We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great oceanfront spot with delicious food and online reservations”

Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront
Reserve with OpenTable
Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #84 of 1,428 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 57th Street
Description: The Surf Club sits right on the sand of Virginia Beach, offering the best view of the Atlantic in the city. We pride ourselves on sourcing the freshest local seafood and produce and offer quality service. We have an outdoor patio with plush seating, fire pits, a tropical bar and live entertainment.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great oceanfront spot with delicious food and online reservations”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Virginia Beach has several fancy restaurants on the beach with hour plus waits in high season. We ended up going a mile up the road to this restaurant at the Wyndham because they had online reservations with OpenTable. We were pleasantly surprised with delicious food and a great wine selection and views of the beach at sunset.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IslandEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    49
    40
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hurricane, West Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food was average and overpriced”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Had breakfast here 1st morning of 3 day stay. Food was average at best and overpriced by far. Service was very prompt and friendly. Mixed drinks here are overpriced too at $10 a drink. Ouch

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank James-in-WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, VA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Wedding Venue”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is the only way I can find to review the Wyndham Conference Center. We had our daughters wedding here the third weekend in May. The wedding was in the Grand Hallway on the 2nd floor and the banquet facilities were to the right. The staff was exceptional, I only wish I had taken down names to personally recognize them. Jane Wrenn, the catering sales manager, was very accommodating and always available both before and during the wedding. The only concern we had is the direct lighting that comes in the back of the conference center hallway during the afternoon setting sun. Problem solved by purchasing some very inexpensive stick on shades from Home Depot an putting them up. Hotel staff was Johnny on the spot by providing tall ladder to install and take down shades. The wedding easily seats 200 people and the reception before dinner was in the same large hallway. It was amazing how the quickly the staff repositioned the chairs along the one wall without inconveniencing the guests. The cheese and fruit platters were as good as any I have had at other venues except we had more than enough. The 2nd floor of the parking garage leads directly into the hallway which is great if you are decorating for your event. 3 large doors, 120 wine bottles (empty of course), 20 lanterns, couple hundred candles, old shutters for seating assignments, old windows for pictures, and plenty of other stuff that was easily transported into and out of the hallway and foyer. When I say hallway think of a large hall that sat rows of ten with a large center aisle for my wheelchair bound son-in-law and my daughter in a wedding dress when they exited. The dining area with dance floor was huge for our party of 200 with plenty of room for DJ, Photobooth, large cookie tables, and food serving area. The food was over the top good. We heard many positive comments about the quality and amount. The entire waitstaff was attentive to our every need and there was nothing that was out of place or lacking. Everyone commented that this was one of the best weddings that they had attended and a lot of the praise was because of the venue and the staff. Thank you Jane and company for a great weekend at a wonderful facility. See you again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skip620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

the stuffed flounder is amazing and the staff is great, they have a cool patio called patio 57 with live music and the view is fabulous

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank debra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Northend Treasure”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The food and service are exceptional. Strongly recommend the crab dip as an appetizer to share. The calamari and shrimp appetizer is very nice and perfectly prepared. The staff is very engaging and pleasant, and the manager is genuinely interested in your opinion. Beautiful view of the ocean and very comfortable seating

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcm1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront also viewed

 
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing