our hotel to your family and friends.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    169
    77
    50
    27
See reviews for
227
131
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I were in town for a wedding, so we were looking for somewhere not too expensive but right on the beach. This Holiday Inn Express fit the bill - a good price, and every room was oceanfront. We got to the hotel a little early and checked in with no fuss or waiting; our room (by our request at check-in) was on the 10th floor. As soon as we got to the room, the first thing we did was go out on the balcony - and the view was marvelous! You could see all the way down the beach in both directions and out to the horizon across the ocean. Perfect! We had a minor problem with the refrigerator leaking, but I let the front desk know before we went out to dinner and the issue was fixed by the time we got to the room later that evening - when something is resolved that quickly, I hesitate to even call it a problem!

Our room was very clean, no dust or dirt anywhere - both the beds had clean sheets on them, and were very comfortable (by the way, I like the "soft" and "firm" pillow options - I didn't know Holiday Inn did that).

The beach access was the best part - we spent plenty of time laying in the sun, and we especially enjoyed the shower right outside the hotel to rinse off the sand and saltwater. In the mornings, a full breakfast was available downstairs which was very nice. Eggs, pancakes, omelets, bacon, sausage, biscuits, the works! Not just your regular cereal, room temperature milk and a bagel sort of breakfast. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody staying in VA Beach - book early and you'll get a great rate!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmuduke14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for your great review. I am thrilled to hear that you had a terrific weekend with us, and hope that you will return soon for another visit.

As you noted, every room has a full oceanfront view and a private balcony. The views are wonderful, and I hope you woke up early one morning to watch the sun rise from the sea.

Our housekeeping team has put in a lot of work to make sure that all of our rooms are clean and fresh, they will be glad to hear that you were completely satisfied.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon.

Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Room was clean, view was great, and despite the large number of people staying in the hotel for the weekend (sand soccer tournament), the staff was pleasant. The young men working at breakfast did a terrific job keeping everything filled. Will stay there again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank marmess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and thanks for taking the time to post your review. I am thrilled to hear that we were able to satisfy your party. Yes, the Sand Soccer is always a busy weekend, but what great entertainment right outside your private balcony?

I hope that you will come back and visit again. Remember that the fall is beautiful here and generally less crowded.

Thank you again.

Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I do not give "excellent" or "superior" on any rating, however, this facility went above and beyond the call of duty. This level of service and commitment to their customers comes from the top down. It was apparent by the quality of service and care that was extended to my family. My family was ill pretty much the entire stay (nothing hotel related  ). The staff was more than accommodating. They were empowered to assist me with my needs on the spot and without hesitation. It made an unpleasant situation much more manageable. THANK YOU ALL!

The facility was new, clean, and easily accessible to the beach. Staffs were friendly and willing to answer questions even when it wasn't their job. Great breakfast and near other attractions and food venues.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators and on the 3rd floor up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for your great review. I am very sorry that your family was not well during your stay, but we try to make everyone welcome and to help people in need. I am glad that we were able to assist you, and I hope that everyone is back to full strength.

We all hope to see you again for a visit that you can really enjoy, and we hope that you will return soon.

Thank you again

Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We accidentally booked this hotel, instead of the Holiday Inn North Beach (which is a resort). So I was pretty confused when we got here... however I will try to give it an honest review b/c that was not their fault!
We got in late, around 9pm. There was no where to park. There really were not even any temporary spots (like 15 minute limit) to unload. We checked in and got an upper level room (which was requested and honored). The room seemed clean, even tho it was very warm and the A/C never did work very well. If it had been any hotter we probably would have had to switch rooms, however since we were all so tired I said we would deal (they offered to send maintenance up but this was not going to be a quick fix so I said No thank you.).
There was a kids move (the Lion King) playing on the beach, which is a fun family idea, but while we were excited our room was oceanfront (RIGHT on the beach! yay!) The movie was SO loud that from the top (10th) floor we could hear it w/ our balcony door closed and the a/c on. So no nice waves to enjoy until maybe after 10 when the movie ended.
We popped open the couch bed for the kids, and all the old dirty covers were smashed in there. I removed them and found an extra sheet in the closet, and called for new blankets (which were brought quickly). The bathroom was clean, but there was no soap at all, and no toiletries of any kind. Housekeeping made another trip up with those. The carpet seemed kind of damp (something i've experienced in cheap Florida beach hotels as well).
We walked around to check out the hotel and aside from the breakfast area, there is a small indoor pool and that's all. They did provide a shower for washing off after the beach. It's right on the boardwalk and the beach is very nice.
We decided before we even went to sleep to cancel our next few nights and book at the Holiday Inn on 39th street (the North Beach resort). They were helpful in making sure i would not be charged for the remaining nights and checkout was pretty easy.
The kids enjoyed breakfast, it was very busy. Waffles, sausage, cereal, cinnamon buns, yogurt, fruit, juice, coffee, etc. It was a lot of food. Nice to see the ocean while you ate. Overall everyone was helpful and the price for a weeknight stay was good. For just a little more $ tho you can get a lot more in Virginia beach.

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront, which is great. Remember the sun will rise right into your room, but the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laribrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

It certainly sounds as if you had an unusual number of problems (primarily that we did not clean your room properly before your arrival) and I am very sorry. That is not the usual standard here and I want to ensure that does not happen again.

Will you please contact me directly to provide more details of your stay? I want to ensure that you are satisfied, and clearly when you left here you were not. The movies on the beach are done by the City, and I am sorry if they disturbed you.

I hope to hear from you soon, and again please accept my sincere apologies.

Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pen Argyl
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Even though the hotel is undergoing some type of renovation we were well pleased. The Oceanfront Suite was very very nice. The staff was very courteous and polite and helpful. Also very congenial. The only small problem appeared to be with the AC...when lowering the temperature, it does not appear as though the temperature in the suite would come down to desired temperature. Would recommend to anyone and may go back again next year.

Room Tip: No real tip, simply request an ocean front suite with sink , fridge and microwave...sort of like a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rfrenaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and thanks for writing a nice review. We completed most of our renovations this winter, during the slow time. In mid-May we had all of the bathtubs resurfaced, but that project was completed in 5 days. Perhaps you stayed during that time, and if so I hope that you were not inconvenienced.

Please contact me directly to let me know which suite you were in so that we can check the A/C Unit. The suites are very nice, and ideal for families with the firdge and microwave.

Thank you again, and I hope to see you back here soon.

Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Woodstock, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

For the last night of our road trip we booked at the Holiday Inn Express right on Atlantic Ave on the ocean at Virginia Beach. While the hotel may not have a fancy restaurant, and the indoor pool was quite small, for the money it was a very good hotel. Clean, courteous staff, let us check in early, ocean front location- all rooms have balconies that overlook the boardwalk, you really can't go wrong, and I love how the HIE wrap their blankets in sheet covers and use top quality bedding and pillows! . We will be leaving early, so can't report on the breakfast, as it starts at 6:30 am, which frankly if we didn't have a 12 drive would be plenty early enough!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for the great review. I am glad to hear that we were able to satisfy you and your family, and I certainly hope you will return and stay with us again.

Too bad that you could not stay for our Express Start Hot Breakfast, free to every guest, but I understand the long trip ahead.

Hope to see you here soon, and thank you again

Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia B...
#22 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 2607 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us at the new Holiday Inn Express and experience the same great service you have come to love when staying at the Oceanfront. Our upbeat decor and interior enhancements with remodeled guest rooms and public spaces will impress the whole family. We are now a 100% smoke-free hotel. The name may be Holiday Inn Express but your vacation will be at your own pace at the Virginia Beach Oceanfront. At the Holiday Inn Express, we make your family vacation accommodations our number one priority with friendly customer service, direct beach and boardwalk access, and complimentary continental breakfast served to all of our guests. For fitness and relaxation, visit our year-round indoor swimming pool, whirlpool spa, and fitness room. All of our guest rooms include a complimentary continental breakfast and have a private balcony with a full oceanfront view of the beach and boardwalk, mini-refrigerator, hair dryers, coffee makers and free high-speed Internet access. Conveniently located in the center of the Virginia Beach resort area, there are many local attractions nearby such as the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, Virginia Beach Amphitheater, 11 golf courses, parasailing, bicycle and boat rentals, Virginia Aquarium, and the Virginia Beach Convention Center.Enjoy the service and experience of an oceanfront resort hotel with all of the amenities you expect from a Holiday Inn at Virginia Beach's Holiday Inn Express(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing