We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good not great”

Citrus Breakfast and Lunch
Ranked #3 of 1,428 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Denville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good not great”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Maybe expectations were too high but the place didn't wow me as I had hoped. Service was great but food was missing something.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bradford C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    198
    63
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome mimosas while you wait!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

This might be the most popular breakfast joint at Virginia Beach! We waited 1 1/2 hrs for a table, but the extensive list of mimosas made the wait tolerable. And they are cheap! Starting at $3 for a normal mimosa. Great people watching while you wait too! There is outside dining & corn hole. The food is average, I had an omelette & my husband had eggs Benedict which he said was excellent. The food prices are very good! Overall this place is fantastic which is really saying something considering how much I hate waiting for a table!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovelylisa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Banging!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This place is AHHHHmazing. Went on a Saturday morning for brunch and had an hour wait, but it was well worth it. There's outdoor seating and corn hole while you wait so it didn't seem that long. Had the Beach Benedict with Avacado. SOOO good. Also if you go, order the Citrus Mimosa. Probably the best Mimosa I've ever had. Only complaint is that for the size of the restaurant there's only one bathroom. Females who are drinking need more than one bathroom stall. However there's this awesome coconut scrub in there that works wonders for your hands. Great place! I will definitely be going back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cutiepet2tie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
297 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Love this place...more parking please.”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Love this place for breakfast, brunch and lunch. Have a few handicap people in my crowd so it is not easy to find a place to park. Love their healthy choices/options. Omlettes/fruit are great, soups are home made and always tasty, great choice of salads. The booths are the most comfortable seating. Can not say enough about the employees...so very friendly, helpful and great servers. There is often a wait but certainly worth it if you have the time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chincoteague, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Could it really be worth and hour wait? Yes, yes it is !”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

My fourth visit to the upscale and very busy restaurant, and worth every penny and the wait time to dine. We have been there with a 10-15 minute wait and had to wait an hour today, but it was a nice, relaxing hour with Bloody Mary's and a newspaper in a deck chair out front. They have two bars so you can order whatever you want to drink while waiting for your chance for an awesome culinary experience, and then find a seat out front to wait, plenty of nice seats. Amazingly, we were given the same seats at the same table as every other visit, but a different server today. The service was perfect, friendly, on the ball. We ordered the special Wahoo Eggs Benedict and the crab and grilled shrimp eggs Benedict. The food came out in a short time, hot, fresh, and perfectly prepared, it was delicious, refills were offered for drinks before the glasses we empty, was a great Saturday for us at Citrus, Thank You !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Citrus Breakfast and Lunch also viewed

 

Been to Citrus Breakfast and Lunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing