We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel on the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Hotel on the Beach”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We came down year for the VA Beach half marathon. This hotel has a great location, just a few blocks from where the race finishes. A parking garage gave us some covered parking, which was much welcome with the heat outside. The room was pretty good. There was a broken knob on one of the dresser drawers and I did find a (hopefully unused) water balloon in another one of the drawers, but we didn't even use the dresser, so it didn't affect us too much. We loved the oceanfront view and quick access to the beach. Also, the free breakfast in the morning was a plus. The restaurant/bar connected to the hotel and the one adjacent to it were pretty loud, but thankfully, we couldn't hear them when we closed the balcony door at night.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    351
    168
    65
    42
See reviews for
541
314
39
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Tidy room with a clean bathroom and clean beds = check! That meets my basic requirement for an average rating. Add the fitness center, complimentary breakfast, free parking, spectacular oceanfront view, ridiculously convenient location and prompt room service and that puts them as better than average. Other than the view, what stood out to me was my experience with room service. It was super cold in the room due to the A/C. None of the buttons on it seemed to work so I called room service to show us what to do. Someone came up within 5 minutes! That promptness is excellent service. There are a couple things to note:
- Parking was very limited. I understand that for the location that this could've been expected but a bigger parking space would've been nice. We wanted to drive around at night but were concerned that there wouldn't be space when we returned. The lot was close to full around 2pm so I can only imagine what that experience would've been like.
- What irked me was the check-in and check-out time. Check-in was at 4pm and check-out was 11am. Because we got there a couple hours early I was very pleased that they allowed us to park in their lot so that we can get a head start on the beach while waiting for our room to get ready. They took down our phone number so that if the room was ready early they'd give us a call- and they did! at around 2:30 actually. We're just lucky that the hotel is situated right along the beach. If it weren't, the 4pm check-in time would've really sucked. As a result, I do wish that the default check-in and check-out times were later.

Because those two things didn't really negatively impact our trip I'm overall really happy with our stay. I would definitely come back and recommend you to stay here :)

Room Tip: I loved the fact that we had a view with a balcony. This made the view even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kawaiipinay07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffield
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spent 5 nights at this hotel recently. We stayed here 2 years ago and had a great experience. The housekeeping and breakfast staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean. We loved the beach/boardwalk front balcony. It was in a great location and free on-site parking. The only 2 downsides to our stay is there is a small indoor pool and the air conditioning unit was very noisy. Otherwise based on the prices of similar hotels, we found this to be a great value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank ctwhisper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garretson, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We stay here every year for the half marathon. The staff is fine. Simple rooms that have a balcony to the beach.

The problem this year was the many little things that needed to be fixed. As a hhonors Diamond member we expect more.

The tile trim in the bathroom was seperated from the wall. Am sure it was like that for a while.

They pride them selves with having clean sheets and duvets when you check in. We noticed a huge stain on one of the duvets in the morning at the very bottom. Looked like it had been there a while.

We had requested a late check out when we booked the room. A standard benefit for being diamond. House keeping came and repeatly asked if we had late check out. They must not talk with front desk.

Location is great. Parking is limited but free. They need to fix issues and get back the shine they had 2 years ago the first time I stayed there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Scroll down for helpful info. My husband and I travel A LOT for business, and we often stay at Hampton Inns. We were traveling this time for a long-overdue vacation, and just wanted to stay on the beach somewhere not too far from home due to a family illness. No one could argue that the oceanfront view wasn't gorgeous, but everything else was pretty disappointing. We asked if we could be moved to a king room when one became available, and the staff was accommodating but not exactly rolling out the red carpet. The rooms were clean but outdated; much of the furniture was shabby. No screen on the balcony, so if you wanted an ocean breeze, you had to deal with the bugs. While we might have been looking for something different from the typical VA beach visitor, here are the main reasons for our disappointment:
--if youre looking for it, Forget quiet: the boardwalk is noisy, the bar right next to the hotel has LOUD live music every night till 11, there are earsplittingly loud (no joke) fighter jets from the nearby airbase flying over every fifteen minutes round the clock, and the AC unit rattled away
--the beach is beautiful; I just wish the hotel would mention somewhere that there are no towels, chairs or umbrellas available. You have to rent chairs/umbrellas from a kid on the beach at 20 bucks a day. We ended up buying some giant towels at one of the tourist shops. We would have brought stuff had we known.
--walking down Atlantic avenue/boardwalk, there are tons of cheesy beach town shops and ice cream stands, but beware of the timeshare sales folks and the like--they are aggressive and relentless!
--all in all, it's about what you'd expect from a touristy beach town--a bit seedy, loud, and okay food. There were a couple of sushi places that were a welcome alternative to the greasy burgers, fried food and cotton candy. It's like Atlantic City without the casinos. I think we won't be coming back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank laursie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We recently stayed three nights at this hotel. First time to Virginia Beach, and I was not disappointed!! Location is FANTASTIC! But...once you open the door to your room and see the view~ well....that is the icing on the cake! Beautiful ocean front rooms with a balcony. Hotel is located on the Boardwalk, and there is shopping and restaurants for miles.
The refrigerator and microwave in the room were greatly appreciated, and the internet was good. The breakfast bar was a mad house, so when it is beach season, get there early, or just skip it! We will definitely be back to Virginia Beach and this Hampton Inn as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexusjockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I wasn't really sure if we stayed at this one or the North one. We were traveling towards the Cape May St. Lewis Ferry on our way to N.J. than to Maine. I found a coupon in one of those books at the rest area. I went with the name and it was on the ocean,sounded nice, it was. We walked over to a place next door and had wings & crab rolls. They had a band, it was a lot of fun. I had review it before an forget the name. The parking lots was all inside the garage, we were lucky to find a spot. Didn't move the car till we left. Walked down the block to look around in some of the stores. I would go again if out that way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blazect59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
597 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,918 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Property: Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Address: 1011 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Oceanfront-South is one of the few oceanfront hotels in Virginia Beach located directly on the boardwalk. Right outside our doors, you'll find the sandy shores of the beach, bicycle rentals, and beautiful scenery. We are attached to the 11th Street Taphouse so stop in for a bite and a drink after a day in the sun. Every room in our hotel has an ocean view so you will never miss a sunset or sunrise from your balcony. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed plus a refrigerator and microwave. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing