We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value, great location”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We really liked this hotel--comfy beds, clean rooms, ample breakfast buffet and garage parking included. The restaurant in the hotel itself was actually quite good too (and reasonably priced). All rooms have terrific ocean views. We found great "local" restaurants (Lucky Oyster) about 15 minutes away by car. I'd recommend avoiding the strip restaurants which did not look appealing anyway. The only drawback was it lacked an outdoor pool (there is an indoor pool but it is very small).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    338
    157
    62
    38
See reviews for
502
307
38
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We spent two nights using 80,000 HH points. It was our first trip to VA Beach. The hotel was always busy and kid friendly. Check-in process was relatively fast. Our room was on the second floor. We tried to change after seeing the view but apparently nothing else was available. I am not certain but maybe they reserved these low-end rooms for HH award customers. The second floor view was not great at all. It was wonderful that we could see the ocean nearly 180 degrees unobstructed but we could also be seen by everyone passing by on the boardwalk. It had a private balcony with a small table and two chairs. The room was very clean, especially for the hotel that has high turnover. The housekeeping was very efficient and fast. The free breakfast was standard Hampton Inn fare. Good quality and variety. If you want a quieter time, go down before 7AM before the kids because it can get really crowded from 8 AM on. The pool was small. AC was quiet and cold. A fridge and a microware in the room was handy. Wi-Fi was too weak in our room so we had to go downstairs for stronger signal. It has a self-parking structure which is free. Be sure to park in 15-min check-in spots first before you go up to park because you will need a key card to get into the building from the parking floors. On the day that we arrived, there was no one checking for passes and no room in the 15-min spots. So we drove up to park first then ended up carrying our luggages down to the lobby through the sidewalk. There is another Hampton Inn on the north end which is more expensive but for us, this hotel was sufficient. There are plenty of restaurants on the south end of the beach and the boardwalk is just as nice. I would probably return if I could get a room on the higher floors.

Room Tip: Call the hotel to see if you can get a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RITiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel met all of your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Va, Beach!

Christopher Snyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Nice room, bed and mini-refrigerator. No problem with parking in the attached garage. About 100' walk to the ocean. Very clean beach. Do rent an 8' umbrella from the guy on the beach for $15 cash to prevent sunburn. I would have been toasted without it. Water in June was sightly cold but doable on 90-100 degree weather.

Only complaint is the price at $200 per night.

Room Tip: I think all rooms face the ocean, so there are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Over50_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We recently spent one night in this hotel using our Hilton Honors points. Quite a location for 40,000 points! This hotel advertises itself in the local literature as being "the newest hotel on the oceanfront". It is modeled after the newer Hampton Inns... very nice, up to date decor. The parking garage is convenient. Our room was located on the 3rd floor... literally right across from the door leading the parking garage. Not happy with the location of the room due to the same and noise of that door opening and closing during late night early a.m. hours! We tried to change rooms, but were told that there was nothing comparable available. Oh well.... all the rooms in the hotel have amazing ocean views and there is a playground right outside of the hotel on the beach. Our room was nice... king size bed with pull out sofa. The sofabed was more like a spring board. I felt guilty that our kids had to sleep on it! It was very uncomfortable. Would probably not have adults plan to sleep on it. The only other quirk had to do with us not receiving our copy of the USA Today paper. It was apparently taken or not delivered to begin with (we were told by hotel staff that they only receive 100 copies each day). We never tried out the pool due to other reviews I had read about it. But the breakfast was wonderful. Eggs, sausage, waffles, fruit, yogurt, cereal, bagels, danish, muffins.... something for everyone. Even had hard boiled eggs available. And we had no trouble finding seating for family of 5... they also opened the conference room for additional seating. Plenty of fresh coffee anytime during our visit (love Hampton Inn's for this!!) and there were some pieces of fresh fruit in dining area for us to take out to the beach for a snack. Perfect for our kids! We ate downstairs at the 11th Street Taphouse.... good but over-priced. You're paying for the location, which was more than convenient. But make sure you show hotel room key for 15% discount on bill at the restaurant. Overall, we would stay here again. Can't beat Hampton Inn for quality, cleanliness and overall satisfaction.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kristi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My husband and I started our 2012 summer from Virginia Beach and stayed for 7 nights in June and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South. We arrived on a Saturday and everything was ready even before 4:00 p.m. (check in time). Our room on 7 floor was great - clean with a gorgeous ocean view. All rooms have balconies facing the ocean. We walked the beach or the boardwalk all day, then set on our balcony and listened to the waves roll in. I was very impressed with the decor and size of the room (it included a sofa, desk, two queen bed, nice closet, dresser + a flat TV, fridge, microwave and a large bathroom with brand new towels).

All the staff was really helpful, courteous friendly, especially Igor at the front desk (the front desk manager) who went out of his way to answer questions and make us feel welcome.

The FREE breakfast was better than expected - a lot nicer than the complimentary breakfast I'm used to. It included: fruits, cereal, bagels, yogurt, eggs, hash browns, sausage, fresh made waffles, coffee, juice and tea. Coffee, tea, and fruits (apples, banana, and oranges) were available all day.

Will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katerina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Great location. Good breakfast. Breakfast bag to go was nice touch. Premium oceanview was worth extra cost.

Room Tip: 5th floor has easy access to garage and good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Typical Hampton Inn with a great location. All the rooms are oceanfront and provide a great view of the boardwalk. The lobby is a little small and gets really busy around check-in or out time. The staff were polite and proffesional. The overall hotel was very clean. Most oceanfront hotels tend to get a musty smell but this Hampton seemed very clean. The breakfast was very nice and the dining area was directly on the oceanfront.(Nice). We stayed on the fourth floor and were able to find the the onsight parking garage was AWESOME!! We literally parked probably less than 50 yards from our room door! YES!!!! As a Hilton Diamond member I used my points for the stay and I was very happy! Hilton offers 3 locations on the VB oceanfront and this one is the best value in my opinion. We have stayed at the North Hampton Inn (it is nice as well) but it is a little further away from the action...And the Hilton is BEAUTIFUL but a ton more points or $$$$$. Great place for family or just to get away. Just booked another stay for September. By the way we are Virginia Beach locals and only live 3 miles from the oceanfront. Va Beach is GREAT!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Property: Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Address: 1011 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Oceanfront-South is one of the few oceanfront hotels in Virginia Beach located directly on the boardwalk. Right outside our doors, you'll find the sandy shores of the beach, bicycle rentals, and beautiful scenery. We are attached to the 11th Street Taphouse so stop in for a bite and a drink after a day in the sun. Every room in our hotel has an ocean view so you will never miss a sunset or sunrise from your balcony. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed plus a refrigerator and microwave. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing