We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House

Ruth's Chris Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 1,405 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Northwest Virginia Beach
Cross street: Commerce Street
Description: The story of Ruth's Chris Steak House, the elegant, comfortable and classically American home of the sizzling steak, began in 1965 in New Orleans. Ruth Fertel had a goal of providing a better life for her family. Inspired by her love of people and delight in creating memorable moments, Ruth's lack of business experience mattered little when matched with her spirit and commitment to create a restaurant of which she could be proud. Ruth's legacy continues today. Regardless of the occasion, we guarantee the best steak house experience you have ever had. Every detail will be perfect. From the moment you arrive until your evening's end, you will feel as though you were the most honored guest in the restaurant. We look forward to treating you to a world-class experience!
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Our experience was great and our waiter George was great with his advice and service. The food was displayed elegantly and most of it tasted great. The steaks we had rib eye and Filet Mignon were good but not the best, for the price, we've had at a steak restaurant. Everything else was great.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    58
    35
    7
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Where's George?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Service was not the norm and I requested the excellent device of our usual server George. Upon our arrival we were not advised that he was not there and what we received was slow and. Inadequate service. It was my husbands birthday they forgot his dinner drink and gave me someone else's salad! Our server although very sweet shared to much about self when it was my husbands night . We just missed the attentive and excellent unforgettable service of GEORGE!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The grandma experience but we requested George!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

I made reservations 2 weeks in advance for my husbands birthday, I requested our usual waiter George at the time of confirming our reservation.
At our time of arrival we had to wait a bit but that wasn't the problem.we were seated and had to wait a bit over 8 min to even be greeted by our server who was not George!
It was a sixty five year old sweet lady that shared her story with us. Even though that was ok the service was slow even though she had assistance she forgot my husbands drink he had ordered and I got someone else's salad and when they corrected that mistake I was given no dressing. The experience was not the norm. Use to excellent service and attention, I was told we would have George as our server and was not advised upon arrival that he was not there! Not satisfied but she was sweet preferred George!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan P, Public Relations Manager at Ruth's Chris Steak House, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Angie,
Our Virginia Beach General Manager spoke with you on April 10th, by phone, to address this incident personally and outside of the public domain. He would like to reaffirm his apologies for the oversight of your request and the inadequate service you received. He assures you that on future visits you will have the server requested, and if they are not available, he will notify you in advance of your reservation. I encourage you to accept his offer for a return visit, so that we may provide the exceptional experience you have come to expect from Ruth's Chris. Thank you for time and consideration.

Regards for now,

Bryan Pettit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Okay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

This place is more hype than anything. The food is good and the service is good also, but it's way overpriced. Everything here is a la carte. It's not really worth the price when you consider the other options in the area. I'd say check this place out at least once, then you can at least experience it for yourself. But it's not a place to eat very often. Great for special occasions or celebrations, but not a good option for large groups.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank scrapenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Steak at Town Center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Wonderful steak house, top notch bar. Great place for just aptertisers and drinks. Atmosphere is excellent and has outside dining and open fire place. locals place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing