We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place, Glaring problem” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Route 58 Delicatessen

Route 58 Delicatessen
Ranked #19 of 1,405 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We have plenty of parking! Carnegie Deli Cheesecake! Melt in your mouth Pastrami! Home of the award-winning Super Reuben!!
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Place, Glaring problem”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

The food here is amazing, never lets you down. Our service was attentive and polite...our only problem was where we were weated, our jackets were never able to come off because the front door opens right into the dining room! I was freezing and my poor wife couldn't even finish eating. It's time to spend the money and fix the dining area fella's. The cute, family owned deli schtick has about worn thin...you have had success on every level now please, take care of your customers a little better.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thesheriffisnear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    89
    28
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best deli in Va Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I went there with my husband last month as recommended by friends. The food was delicious. We ordered the pastrami on rye w/ side order of potato salad. The sandwich and potato salad was enough for myself and my hubby.
Outstanding service and atomosphere. Worth every penny.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lizzyb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Great Deli!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Have eaten at the 58 Deli on many occasions and am still amazed at the quality and quantity of food! Only truly Kosher style deli in Tidewater VA! Great service and atmosphere! Thanks, Jeff!!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, MD
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I went here last month for a sandwich after a friend had recommended it. The sandwich was huge and is easily two meals. The dessert was fantastic as well (5th avenue pie).

The only thing that I was very unimpressed with is the service, they are very nice but the waitress didnt write our order down. So with that being said, my 1/2 pastrami, 1/2 corned beef on grilled sour dough. Turned into a corned beef sandwich on rye. I am not one to complain so I just ate it. It was good but that does dissapoint me some, the place is so busy, you cant expect anyone to remember everything like that.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MDskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oh my”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Flew in to Virginia today for a short 1 day trip. I had to stop into 58 and try their pastrami. Great atmosphere, ok service, amazing food, and great dessert. The server forget to put my fries in, so I hate to wait a little after my pastrami came out. If it weren't for that, Id throw down all 5's. After I finished my huge delicious meal, i realized I was on vacation and in Virginia. Great portions, would highly recommend, and can't wait to be back. Thank you.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank poefolk3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 58 Delicatessen also viewed

 

Been to Route 58 Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing