We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a Banana Daiquiri!”
Review of Ocean Eddie's

Ocean Eddie's
Ranked #126 of 1,431 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: This is a laid back old beach style restaurant that started out as a hot dog stand in 1949. In the 70s and 80s it was a dance on the bar, loud and fun experience. Today, it is a restaurant with terrific views and food. Check out the web site for the music schedule.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Get a Banana Daiquiri!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The food was good, not great, but good (decent crab cake for Virginia..I'm from MD). But I was most impressed with the casual beach atmosphere, the view, and the banana daiquiri!! They have fresh bananas hanging from the ceiling over the bar. I actually saw the bartender put a real banana in the blender, which is so rare! They are so fresh and yummy! We will definitely return when we go back to VA Beach :)

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ks1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    84
    46
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saxe, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I ordered the Fried Shrimp with Hushpuppies, green beans and mashed potatos. For $20 it wasn't worth getting a few shrimp and the rest wasn't even very good. My fiance's flounder wasn't good either. We won't go back next time we come to the beach. Service was excellent though.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MommieLoLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“You want the real chowder- you'll find it here!”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This place was recommended to me. It is on a pier right on the ocean. It was the best clam chowder ever-and I have had several. Fish was delicious and light. Still making my mouth water!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KGab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“short break”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

felt like going back in time (at least to the seventies). nothing fancy, shorts and flip flops. great people, food, and excellent views.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My favorite place to eat at VA Beach!”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

If you want to have a romatic dinner you can dine outside on the deck on the pier and the food is fabulous. Inside is always fun and the atmosphere is great. I love their food and they have good prices as well. Definetly go here if you hit VA Beach.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Eddie's also viewed

 
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Ocean Eddie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing