We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Phenomenal food & service”

Mannino's Italian Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Mannino's Italian Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 1,414 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: The experienced Culinary team of Chefs John R. Mannino & John M. Mannino (Father & Son Respectively) have partnered with Sommelier Daris Gavin to open New "Olde World Style" Italian Bistros. The goal was to give patrons Great Italian food at a reasonable price point with wine choices to match. We are sure that the Mannino's Italian Bistro Family will work with great passion & attention to detail to try and ensure that our guest develop a sense of home and comfort while enjoying their dining experience. John R. spent time at many restaurants both locally (Nicholas' at the Omni, La Bella Italia, Cafe Society {Executive Chef}, Bodegas & 456 Fish) and nationally (Lacey's Restaurant/ Manhattan & East of Athens/ Long Island). John M Mannino is an Honors Graduate of Culinary Institute of America. He was the Executive Chef of Bodega & 4 5 6 Fish prior to opening Mannino's. John M also won the Inaugural 2012 Taste of Hamptonroads Iron Chef competition.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Phenomenal food & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

This was our first meal here... Came highly recommended by friends and it did not disappoint. The Tortellini Mannino was remarkable and the Pollo Piccata was out of this world. Our server, Ro, was always there when we needed her. We'll be back... Soon!

Helpful?
Thank varhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    521
    96
    34
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
rhode isalnd
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superior Service, Food Was A Little Disappointing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Now i wish I had driven a bit further and tried the Mannino's at Chic's Beach, just for the chance of better food. On a really positive note, from from the moment i entered until i shut the door behind me, this restaurant provided service unsurpassed. The meal started with a delicious bread and oil/ balsamic mix. Next, i ordered the she crab soup, loaded with meaty crab, but the soup base was tasty but HEAVY and very thick; too thick. Felt like at least 1,000 calories just in that cup. The breading on my veal was like eating a wet bandage and should have adhered to the meat rather than float above it. Fortunately the veal itself was tender and tasty. Presentation of the dish was nice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coasttocoast51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Once again a wonderful experience at Mannino's. We have visited the Kempsville location twice and both times the food was wonderful, The staff could not have been more helpful as we took our time selecting from the many selections available. The serving sizes were very generous and the food was delicious. We had a bottle of Mannino's Sangiovese, recommended by our server, and we were transported back to Italy. We can not say enough about our server, Diane. She was knowledgeable, pleasant, efficient and just a delight.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeniceAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Always Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Mannino's never disappoints my husband and I. We go there a couple times a month. The food is beyond delicious and always consistent. The portion sizes are large and we always have leftovers. The service is impeccable. Stephanie is an outstanding server and always provides us with a great experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MBurnsVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

First trip to Mannino's but had already heard good things. The service was excellent! The meal was delicious and portions were very generous. Very nice atmosphere and the staff is incredibly friendly! Very nice dining experience, we will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnAfmVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mannino's Italian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Mannino's Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing