We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuffed ourselves silly because everything was so yummy!”

Citrus Breakfast and Lunch
Ranked #4 of 1,435 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Stuffed ourselves silly because everything was so yummy!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Went here for the first time while spending the weekend in VA Beach visiting some friends. We were smart and went on a Monday morning - we'd heard about the weekend crush. We didn't have to wait for a table at all (tip: go on a weekday morning!). We tried several things and everything was divine. Yes, I said divine - better than really good. The mango croissants were probably the biggest hit, but I loved my pumpkin pancakes - probably the best pumpkin pancakes I've ever had.

If you're in the VA Beach area, skip the usual breakfast places, splurge a bit and check out Citrus (but - again - go on a weekday)!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EllzeyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    207
    65
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Conover, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“The crowds are here for a reason.”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Great food, great selection, from 6.00 basic, to high end specialties...service exceptional.. due to crowds it is busy, not for a quiet intimate dining..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loretta8315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, fresh inventive menu”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Went for the first time with family for a great breakfast experience. A 15 minute wait, difficult parking, but once you are in, all is good. We all shared the citrus pancakes and the potato pancakes; they were delicious. We also ordered the eggs benedict with lump crab which was great. The regular plain pancakes were likely the best we ever had, the french toast was wonderful. The whole wheat carrot cake pancakes were a bit dry and had too much spice seasoning for our taste, it overpowered the carrot cake, but it was the only disappointing item. All fruit was fresh and flavorful, definitely worth a return trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vintagebydesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth the wait on Sunday”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We went because of Triple D not considering the fact it was Sunday. When we saw all the cars, we thought this was a useless endeavor, but we found a parking spot anyway. If not using the valet, be careful of where you park. We were told they will tow. Guess the surrounding merchants don't appreciate the crowds at Citrus. Put our name on the list and headed back to the bar in the "inside courtyard". The bartender was incredibly friendly and the mimosa and bloody mary excellent. We sipped and people watched and in a short time, we went to our table. The server was very cheery in spite of the crush of people. I was torn in my choice of pancakes and the server recommended the pumpkin with the pecan glaze (served on the side)Boy was she right. Best pancakes I've ever had. AND they came with 2 eggs any style and bacon. What a deal. Honey's omlette was generous and tasty. Wish we lived in Virginia Beach so we could go all the time

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy and Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yummy orange glaze!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My friend and I had heard about Citrus on Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives. We checked it out and I was very pleased. The staff was super friendly. The restaurant looked clean and up to date. The food was soo good. I got the pancakes with orange glaze topped with bananas and pineapple. I would highly recommend Citrus if your looking for a yummy, decently priced meal!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YummyTravelsX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Citrus Breakfast and Lunch also viewed

 

Been to Citrus Breakfast and Lunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing