We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A definite recommend.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #37 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bronx, New York
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A definite recommend.”
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We arrived about 1 pm and was told by the sweet young lady at the front desk that check in was at 4pm but if we waited around, a room may become ready sooner. We went across the street to "Georges" and had a very nice lunch. When we returned to the hotel I was told that a suite (which we had reserved) was ready. THe check in was fast and problem free. The suites are at the corners of the hotel and very large. There's a short hallway between the bedroom and the living area so my granddaughter was able to go to sleep without us having to be too quiet. All rooms had balconies on the ocean so the view was great, could watch the dolpins every morning. My husband and I vacationed with our grown daughter, and our son and granddaughter from NC and there was room for all of us in the suite. The complimentary hot and cold breakfast was great! There were plenty of tables inside and a few outside as well. We found all the staff to be very helpful if needed. The hotel was clean and inviting. The only negative we encounted was the parking. There was only space for one vehicle per room so my son had to park his car in an overnight parking garage about 3 blocks away for $7 per night. It did not, however, cause a problem fo us. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cece L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26thstreet, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
We are happy you enjoyed your last stay with us. We try to make every experience the best it can be. Our suites are some of the best on the Oceanfront, and I believe you made the best choice on your room type. We would love to see you come back to the area and use us again. Return customers are very important to us on the Oceanfront. Anything that we can do to make your next stay special, please don’t hesitate to let us know.


Regards,

Adam D. Whittemore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    176
    83
    53
    29
See reviews for
245
142
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

This hotel is so bad that I am foregoing the free horendous breakfast (toaster is broken, food looks like it has been sitting there all night) to write this review. We got here on Saturday. We were supposedly booked into the wrong room a regular room instead of a suite. So we ended up having to buy two rooms for the night. Unbelievable. The front office staff is the most nasty unhelpful I have ever met. But we were lucky. While I was waiting several people came in who were told that their reservations had been cancelled but they knew nothing about it.
We finally got in a one bedroom suite for the second night (although the front desk clerk told me there was no door separating the bedroom from the living room). Of course there was but it is kinid of unbelievable that she didn't know that. I requested three pillows. I got two pillows and a blanket. The air was not working in the room. I went to the front desk they said they sent someone up to fix it when we came back. Guess what hot air was blowing in the bathroom and it never got below 78 in the room. Do yourself a favor. Stay anywhere in Virginia Beach but here. Cathy L

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathyL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26thstreet, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Thank you so much for bringing these issues to my attention. I greatly apologize for the issues you suffered during your most recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Express Virginia Beach. I understand this was a very frustrating experience for you, and will use your comments to further the staff's training.

Once again, thank you for taking your personal time to inform our management team of your concerns in order for us to continue developing our staff and product. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Virginia as we wish to improve our services to you.

Sincerely,

Adam Whittemore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2011

In my many hours of searching for a reasonably priced hotel, I finally came across this one on 'cheapostay.com'. It said all the rooms were oceanfront, which I didn't believe at first. But, when we go to the hotel, this was actually true. The room was nice and we had a great view. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. The only downside was the pool and hot tub are a bit smaller than what the pictures show. But, that didn't really matter to my 2 year old!! I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidnashley5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26thstreet, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Virginia Beach for your most recent visit to Virginia Beach. We hope you decide to use us again in the near future, and would look forward to again serving your lodging needs.

Regards,

Adam D. Whittemore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Holiday Inn Express was just wonderful. We were treated so well by ALL of the staff. Our greeting was sincere, our room was ready on time. The front desk attendent called us within the hour of our arrival to see if everything was OK. The decor of our room was bright and cheery and clean. The landscaping was beautiful..our oceanfronnpatio was nice.
The bathroom was spacious with plenty of towels, plus it was clean.
The maid service was good.. She was a sweet woman who made you feel welcome. We appreciated her hard work..
Sorry to say the breakfast wasn't so hot, but that's OK.. everything else was excellent..
we were able to leave our car in the parking lot the whole trip and just ride the Wave, bus service..When asked for an extra hour before check-out, as a priority club member, that is allowed and we were also able to run to the gift shop across the street before departing VA beach and leave our car in the lot ... but we had to move before the next check in... but that helped when picking up last minute things in Virginia Beach.
We will be sure to come back... thanks so much to all the great staff there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanaiscool59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26thstreet, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
We appreciate your kind words on your last visit to Virginia Beach. Our staff strives to make every guest’s stay the very best it can be. Please give us a call when booking your next stay in the area, so that we may take care of you. I will personally distribute your kind words to our staff.

Regards,

Adam D. Whittemore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

My wife & I stayed, & we had a great time. Service was great, also you can't beat the full breakfast!
** It is a non smoking hotel even on balcony** Other than that I'd stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3pointlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26thstreet, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thank you for all your great comments on your last stay here at the Holiday Inn Express Virginia Beach Oceanfront. We hope; and look foward to, seeing you again in the near future.

Regards,

Adam D. Whittemore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Checked in for Memorial Day weekend and had a faulty AC unit. Reported it the next morning and we had a replacement unit installed in less than an hour! The rooms look just like the pictures and the value was great. Parking was included, it's right on the boardwalk and a pleasant walk to shopping, local and fine dining. i will definitely stay there again when heading to VA Beach.

Room Tip: Book through the hotel's website directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank deeflyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26thstreet, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thank you for your comments on your most recent say at The Holiday Inn Express Virginia Beach. We pride ourselves in our quick responsiveness to our guest’s needs. I am glad to hear that your stay was up to your expectations. We will definitely look forward to your visit in the future, and appreciate your business.


Adam Whittemore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western KY
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Holiday Inn Express, 2607 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA
Thank goodness I was reimbursed by my employer for my stay here. What a disappointment. While the view of the beach from my balcony was amazing, there were problems. I would not stay here again,and I'm not a terribly picky person.
There was black mold along the inside lip of the sink...standing in front of the mirror in the bathroom, you could see it in the reflection. Gross.
The door handle on the patio door came off in my Husband's hand, they did fix it the same night. The maintenance gentleman was one of the 4 nicest people we met. The young woman "Bee" at the front desk was rude about the internet not working and insisted it was our computer. We checked in on Sunday, the internet didn't work until Wednesday, we left on Friday. Room service didn't come in and change our trash until Thursday. We had to ask for towels and I ended up putting the trash bags (over full) outside our door on Wednesday. I think that's why they came Thursday. The breakfast assistant people were rude on Monday (2 white girls) but the other ladies were super nice and friendly at breakfast. Breakfast was good, but not good enough for me to come back given the other problems were crazy. I think the black mold and no room service did it for me. I will stay at the Holiday Inn at the end of the street (3600?) next time if we attend this conference again. The booming bass at some kind of event behind the hotel was awful for 2 nights. Thank goodness it was gone after that.

Room Tip: I booked 3 times because the price kept dropping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennfior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26thstreet, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Upon receiving your written concerns, I thank you for informing management immediately of this situation as I commit to you this is not the norm for our hotel. This letter serves as my sincere apologies as our goal is to make your stay memorable and relaxing for you. I commit to you to use your experience for training purposes so that issues and similar issues will not be repeated. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Virginia as we wish to improve our services to you.

Adam D. Whittemore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (...
#28 of 109 in Virginia Beach
625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
848 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#5 of 109 in Virginia Beach
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#21 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 2607 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3104
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us at the new Holiday Inn Express and experience the same great service you have come to love when staying at the Oceanfront. Our upbeat decor and interior enhancements with remodeled guest rooms and public spaces will impress the whole family. We are now a 100% smoke-free hotel. The name may be Holiday Inn Express but your vacation will be at your own pace at the Virginia Beach Oceanfront. At the Holiday Inn Express, we make your family vacation accommodations our number one priority with friendly customer service, direct beach and boardwalk access, and complimentary continental breakfast served to all of our guests. For fitness and relaxation, visit our year-round indoor swimming pool, whirlpool spa, and fitness room. All of our guest rooms include a complimentary continental breakfast and have a private balcony with a full oceanfront view of the beach and boardwalk, mini-refrigerator, hair dryers, coffee makers and free high-speed Internet access. Conveniently located in the center of the Virginia Beach resort area, there are many local attractions nearby such as the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, Virginia Beach Amphitheater, 11 golf courses, parasailing, bicycle and boat rentals, Virginia Aquarium, and the Virginia Beach Convention Center.Enjoy the service and experience of an oceanfront resort hotel with all of the amenities you expect from a Holiday Inn at Virginia Beach's Holiday Inn Express(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing