We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel was very nice, we stayed on the 8th floor, had a nice veiw. Rooms were very clean, AC worked good. Only problem was that this hotel only had an indoor pool. Breakfast was very good, one day had omlettes one day was bacon eggs and sausage, everyday they offer fresh fruit and waffles..Very good

Room Tip: 8th floor has super view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    340
    157
    64
    40
See reviews for
506
308
39
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great location, extremely friendly and accommodating staff but not worth the $1800/week we paid in August. Only one pair of elevators for 10 floors so trying to get anywhere in the morning (breakfast, beach) is a fairly lengthy wait, especially with housekeeping trying to use them also. Great breakfast. Clean room.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms located at parking garage doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VDubG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This Hampton Inn is my favorite Hotel at Virginia Beach! The location is perfect too. The hotel staff is so friendly and helpful. I can't believe how clean it is being a beach property! Everyone seems to love working there. Wencus and Jeremy are fabulous at the front desk!! Tammy, the new Gm was wonderful and you can tell she really cares about her guests and property! Looking forward to our next trip
Thanks everyone

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopperce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
151 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were looking for a beach hotel rather than motel for a quickie one-night visit to Virginia Beach and were very pleased with this Hampton. Interior corridors with all rooms facing the beach. The room was a fairly standard size 2-queen with a balcony. Was very clean, and had a fridge, microwave and safe. The bathroom was decent size as well. We had premium view which I guess just means a high floor (we were on the top), but the lower rooms are probably fine as well. The indoor pool is relatively small, but they have given the area a bit of a grotto feel which made it nice for a late-night dip. The free breakfast was good enough for a start in the morning, and it's nice they have someone making the waffles for you. We didn't eat in the restaurant or bar, which was not open very late. The hotel is in a good spot next to the King Neptune statue, which is impressively enormous when you get right up in front of it. Plenty of restaurants and shops in walking distance. It was pretty expensive for a mid-level hotel, but it was actually a bit less than some of the other nicer places right on the boardwalk/beach (which is obviously what you're paying for). We found the price changed frequently and dropped a fair amount a few days before our stay, so go with a refundable rate like AAA and keep checking back. Overall this a clean, comfortable average hotel in a very good location.

Room Tip: High floor was nice but probably not necessary if you want to save a few bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is in a great spot on the boardwalk and a few steps to the beach. Every room has a balcony with an ocean view. The parking garage is attached which can be a walk if your room is on the opposite end of the garage. The garage has no elevators but room to park at the entrance to load your bags and an elevator is in the lobby to get up to the rooms. The breakfast is the normal continental style. One good thing there is always coffee. The beach has three types of chairs to rent plus little cabanas and umbrellas for a reasonable charge. The rooms are clean and if there is a problem they are right on it. Good value for an oceanfront room.

Room Tip: 7 th floor 710 to 717
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinapalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a good stay before running theVA Beach Half Marathon. Good room and reception upon arrival. Bathroom had a tile loose along wall near tub and stained duvet.
Everything worked fine. Able to walk to local restaurants and shops. Nice to have water available for runners.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancydto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I will be looking at Hampton Inns from now on. Used to shoot for something cheaper but this place really showed me what it means when they say "You get what you pay for." Although, I think we got more than we paid for. This is a great location and clean and fairly new hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara_Rowe_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Property: Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Address: 1011 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Oceanfront-South is one of the few oceanfront hotels in Virginia Beach located directly on the boardwalk. Right outside our doors, you'll find the sandy shores of the beach, bicycle rentals, and beautiful scenery. We are attached to the 11th Street Taphouse so stop in for a bite and a drink after a day in the sun. Every room in our hotel has an ocean view so you will never miss a sunset or sunrise from your balcony. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed plus a refrigerator and microwave. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing