We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“get there early!”

Big Sam's Grill and Raw Bar
Ranked #11 of 1,442 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Description: Local favorite that is great for visitors as well. Great breakfast right on the water at the Rudee Inlet. Was recommended to us by some locals and overheard at least 2 other people telling other visitors to go there during our 5 day stay. Great lunch and dinners also that feature daily blackboard specials. All desserts are homemade. Seafood, fresh meats, produce and dairy are delivered fresh everyday.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Their food is worth the wait, but you have to be ready TO wait. Parking is great, location is great, service was fast, no hassle. The atmosphere was cheap and unappealing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam C, Owner at Big Sam's Grill and Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for the nice review. We try really hard to please our customers.
Our atmosphere is very beach casual bordering on Tiki, surf and fish dive bar.
Our chef is a graduate of the Culinary Institute of America and many of our other cooks are culinary school graduates. We do a tremendous volume in the summer for a small place and purchase the highest quality foods that we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
There are newer reviews for Big Sam's Grill and Raw Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

448 - 452 of 586 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is the second time we have visited Virginia Beach and we went to Big Sam's atleast 3 times because their crab cakes were so yummy. The first time we went the service was great and you can't beat the location. The next 2 times we went we got our food to go and were impressed once again. This place is a must if you like seafood !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank valeriecolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam C, Owner at Big Sam's Grill and Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

ValerieColleen,
Thank you for the excellent review. We source the jumbo lump crabmeat from local packing houses in order to insure the highest quality and sweetest crab for our crabcakes and crab dip. I am glad you liked them. All killer, no filler.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

went back to Big Sams several times on our 3 week vacation and the food and service were even better than we remembered. You must try to Crab Balls, chicken wings twice fried, and the raw tuna, all really outstanding. The service was wonderful and all these people have been there a long time, we had Stacey three times and she along with Amy, and Chris are great. Stacey knows her stuff and if asked a question she will tell you exactly what she thinks and she was spot on. She along with all the other servers really enhance the time you spend there

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam C, Owner at Big Sam's Grill and Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Gary,
I would have to say that all of our servers are going to tell you like it is. Most have been with us for quite a while and we love them all. They work very hard. The double grilled wings have been gaining in popularity amongst locals and new customers alike. The tuna tataki is made using the freshest sushi grade tuna we can get. Good choice. The crab balls are a great way to get a sampling of our delicious local crabmeat. Thank you very much for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I had Sam's burrito my wife had the omelette and my daughter had the french toast. We went mid morning so there was not a line to deal with. The food was awesome I would recommend this place for any meal you wish to have.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam C, Owner at Big Sam's Grill and Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Tim,
thanks for the nice review. We have a pretty loyal following for our breakfast and I am glad you and your family enjoyed everything.
Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We weren't sure if we sat ourselves or needed to wait for a host because it took so long to even be greeted. The young man that did was horrible. Didn't tell a server we were there so waited another 10 minutes to even get water. Once our server was told we were there she was great! The calamari tasted fishy and really chewy. The tacos had NO flavor. Thank goodness their hamburgers were good and I ate half of my husbands! I won't be returning and I would suggest you try another place

Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam C, Owner at Big Sam's Grill and Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Ashley,
I am very sorry that you were not greeted promptly upon entering Big Sam's. That should never happen. We are training our summer help that just got out of school. The calamari is one of our most popular appetizers and is delivered to us everyday, but Sunday. Calamari by it's very nature is a bit chewy. Not much we can do about that. We have 2 types of tacos, California with fried flounder or blackened tuna. I would like to know which one you had. Both also are very popular with our customers. Thank you for your review. I personally address all issues our customers may have in order to constantly improve our product, service and overall experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Sam's Grill and Raw Bar also viewed

 

Been to Big Sam's Grill and Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing