We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Beach Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed August 21, 2012

What a great Hampton Inn! Very friendly kind staff at the front desk, especially Kristen!! I was really impressed with the breakfast staff as well, way to go Debbie....All the employee's were terrific. The hotel was super clean even the indoor pool and I can't imagine how with all the families and sand!!! This staff really deserves recognition for a job well done. If your planning a trip to the Va beach you should really stay here. You can't beat the location. They have a parking garage for convinence and security at the entrance who was fanastic as well!
Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopperce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

959 - 965 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Imagine a family of 20 traveling together and everyone having something pleasant to say regardng this immaculate hotel. This was truly the case at the S.Hampton INN. The staff and management Ms; Michelle was extremely accomodating. We were well informed of activities and sights to entertain children under the age of 10. There was nothing less of many smiles as you turned each and every corner. This place will truly be included in everyone of our stays at Virginia Beach. See you soon!

Room Tip: all ocean front rooms have a wonderful view the balcony was an excellent place for some mommy time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is a beach front hotel on the south end of the boardwalk. We arrived around 1 pm and was told that the room wouldn't be ready until nearly 4 pm. The front desk asked for our cell phone number so they can call when the room is ready. We had lunch and then changed (in the first floor bathroom) and went to the beach.

The room was very clean. The bathroom had all the shampoo, conditioner, lotion..etc. The beds were very comfortable. And it was nice to know they wash everything, including the coverlet. The view from the Balcony was very nice. We liked the convenience of being so close to the beach. The breakfast was typical of Hampton Inn. Freshly made wallet is always a plus.

We were very happy with our stay.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank ReviewDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The staff at the Hampton Inn South made it a great long weekend. We were here visiting relatives, and seeing the beach for the only time this year. Kristen and Lashandra at the front desk were wonderful, and the dining staff were super attentive. Very clean, and wonderful location! Thanks for a great third visit to your hotel in the last few years~

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christopher s, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel and staff. Kristen and Lashanda are two of our prized employees, I am glad to hear that you received superior service from them both.

See you next year!
Christopher Snyder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at the start of July with my good lady and 2 teenage daughters.

The hotel is situated in a long line (and I mean a long line) of hotels on the beach front in Virginia Beach.

Check in was quick and the reception staff (as well as all other staff) were friendly throughout the stay.

The room and bathroom were a standard size. All rooms face the beach and have balconies, it was nice to sit out and enjoy the world going by (even though the temperatures were at record highs).

The breakfast was adequate, with both hot and cold choices on offer. It was busy every morning, but the staff opened up a conference room for more seating. It would have been an absolute nightmare if they hadn’t (well done for this).

There is a business centre situated behind reception with free internet access, which is handy for quick internet browsing.

The hotel is situated at the south end of Atlantic Avenue, there are plenty of shops and places to eat nearby, all within walking distance.

The beach is right in front of the hotel (see hotel photos), the beach/water is well patrolled by life guards during the day. The beach itself is nice and the water is quite shallow.

When we stayed at this hotel it was pretty much fully booked, as were most of the other hotels on the beach front, as it was 4th July celebrations. All street and beach areas were crowded and there was plenty hustle and bustle about the place.

I read reviews about the parking garage, yes it is quite tight, but take your time and you’ll be fine. As we went at a busy time, I was just happy to get a parking place every time we returned to the hotel. I did find it a bit odd that the car park stairwell was not a secure entry, only the doors from the stairwell into the hotel corridors were secure entry. This didn’t really bother me and there was usually security at the car park entrance anyway.

A good hotel, but I probably wouldn’t return (it’s more the location than the hotel and it was a bit too touristy for me). All said, I wouldn’t put potential guests off booking this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank On1ythetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christopher s, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

I appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel. I happy that our staff met your needs and that you were comfrotable during your stay. Virginia Beach is a vacation hot spot during the summer season and is packed full of people from Memorial Day to Labor Day each year. A less "touristy" time to visit would be during the Spring or Fall. Check out our website for great packages for your next stay.


Thank you again, and hope to see you again soon,

Christopher Snyder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This hotel is very close to the beach easy access, staff is very friendly. Parking garage onsite was nice. Oceanfront view. Very clean. Free breakfast, Taphouse restaurant onsite. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vitagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

This is the third hotel I've stayed at oceanfront on Virginia Beach and probably the best for the money of the three. Very happy with the service, the room, the complimentary breakfast, etc. Nothing special about this hotel, but no complaints either which is a good thing!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlyssaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
640 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.4 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,082 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Address: 1011 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $104 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Oceanfront-South is one of the few oceanfront hotels in Virginia Beach located directly on the boardwalk. Right outside our doors, you'll find the sandy shores of the beach, bicycle rentals, and beautiful scenery. We are attached to the 11th Street Taphouse so stop in for a bite and a drink after a day in the sun. Every room in our hotel has an ocean view so you will never miss a sunset or sunrise from your balcony. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed plus a refrigerator and microwave. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing