We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Sandston, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel was simply amazing! It was my first time having a beachfront room and it was very exciting b/c I was celebrating my 30th bday. The staff was very professional and helpful.It seemed liked I had all the questions in the world that weekend but they were able to answer everyone of them with ease. The room was clean and had everything in it from a microwave (which I thought wasnt included)to a flat screen TV to something as simple as mouthwash. The balcony was the best part, it was very spacious with comfortable chairs. It was a nonsmoking room but being able to smoke on the balcony was very convenient for me b/c most rooms I tried to book wouldn't even let you smoke on the balcony. It was nice hearing the music from the two bars..one on the ground floor of the hotel and one next door. There was great breakfast in the mornings, free parking and they let me extend my check-out time til 12 AND let me stay parked in the garage til 2pm! I love it and will definately go back.

Room Tip: Don't sleep with the balcony open if you don't want little flying around bug friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakida C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing such a great review on the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff takes pride in providing the best customer service and I know they will be excited to hear your great comments about them. I will definitely share your review with our team members so that everyone can be recognized for their efforts. We look forward to your return to the Virginia Beach area.

Sincerely,

Paul Marcum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    340
    157
    64
    40
See reviews for
506
308
39
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Wow...What a great hotel! The location and staff were great...Danielle, the asst general manager is a true asset to this hotel!! She is so professional and kind. She helped us with suggestions for dinners and local activities-Thank you so much for making our trip special. The breakfast staff really did a great job and my room was super clean. I would highly recommend this Hampton to everyone

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopperce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for takinig the time out of your day to complete a review from your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will make sure to share your review with the hotel's team members. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Virginia Beach area.

Sincerely,

Paul Marcum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The staff at this hotel was truly wonderful. Everyone was helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had a pleasant stay. The hotel and rooms were very clean and had plenty of room. The bar/restaurant (11th st taphouse) attached to the hotel has great food and drinks. My only complaint was that there was no pool or outdoor area to lay outside. We went in May and some days it was too windy to lay on the beach with the sand smacking us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank VanessaL1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to submit an on-line review from your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. I will make sure to share your review with the hotel's team members as all reviews are shared to continue to improve the hotel and the service provided. We hope to see you again on tour next visit to the Virginia Beach Area.

Warmest Regards,

Paul Marcum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The location of this hotel is pretty good. You can walk to the pier and many local restaurants. In the summer you definitely want a convenient hotel location as traffic can get very heavy with little parking. We had the Oceanfront Double Queen room which was nice, but very small. We found the beds to be a little hard, but that our preference. The free breakfast wasn't very good and the breakfast area was swamped! That said, there are many local breakfast spots within walking distance. The indoor pool is small and the workout room did not have a lot of equipment.

Room Tip: They have larger rooms if you are willing to pay a hefty suite price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gljohnsonjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. We apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. The breakfast that is offered is part of the approved Hampton breakfast and yes it can be very busy during high occupancy periods serving over 500 guests. We hope that you will consider staying with us again on your next visit to the Virginia Beach area.

Regards,

Paul Marcum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice hotel, clean rooms, garage parking, and wonderful location. This Hotel is right on the beach and board walk with great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. I actally ate at the hotel restaurant and the food and service was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank scotthiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for your review for the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. We are glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Virginia Beach area.

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We started going to the Hampton on the south beach when it first opened a few years ago. That is when it was a place we wanted to recommend to friends and family. Not the case anymore. Room wasn't ready, we requested the top floor in February for our mid-May arrival (didn't happen), rooms weren't as clean, security was lacking, had another pulled fire alarm this trip (had one last trip too!) and the noise/language from teenagers staying in the hotel for an event was sad. Very disappointed. Wish we could find a hotel that would maintain its high expectations even after a few years of business, not just for the grand opening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Sherry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to submit a review in regards to your recent stay at the Hampton inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your visit. We take all comments seriously in an effort to improve both of our service and the hotel. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to fulfill your lodging needs when visiting the area.

Regards,

Paul Marcum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishersville, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The Hampton Inn is very affordable with excellent accomodations. The combination is perfect for the everyday person. Rooms are quiet, fresh and comfortable. Breakfast is excellent with a typical offering of eggs, waffles, oatmeal, cereal and yogurt. All rooms are oceanfront with excellent views of the ocean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Warren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review in regards to your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. We will make sure to share your review with the hotel's team members as all comments are reviewed in an effort to make all guest's visit the best. We hope to serve your lodging needs again when visiting the Virginia Beach area.

Regards,

Paul Marcum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Property: Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Address: 1011 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Oceanfront-South is one of the few oceanfront hotels in Virginia Beach located directly on the boardwalk. Right outside our doors, you'll find the sandy shores of the beach, bicycle rentals, and beautiful scenery. We are attached to the 11th Street Taphouse so stop in for a bite and a drink after a day in the sun. Every room in our hotel has an ocean view so you will never miss a sunset or sunrise from your balcony. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed plus a refrigerator and microwave. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing