We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Virginia Beach KOA
Nearby Hotels
$190
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Beachfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$241
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanaire Resort Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$348
$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$214
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$126
$119
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Beach Club(Virginia Beach)
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$219
$209
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveler rating
68
59
21
17
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
59
21
17
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat campgroundcamp storejets flying overheadpull thrucampground offerslevel sitesclean campgroundamp siteevening activitiesnaval air stationquiet hoursfire pitreally enjoyed our stay herenaval basebike rentalswe've stayedenjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 180 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We had a great stay at the VA Beach KOA! Just 2 miles from the Boardwalk and pristine beaches. Friendly and accommodating staff, clean, comfortable, and quaint lodging, and lot's to see and do (including a giant bouncing pillow). Our only regret is not seeing the F-18s coming in for landing! Wonderful stay--we will be back! ;)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

The place has fantastic amenities... in the day time. But night time tells a different story about the management, or lack of. At 2am, I can still hear the loud music with ear plugs in, more than half way across the park from the offenders. But the people I felt worse for was the group of 35 cub scouts just ten sites away from them. With the aroma of drug use in the air, that's not what I would call a fun experience. Never saw a hint of enforcement from the campground management. At the beginning of the off-season, they certainly weren't too busy to investigate. Management just didn't seem to care enough to do anything about it. Come on, people, that's what night clubs were invented for. Leave the campgrounds for the scout groups and families. Bath houses could also use some work, especially since it was off-season and they weren't being used to full capacity.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMIphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

KOA Virginia Beach

This was our second stay at a KOA campground with our family and it was again an excellent experience. The location was a 3.3 mile bike ride along a paved bike path starting right at the campground to the Virginia Beach Boardwalk. For those who prefer motorized transport, the VA Beach shuttle rounded right through the campground every 20 minutes until 1 AM for $2 for an all/day fare. The kids loved the swimming pool with waterslides and the jumping pillow was the ultimate favorite of ours(Not to mention that Mom and Dad had some jumping fun as well). The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. The campground was large and full on Labor Day Weekend but still didn't feel crowded. I would give this location a 10 except the Wifi, although functional and free, was useful for extremely low bandwidth applications limited to email and Facebook and AT&T only had 1 bar at this location. Otherwise this park was fantastic and we will definitely camp here again.

By the way, no Cable TV but good canopy openings for DirecTV

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PilotGYN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

First of all, I think the price was rather expensive. We initially just wanted to stay one night but were forced to pay for a 3 night minimum. The total cost for a tent site was over 180.00!
Next came the deafening NOISE! Please do not stay in a tent here. There is a 4 lane highway right near the tent area and it is LOUD! It seems like it is a drag strip for VA Beach motorcycles and they are not afraid of showing off their probably illegally loud cycles. The nail in the coffin for myself, wife, and 3 children was a concert on aforementioned highway in which sound check began at 5:50am! Of course, the KOA forgot to mention this part...they do tell you about the F-18 Superhornets that fly overhead alot though.
On top of this, our site had no grass, the ground was made of rock, and it was a 5 minute walk to the shower/restroom.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gimartin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Pool areas were nice and the activities for kids was well planned. Not to sure about the electrical system? We were told before we left they very rarely have electrical outages. We were there a total of four days and every day there was an outage. The management informed us if you have pets and they are left unattended and there is an outage, they are not responsible. In the 100 degree heat I would hope that you could count on having a service that you are paying for ? God forbide if you are travelin with an elderly person, their attitude is, who cares I have better things to do. I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fickdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews