We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit”

Mannino's Italian Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Mannino's Italian Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 1,420 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: The experienced Culinary team of Chefs John R. Mannino & John M. Mannino (Father & Son Respectively) have partnered with Sommelier Daris Gavin to open New "Olde World Style" Italian Bistros. The goal was to give patrons Great Italian food at a reasonable price point with wine choices to match. We are sure that the Mannino's Italian Bistro Family will work with great passion & attention to detail to try and ensure that our guest develop a sense of home and comfort while enjoying their dining experience. John R. spent time at many restaurants both locally (Nicholas' at the Omni, La Bella Italia, Cafe Society {Executive Chef}, Bodegas & 456 Fish) and nationally (Lacey's Restaurant/ Manhattan & East of Athens/ Long Island). John M Mannino is an Honors Graduate of Culinary Institute of America. He was the Executive Chef of Bodega & 4 5 6 Fish prior to opening Mannino's. John M also won the Inaugural 2012 Taste of Hamptonroads Iron Chef competition.
Va Beach
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

This is one of the best new restaurants EVER to call Kempsville home! We dined many times and have attended numerous cooking classes. Always relish! Never disappointed! Friendly wait staff. And close enough to walk home from! Love everything about Mannino's!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dlfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    98
    35
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
260 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Trying hard to think of something negative...”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I'm trying hard to be sophisticatedly critical of Mannino's, but I can't. My husband and I ate there recently on a week night, and I must say, everything was perfect. The food was served reasonably quickly, that which was supposed to be hot was hot, the cuisine was beautifully prepared, the veal was fork tender, the pasta was cooked just right, wine was lovely wine, hot bread (and butter when we asked for it), quiet ambience conducive to chatting with other guests, and to top it off, an attentive and friendly waiter. The whole evening was a 10.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginny000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

If you're looking for authentic Italian cuisine, look elsewhere. The restaurant was very nice, but the food was not only overpriced, but the pasta was overcooked as well. And I'm positive that they either used pre made tomato sauce, either that or tinned mushrooms. Frankly, I've made better Italian meals in my own kitchen.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Texvet03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

excellent Italian food. portions are large. all the sauces are made fresh and taste amazine. nice, fresh ingredients. place can be pretty cramped and very loud, especially on weekends.

Helpful?
1 Thank 1024ori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
171 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Non torno mai!”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We were guests of non-Italian friends who had heard a lot about Mannino's. We were looking forward to the meal but they disappointed us from start to finish. A young girl in the strange foyer barely looked up when our friends told her they had a reservation. After a long moment of silence she seated us, still without speaking. A server promptly brought for the table of four one piece of bread the size of a small sub roll and the taste of a hot dog bun. Our clueless waitress screwed up our wine order but apologized. The food was so-so at best, e.g., my Marsala and all our vegetables were served sitting in watery/soupy sauces, and all the pasta dishes were overcooked. Since we never get a second roll, we decided to leave without experiencing dessert. How authentically Italian can a place be that can't use the language correctly? Besides several misspellings, for "Insalata Caprese" they write "Caprice Salad!" What inspired that? Memories of a bad Chevy from the 1970's? "Non torno mai a questa trattoria!"

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Alberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mannino's Italian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Mannino's Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing