We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location with a few negatives” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location with a few negatives”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband, 8 month old son and I traveled to Virginia Beach for vacation, little guys first beach experience. The hotel was a great location, on the boardwalk and tons of places to eat and shop within walking distance. We had a two bed studio suite on the 10th floor and the view was amazing! We loved having all the extra room so that little guy could crawl around to his hearts content. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We got a crib for my son which was a well used pack n play with a mattress that wasn't very comfortable. It was a good thing we packed our pack n play so he could sleep on that. The breakfast area was spacious and clean, but the breakfast itself seems to not be what it used to be at the Hampton Inn. Most mornings, the fruit salad was out of a can and the eggs were more than scrambled (they had cheese or sausage in them)... My husband wanted just plain scrambled. I loved the waffles and biscuits. The pool is very small and chilly for being heated, but only one time that we went down there was there other people in it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikita236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    331
    150
    62
    38
See reviews for
490
296
37
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Room Was Clean, People at the front desk were very nice.
I will not ever stay here again I had my ring taken from my bag that was hidden away in my suitcase I thought I could trust this hotel if my clothes and jewelry was put away every time we left the room. I was sadly mistaken to get home from my vacation to find my rings missing very upset they were very sentimental to me. If you stay here be vey careful of your valuables. the hotel did nothing about this except listen to me on the phone complain....Don't Stay Here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda_BS4242EN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The room was clean like I expected from a Hampton Inn. The pool was full of sand. The parking garage is tight even for a car and until you figure out the trick to efficiently handling the parking garage only going up to the 5th floor, it's a pain.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jo'Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine City
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Love this hotel. We had an end room on the 9th floor it was quiet and clean. Very small indoor pool. Breakfast was great. We've stayed in at least 10 different places at Virginia beach and this is one of our favorites. Parking can be a little tricky, but don't let that stop you from staying here.
We did have to move the microwave, because there was no plug in where it was located. Also not enough dresser space for clothes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shawn502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We were extremely pleased with our week long stay here at the Hampton Inn. Since it was just the beginning of the "off season" we got our room at a good price.
The room itself was located on one of the top "prime" floors and had a nice sized balcony facing the ocean. It was high enough that the boardwalk noise wasn't a problem when the door was shut. We even watched dolphins swimming on a couple occasions in the morning which was a lovely experience.
The room and bathroom were wonderfully clean from top to bottom. The bathtub was actually very comfortably shaped allowing a nice soak after a long day.
We very much enjoyed the free breakfast and 24/hr coffee bar offered each day. The staff was very pleasant and the hotel itself was in a good location.
The only problem we had with noise was our inconsiderate neighbors who liked slamming the doors to their rooms. Other than that we were very happy with our stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloakofstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

My stay was excellent and all the staff were great. They advertised they washed comforter with each stay. That sold me on staying there again. They offered a great breakfast every morning with a variety of choices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel was very nice, we stayed on the 8th floor, had a nice veiw. Rooms were very clean, AC worked good. Only problem was that this hotel only had an indoor pool. Breakfast was very good, one day had omlettes one day was bacon eggs and sausage, everyday they offer fresh fruit and waffles..Very good

Room Tip: 8th floor has super view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Property: Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Address: 1011 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Oceanfront-South is one of the few oceanfront hotels in Virginia Beach located directly on the boardwalk. Right outside our doors, you'll find the sandy shores of the beach, bicycle rentals, and beautiful scenery. We are attached to the 11th Street Taphouse so stop in for a bite and a drink after a day in the sun. Every room in our hotel has an ocean view so you will never miss a sunset or sunrise from your balcony. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed plus a refrigerator and microwave. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing