We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Aquarium”

Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A 300,000-gallon tank with sharks, rays, and other aquatic species, is the main atrtaction at this popular aquarium.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Decent Aquarium”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I made a trip down with my girlfriend for my birthday. The live exhibits were nice and clean, the staff was very friendly and educational. The gentleman doing the hermit/horseshoe crab exhibit especially informative with slide cards and trying to get us involved. Unfortunately due to a mix of it being the low season and snowing we weren't able to see a good portion of the aquarium. The outdoor walkway was closed, the otters weren't outside, and a lot of the interactive exhibits were broken or just shut off.

I'm sure during the warmer months this would be a great place to spend the day. Comparing to all the other aquariums we've gone to the price of admission is more than fair for the amount of exhibits they have.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChaSiewBao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,376
    853
    352
    77
    30
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I took my teenage son and his best friend. The enjoyed seeing the animals and the geological history. We also walked on the outdoor board walk and saw pelicans, an egret, two herons, and a bald eagle. Great afternoon.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank paulcva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
828 reviews
316 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Many Interactive Exhibits, Great Aviary”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

VMSAC is a midsize aquarium that has a lot of fun interactive exhibits. There are two buildings, one focusing on ocean and bay life and the other focusing on marsh life. It's a longish walk on a very pleasant nature trail between the two buildings, but you can also drive and park at either site. Highlights include the shark tank, Komodo dragons, otters, seals, a sting ray petting tank, and a wonderful aviary. The aviary contains an interesting variety of birds, many of which have been injured and are not quite capable of functioning in the wild. There are lots of helpful staff and volunteers. Definitely a great place to go. It's open on Sunday mornings, unlike many sights in the Hampton Roads area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank areview28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Aquarium!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great visit! I have been to 5 different aquariums now and this one is by far the best I have been too. Really enjoyed the Manta Ray Touch Pool they have, such an amazing experience for anyone!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sm1leSunSh1ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We visited our son stationed in Norfolk over the weekend and the family went to the aquarium. We all enjoyed it. My husband enjoyed talking with the resident duck carver and bought one of his decoys from him. We enjoyed the exhibits. The total was much higher than the nc aquarium system.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank appgrad88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing