We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay - great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #39 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is an extremely clean and well-run hotel with friendly, professional, hard-working staff. Check in was fast and friendly, the room was very clean and looked like it had been updated recently. Very comfortable bed with soft, quality linens and lots of pillows. The best part about staying at the oceanfront is the fantastic view and this is the first oceanfront property I've stayed at where I didn't have to clean the sliding glass door and window (which I expect to do and I actually pack Windex wipes for this purpose but didn't need them here). The breakfast area (hours are 6:30 to 9:30 every day) was attended to by staff constantly and was always well-stocked and clean. I sure do love those cinnamon rolls!! The weather changed from warm/muggy to cold/rainy, then back during my stay so I needed the AC and the heat and both worked great with no noises, rattles, or clunks at all. The overflow parking lots are not very far away at all and since my visit was pre-season I didn't have to use them anyway. I can't think of a single thing that was less than excellent about this stay, and that is very rare. Normally this hotel is out of my price range but I got a great pre-season sale price and am very glad that I got a chance to enjoy my week at the beach here.

Room Tip: Higher floor = better view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastCoastToAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for visiting with us, and thank you for your review. I am thrilled to hear that we met all of your expectations and provided you and your companions with a great stay. That is our goal for every guest, and it is great to hear that we succeeded. I will be sure that the Team here knows about your comments.

I am glad that you were able to take advantage of one of our special rate offers. We do have many great rate packages available in the shoulder seasons, and occasionally during the summer.

Thank you again for your comments, and I hope that you will return soon.

Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 565 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have to ask 2 times to clean the window door and the result was less than acceptable. We chosed that hotel for the beach view and the door was dirty for a large part of our stay there. The morning buffet was OK during the week-end but there was a minimum of items during the week.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilles_o99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for staying with us, and please accept my apologies that your glass door was not cleaned properly. It certainly should have been cleaned before you checked in, and we then did not clean it after the first time you requested it.

Please accept my sincere apologies, and know that I will use this as a teaching tool for the team here. Thank you again, and I am sorry that we did not give you the experience you expected.

Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel was perfect! The staff was exceptional and very friendly and helpful. The General Manager even assisted with ideas of places to see while here at the beach. It was a true family of hospitality that made the stay so much more than the normal hotel stay. The hotel offers wonderful amenities, nice and clean and the suite was beautiful. The breakfast was so delicious as was the coffee! This is the hotel for anyone looking to truly relax, take walks on the beach, convenient to everything you want to do at the beach. You know you have to check out and go back to reality but you dont want to. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReginaD747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for posting a review. I am glad to hear that you had a great stay with us and that the team here helped you to enjoy your visit.

The beach in the shoulder months is beautiful and not crowded, I am glad that you had a chance to relax here. I hope that you will come back and visit again soon, and I thank you for your business.

Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the HI Express Oceanfront at the tail end of Spring Break (for another event). The hotel sits right on the boardwalk - a fantastic location to get right out on the beach - and on the upper end of Atlantic Ave. The room rate was okay, though I felt a touch expensive for a three-star property with minimal amenities. This may have been a function of it being the tail end of Spring Break, or not, tough to say. That said, there are several hotels in the area that charge more for less, as well as those that charge less. Given the number of hotels in the area, definitely shop around. We had a King room with an ocean view on the 9th floor. The view was spectacular. The room was okay. Most of it had been renewed fairly recently, with the exception of the carpet which could have used a good cleaning and the bathroom which was a bit gray and grungy (one of the towels appeared to have an old blood stain on it as well). Nice to have a small fridge and coffeemaker in the room, though we were only given decaf coffee. Bed was really hard though. The first night was surprisingly quiet given the number of people in the hotel (and judging by the number of people at breakfast the next morning, there were a lot). The second night was less so with my husband being woken up at 4:30 by loud TV watching next door. Across the board, the staff were very nice even in the face of the aforementioned breakfast crowds. Wi-fi was good for the most part, but kept kicking us out and forcing us to re-enter our credentials. The indoor pool was on the small side (and infested with kids) and the Jacuzzi was broken. Breakfast was decent - nothing spectacular, but filling and on both days had something my non-Pork-eating husband could eat. Do try the automatic pancake machine at breakfast. What a hoot to have a machine that looks like a printer pop out two decent pancakes in just a few minutes!

Room Tip: Any of the oceanfront rooms will give you a great view. The higher floors will put you above some o...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingCAGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for staying with us last week, I appreciate you taking the time to post your review. Overall it sounds like you enjoyed your stay, but you did give me a few things to work on, and I am sorry that we did not completely satisfy you and your group.

It was a very busy weekend, and I am sorry if your sleep was disturbed by others. Please be sure to let us know (or any other hotel) and we will take care of the noise right away. We want all of our guests to enjoy their visit with us.

I hope that you will return here again, we will have our exclusive Pancake Machine ready for your next trip.

Thank you again

Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel is situated almost in the middle of the 3 mile boardwalk. Before and after the season they always offer good deals. We've been here a few times. I don't like the pool, because of its location right behind the reception area and next to the elevators. Everybody has to pass by it and it is always packed with kids. So I have never had the urge to use it. Also the hotel has only 2 elevators which are shared by house keeping and guests. That can get crowded and unpleasant. I really liked the mattress and the pillows which are marked firm, medium and soft. LCD TV in the room! The bathroom sink was pretty but not so the tub. I still can't figure why there is no hand held shower head in any hotel in the U.S., house keeping would appreciate this just as much as the guests, I'm sure!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biggi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for staying with us, and I hope that you are a member of the IHG Priority Club if you stay with us often. You can earn free nights at thousands of hotels around the world. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review of the hotel. I am sorry that you don't like the pool, but we also have the Atlantic Ocean right outside the door.

All of our bathtubs will be resurfaced before the end of May, I know that a few of them are showing their age. I am sorry that you were inconvenienced by that. We do have hand held showers in a few of our rooms, but the majority do not. Ask about one the next visit and we can probably get you into one of those rooms.

Thank you again, and I hope to see you back here soon.

Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Spent just 1 night here during a trip through Va. Hotel has a great location, as do many others in the area, right on the beach, dont have to cross the highway to get to the beach, just exit the lobby and your on the boardwalk and beach. Large wide beach in front of hotel. Many restaurants in the area as well, many within walking distance altough you will likely want a car to drive to different sites. Rooms were a bit dated, but clean and tidy. Bed and linens were comfortable providing a good nights sleep. Front desk staff were efficient and recognized our Priority Club membership with a lil gift of bottled water and cookies. Parking is self park. Parking area directly in front of hotel is small but close adjacent parking lots for this hotel exist as well.

Room Tip: Book early, but check rates often for best rate. We modified our reservation 2X as we neared our dat...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Thank you for staying with us, and thanks for posting a good review. I am happy to know that we met your needs, and that you enjoyed your stay. The ocean view is great, and the City has just finished a massive beach renourishment, making the beach much wider and adding lots of sand.

We love taking care of our valued Priority Club members, and I hope that you will return and stay with us again.

Thank you and I hope to see you soon

Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I went here on a much needed weekend get away and it was awesome. We were given a beautiful room overlooking the ocean. Clean and efficient. There were even horses in a make shift coral on the beach, which we were able to see from our room. You can take horse rides that you could take there. The breakfast was delicious and plenty of. The staff there were very friendly. Especially Tricia at the front desk. Thank you for a relaxing weekend Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mamastaats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIExp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for posting a review. I am glad to hear that you were satisfied with your stay All of our rooms have a full ocean view with private balcony.

I hope that you will come back to visit again soon. Spring is (finally) here and we are ready for your next visit.

Thank you again

Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
855 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#22 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 2607 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $127 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us at the new Holiday Inn Express and experience the same great service you have come to love when staying at the Oceanfront. Our upbeat decor and interior enhancements with remodeled guest rooms and public spaces will impress the whole family. We are now a 100% smoke-free hotel. The name may be Holiday Inn Express but your vacation will be at your own pace at the Virginia Beach Oceanfront. At the Holiday Inn Express, we make your family vacation accommodations our number one priority with friendly customer service, direct beach and boardwalk access, and complimentary continental breakfast served to all of our guests. For fitness and relaxation, visit our year-round indoor swimming pool, whirlpool spa, and fitness room. All of our guest rooms include a complimentary continental breakfast and have a private balcony with a full oceanfront view of the beach and boardwalk, mini-refrigerator, hair dryers, coffee makers and free high-speed Internet access. Conveniently located in the center of the Virginia Beach resort area, there are many local attractions nearby such as the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, Virginia Beach Amphitheater, 11 golf courses, parasailing, bicycle and boat rentals, Virginia Aquarium, and the Virginia Beach Convention Center.Enjoy the service and experience of an oceanfront resort hotel with all of the amenities you expect from a Holiday Inn at Virginia Beach's Holiday Inn Express(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing