We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for history buffs!!”

Military Aviation Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: World War One and Two aircraft THAT STILL FLY are the heart of this unique museum. 40,000 guests each year travel from all over the world to see our aircraft, especially during our major events and airshows. Come see why the Military Aviation Museum is one of the top attractions in all of Virginia Beach! Take a flight in an open cockpit biplane for a once in a lifetime experience, and learn about the heroes of the first fifty years of military aviation.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for history buffs!!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Liked that this museum is run by volunteers who very obviously are passionate about planes!! They are all very knowledgeable and more than willing to share this knowledge with guests!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank vicki h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    763
    134
    19
    1
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Check it out!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

An extensive collection of aircraft and wonderful volunteers that are available to answer all of your questions. I thought the fee ($10) was very minimal for the amount of time you can spend at this attraction. None of the aircraft are behind velvet ropes, you can get up close. Wonderful thing to do when you need a little break from the beach or just have an interest in aircraft.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank WhoDeyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Go.....We loved it”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We went to the Military Aviation Museum and really didn't know if we would like it or not, but we ended up loving it and our daughter is 11 and she loved it as well.... We had the best older gentlemen that showed us around and told us stories about the aircraft....They have lots of planes and you can look in some of them, they have some small cars in the museum also that are interesting to look at, and upstairs there is all kinds of stuff to enjoy and read... Tickets are really good priced $10.00 for adults and $5.00 for kids, which is amazing for what you get to see...Definitely would recommend going here......Worth the time !!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tntnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Aviation Museum...a great place to spend about an hour.”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I visited the Military Aviation Museum on my recent trip to visit friends in the Virginia/DC area. The museum is located in Virginia Beach (though not actually AT the beach itself) just a short drive from the town of Pungo…and I am using the term ‘town’ with the most liberal of applications. As a visual reckoning system, just look for an orange and white water tower and navigate towards that.

The interesting thing about this museum is that it is the property of one individual. At the time of my visit, due to the turndown in the economy, some of the aircraft were in the process of being sold. There was an article in the local paper about the plight of the museum, and I suspect that had something to do with the bump in attendance the day of our visit. Just sayin’…

The facility consists of one main building split between Army and Navy aviation. As a reminder – this is strictly a ‘Look but do not touch’ environment. All of the aircraft on display are actual flying airplanes; they are not mock-ups or replicas. The displays are not cordoned off by a velvet rope, so you can get as close to the planes as possible. If you poke your head into the various cockpits, the word ‘EXPERIMENTAL’ is stenciled on or near the instrument panels. The reason for this is, although the aircraft are as close to WWI or WWII build, there are a few modifications. The reason for this is twofold: adherence to FAA regulations – and taxing structure. By going the ‘experimental’ route, the owner is able to maintain a safe flying aircraft that does not have to adhere to every single code in place for ‘non-experimental’ aircraft. As an example, one of the WWI aircraft has disc brakes on the landing gear, making it much safer, but at the same time not the actual configuration. The same applies to a lot of the weaponry attached to the aircraft. It is there for show, only, quality woodwork and PVC to give the illusion of what it looked like back in the day. The main hangar – complete with obligatory gift shop, restrooms, and static uniform displays, has two levels, which allow for a ground view and a ‘view from above’ of the aircraft.

A short walk away (not ¼ mile) are the other hangars, one of which is an extended WWI hangar. This is an original hangar, purchased by the owner, disassembled, and shipped back to the US from France, where it was reassembled, with the modification of another 1/3 of hangar space. There are two other hangars with display aircraft, and as a testament to their flight worthiness, puddles of oil below engines and mechanics crawling on the planes keeping them ready to launch for air shows. The guided tour discusses most of the aircraft and has some story to tell about each one (e.g. how rare this one is, when that one last flew, this one’s place in history, etc.). A grass runway runs parallel to the road leading from the visitor hangar to the display hangars, which is used by banner-towing airplanes patrolling the boardwalk at Virginia Beach.

I give the museum four stars because the price is only $10/adult, is sufficiently interesting because of how close you can get to the aircraft (without touching!) , and the knowledge of the tour guides (considerably more entertaining than reading a placard).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank deanrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great collection of antique planes & fabulous volunteers with incredible stories to tell! Lovely stop for all ages! This place will make you an airplane enthusiast!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Military Aviation Museum also viewed

 

Been to Military Aviation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing