We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront
Reserve with OpenTable
Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #88 of 1,428 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 57th Street
Description: The Surf Club sits right on the sand of Virginia Beach, offering the best view of the Atlantic in the city. We pride ourselves on sourcing the freshest local seafood and produce and offer quality service. We have an outdoor patio with plush seating, fire pits, a tropical bar and live entertainment.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We came here because we saw it was on the ocean/beach and it was a nice evening weather wise. The food was pretty good. My husband and I both had she-crab soup and that was good. Our entrees were pretty good as well. But the service was really slow. It took them forever to even clear our soup bowls and the other tables around had dishes on them long after people vacated. I could understand if they were truly busy but there was a server just standing around.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsEggs2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    49
    40
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Relaxing Lunch”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Don't be scared away by the word "club". It is open to the public and well worth the stop for a quick lunch. It is located right on the water and very pleasant.
Very goo She Crab soup.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vincent Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Wow we love the restaurant. We had breakfast daily during our stay and it was awesome. We also ate dinner and loved the steaks, they were yummy. The staff are very friendly and most of them were very professional. We also stopped in the lounge one night to hear the music and that was a pleasant experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great View and Service!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Food was just ordinary nothing special, but appetizers and drinks it the spot!! And views are special!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GordonFScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Unforgettable for the wrong reasons”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I took a trip in August 2013 to Virginia beach. We chose the surf club ocean grille for lunch the first afternoon we were there. We decided to order their seafood artichoke and spinach dip as a starter. Half way through I bit into something chewy that did not seem quite right. I spit it out and discovered I had been munching on a piece of cardboard. We pulled a manager over to our table and Told him what had happened. We were overly nice about the situation as we have both been servers in the past and didn't want to be annoying customers. However, He seemed annoyed and I didn't get the impression he believed me. He walked away without saying much. He came back about 5 minutes later and asked if he could take the plate with the cardboard and at that point apologized and asked if we would like a different appetizer. We said no because at that point our food was about to come out. The rest of the food was good even though it was overpriced in our opinion. When our waiter brought us the check we were surprised to find that they charged us full price for the dip. It would have been a nice gesture to even discount it a little. I mean... I payed 12$ for a dip with cardboard in it! My husband and I left frusterated and made a pact to never eat there again. In conclusion, for the price that you are going to spend at the surf club you should receive excellent food and superb service. We received neither.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rlp8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront also viewed

 
Virginia Beach, VA
 
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing