We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and service”

TradeWinds Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
TradeWinds Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #342 of 1,452 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Great Neck Road
Description: Come enjoy a memorable meal here at the Tradewinds Restaurant tucked away in a secluded area on the Chesapeake Bay! Our Chef provides delicious meals for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with an Award Winning Sunday Brunch each weekend. Reservation are recommended and be sure to bring a camera to capture the beautiful views and sunset.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

we liked the location-on ocean, yet in hotel
not open 24 hours
the flounder sandwich is highly recommended
the Caesar chicken salad is great and light eating

Thank louise h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at TradeWinds Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for the nice review and we’re glad you joined your visit! We hope you enjoyed our beautiful views of the Chesapeake Bay from our restaurant and found it relaxing. Please come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 159 of 236 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

excellent waitstaff, catered to our needs, first rate service. there were smiles all around. the service was quick. The food was hot and cooked to perfection. we were greeted immediately by management who had no problem pitching in when it got crowded.

Thank Jacky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at TradeWinds Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

It was our pleasure having you recently at the Tradewinds Restaurant. We greatly appreciate your kind compliments about our delicious menu options as well as our staff and hospitality. We do hope you enjoyed the beautiful views from our deck and come back again to see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This out of the way restaurant on the Chesapeake Bay was the best part of a wonderful vacation. The restaurant has beautiful views of the Chesapeake Bay both on the veranda as well as inside. The food was perfect. A large enough variety to please any appetite. There are several clean healthy entres, as well as the usual pasta, steaks and burgers. The prices are very reasonable. I had a large salmon filet atop spaghetti squash and rice/bean cake for $12.99. My husband had a linguine with 6 very large shrimp and some sort of marinara for $12.99. The She Crab Soup is out of this world delicious!

Thank mainley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at TradeWinds Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

We are glad that you had such a wonderful vacation while in the Virginia Beach area. Your compliments about both our food and ambiance here at Tradewinds Restaurant are very much appreciated. Be sure to follow us on Facebook and come back to visit us here on the Chesapeake Bay when you are back in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed at the hotel and only ate at the restaurant once. It was a little late in the evening so they only had one server for the patio on 3rd of July. Service was a little slow because of it. We had the chicken nachos which were very good and also a salad and pasta. Everything was very good and would recommend for a nice casual meal over looking the bay.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at TradeWinds Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for staying with us here on the Chesapeake Bay recently and we are glad you spent some time with us enjoying the great views from our resort. Our apology for the slower service experienced while you dined with us, but we are happy your meal was enjoyable. We hope you will come back and visit again when plans bring you back into the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great selections, fair prices, good quantities and tasted great! Especially invest in the Sunday Brunch...amazing! Ask for "Debbie" as your server...she is super!

Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at TradeWinds Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

We were delighted to have you with us and appreciate the kind words about our food, pricing and service. We’ll be sure to pass along your rave reviews to Debbie as well. Thanks for visiting us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TradeWinds Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to TradeWinds Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing