We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Halifax, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Vacation”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hotel was very clean and the room was spacious. The entire staff from security to the front desk were courteous and helpful. The fact that you could actually park on the same floor as your room was so convenient especially the day it was raining so hard. The breakfast was plentiful and good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who was planning a trip to Virginia Beach.

Room Tip: The rooms on the end are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    333
    154
    62
    38
See reviews for
495
299
38
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
milton, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Hotel was OK needed some repairs and maybe better customer service room was not cleaned when arrived and manger was reluctant to move us . Housekeeping supervisor tried to help us but seemed manager was to busy

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joseph A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Hotel is in a great location and our suite was spacious an clean. The negatives are as follows: Band in the Calypso bar next to hotel is extremely loud. If you are in a room from 01-05 you WILL hear the band play to midnight on the weekends. Your room will NOT be soundproof. The parking garage is a disaster waiting to happen. It was way too narrow and there are NO safety mirrors! How is that possible? You cannot see who is coming towards you at all! In fact, one day as I was leaving, I was lucky enough to have a guest who just got out of his car signal me that another car was coming otherwise I would have had no idea he was heading for me. Additionally, the keycard locks on floors 2-5 did not work so any random person could drive into the garage, park and get into the hotel just by walking throught adjoining doors leading from the hotel to the parking garage. This is a huge security risk. The fire alarm went off during our first night there. We had to walk down ten flights of stairs for a false alarm. We did not even receive an apology from the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanwood, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here last week for 4 days. We were amazed and delighted by the suite which had two balconies. What a view!!!! Plus the family suite was very spacious and had everything we needed.

My complaint is something out the hotel's control. The hotel next to this one has a live band that plays outdoors until midnight on weekends and 11pm on week nights. We were on the 10th (top) floor and we could hear the band so loud as if we were right beside them. I can't sugar coat this. It was ANNOYING. We had a 3 yr old who managed to sleep through this but we had a hard time. And they start playing at 3pm so it's HOURS of loud bass music to endure. And unless you like it, forget sitting out on the balcony to enjoy the waves and view. It is drowned out by the loud band playing for 8 hours!!!! Another noise that we heard was the elevator shaft. We kept hearing these weird bangs were intermittent. It wasn't until I was standing waiting for the elevator that I recognized what the sound was. This goes on all day and all night as long as the elevator is in use.

The fire alarm went off at 10:30 pm the first night we were there and it woke us up out of a deep sleep. We had driven from NJ for 7 hours so we were dead tired. Having to wake up and walk down 10 flights of stairs for a false alarm was annoying!!!! Didn't happen again thank goodness.

The lobby staff were useless. I asked them when the band would stop playing. They had no clue. We had even requested a room on the opposite side of the building so we wouldn't hear the band. They assured us that we wouldn't hear a peep on the 10th floor. That was untrue!!!!

Skip the free breakfast, it's a madhouse and everyone swarms it!!!

The area was great, tons of restaurants and shops. Very central and easy to walk to places.

We went to the Ocean Breeze water park and the VB Aquarium as day trips. They were only a 10 min car ride from the hotel.

All in all, a nice hotel, views were amazing. Room was beyond spacious and very comfortable. if loud noise from 4pm to midnight bothers you - do not stay here!!!!

Room Tip: A room FAR away from the Calypso bar with loud band!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Virginia Beach Ocean front location. It was diffifcult to find a room that day due to the Fourth of July holiday, however, with the assistance of my Onstar representative and Lashan the front desk agent at the hotel, we were able to find a place to stay at the Hampton inn. We loved being able to have an ocean front room for the fourth of July as it provided us with an amazing view to the ocean and the beautiful fireworks that day. Overall, we were very safisfied with the service and cleanliness of the hotel. I was impressed with the covers, comforter and comfortable pillows on the beds. The staff was helpfull and the rooms were very clean. Everyone tried to be as helpful, nice and professional as possible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Corrina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inwood, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Hotel itself was great. Location was right on the beach...rooms were clean and roomy. The 11th Taphouse (Restaurant) was nice, with outside seating facing the boarwalk/ocean. What really stood out was the staff. Every single staff member I came across (Front Desk, Breakfast Room, Housekeeping, Parking, etc) greeted me, asked me how my day was going, and asked if there was anything I needed. I would return just to experience the great service!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canonsburg, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is a great value! The hotel is clean and in a convenient location. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast is a nice bonus. I will definitely stay at this location again. I have recommended to a friend, and she will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Property: Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Address: 1011 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Oceanfront-South is one of the few oceanfront hotels in Virginia Beach located directly on the boardwalk. Right outside our doors, you'll find the sandy shores of the beach, bicycle rentals, and beautiful scenery. We are attached to the 11th Street Taphouse so stop in for a bite and a drink after a day in the sun. Every room in our hotel has an ocean view so you will never miss a sunset or sunrise from your balcony. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed plus a refrigerator and microwave. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing